We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten track” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Aalesund
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Well, not quite off the beaten track but 45 mins by tram or 20 minutes by car from Oslo centre. But the views are worth it, weather permitting :) Check in varies service wise, as with most hotels. Some staff are quick effiecent and friendly others down right rude and shouldnt be in a service job at all, so hotel look to your staff please! The rooms are a good size with all the facilities you need but, they vary from building to building and after a long walk to some rooms one can be a bit disappointed when you consider the price you have paid. However they are all very clean and tidy albeit a bit tired now. The breakfast is very good although it gets very crowded and as its buffet style can be a bit frustrating. The lunch and evening restaurant are excellent serving very good food and the service top rated. Good conferance facilities. Swimming pool and great jogging and walking area. Good hotel if you want to stay in country surroundings and dont mind the trekk down to Oslo centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Oslo fjord
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hombreingles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    316
    325
    153
    51
    16
See reviews for
148
285
42
264
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

This hotel must be one of the top places to stay in Norway!
We had a wonderful calm Easter break there, and loved the old parts of the hotel and the new spa area with small pool and separate sauna!
The atmosphere was very friendly and the reception helped us fdind a nice hiking route, to watch the Holmenkollen ski jump, the Holmenkollen chapel and the woods around the hotel.

The buffet dinner was perfect, and my family got a private table by the fire, there were several. The food was so good we all ate too much:) And the same with the very nice hotel breakfast!
Rooms were newly decorated and we stayed at 5th floor with a nice view of the landscape.
From the restaurant (Fem stuer) you could see the Oslo fjord, the city and the woods at the same time, and I recommend also the big lobby area for relaxation.
Even the prices were reasonable, with season's prices and friendly faces everywhere.
Nothing like escaping all the housework and food preparation of Easter and stay in a comfortable place where others take perfectly care of this while you can really savor the holidays!
A balsamic stay for a one parent family and two hotel-loving daughters! Even the dvd offer in the rooms were perfect for us, and we had a nice time -one of the best Easters ever!

Room Tip: In the old part: Any room. In the new part: 4th and 5th floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astrid e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I've stayed at Holmenkollen Park Hotel Rica several times and lived in different rooms, but never been as satisfied as my birthday weekend there. We were five friends staying in a spacious two floor-suite with a balcony and a spectacular view over Oslo. The room was modern and cool and the bed is super comfy! We had pizza and salads from the room service and it was very good. The restaurant is also very, very good. Worth a trip alone. The breakfast is the best hotel breakfast i've ever had. Fresh orange juice, omelets of your own choice, make your own norwegian speciality waffles, yoghurt bar, wide selection of bread and much more! We spent the sunday afternoon in the spa area. The swimming pool area is clean and relaxing and the staff is friendly and helpful. We had massages and facials and it was wonderful. The location is great if you want a break from the city. It was a perfect stay. No complaints.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Visited the hotel for a sleepover with my friends. The hotel has a great view over Oslo, the best you can get. Great beds, and a great welcome. Swimmingpool and jacuzzi. The breakfast was amazing!

I`m looking forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tingsomvirker89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012 via mobile

The rooms are really nice! Best hotel I stayed at in Oslo but its also not downtown either.. the view from my room was amazing I stood watching Oslo constantly.. The rooms are well renovated fully modernized quite nice too! The building is quite old and all wood carved very beautiful!

TIP: ask for a room high up with windows overlooking Oslo city!

Resturaunt is quite good too..

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
Thank yngtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
6.4 km away
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
1.4 km away
Voksenasen AS
Voksenasen AS
#54 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
5.5 km away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#52 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
7.0 km away
The Thief
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
1.7 km away
Lysebu
Lysebu
#29 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holmenkollen Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Property: Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Address: Kongeveien 26, Oslo 0787, Norway (Formerly Rica Holmenkollen Park Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#13 Business Hotel in Oslo
#15 Family Hotel in Oslo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,861 - ₹ 14,458
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Holmenkollen Park 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perched high above the city like a palace out of a Norwegian fairytale, it offers stunning views over the city and the surrounding landscape. A magical place for a family holiday, and a unique venue for activities in the nature, just 15 minutes' drive from Oslo city centre. We can arrange all types of meetings, conferences and events in venues that can accommodate up to 850 participants. You can work out in the gym or pool then retreat to our spa. There is free parking available and as a guest you have access to free WiFi in all our rooms and public areas. Located close to the Holmenkollen Ski Stadium and access to wonderful skiing, walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Scandic Holmenkollen Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmenkollen Park Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing