We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent views though very expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Ranked #28 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
North Devon uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent views though very expensive”
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 2 weeks in January 2011. This hotel in located on a very quiet hill outside Oslo, and if you get a fjord view room you will be amazed. The views are the best in Oslo, no matter what the weather. I was lucky to be upgraded to a fjord view room, and if was spacious and well equipped. The restaurant is one of the finest in Oslo, and the breakfast the best I've had in Norway. However the hotel is, in my opinion, more interested in conference groups than leisure travellers and the staff, though helpful, were overworked. Often I had to wait at reception for over 15 minutes when I had a query only to give up because the few staff on duty were dealing with a large conference. the hotel is very expensive, even for Norway, and I would recommend staying at a more central hotel and taking advantage of the great public transport if you want to ski.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    332
    162
    54
    16
See reviews for
157
295
42
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

This hotel looks great and authentic from the outside, It has a landmark facade. Once inside however the look deteriorates and transforms in many different styles all giving a bit of an outdated feeling. Staff are friendly. You're lucky if you get a room with a view, because if you can look out of the hotel the view is stunning both in summer and winter. Rooms are rather small with litte space to store your stuff and luggage. Bathroom efficient but small. The food is great and atmosphere is like family room in their top restaurant with superb local dishes. Their other restaurant is rather mass treatment. Efficient and optimal if you look to organise something of a meeting combined with outdoor stuff. Old school and overpriced to my feeling.

Room Tip: Try ask for a room with a view on Oslo City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntwerpDirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
253 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 279 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

I really enjoyed my three night stay at this excellent hotel. Located on a mountain near the very impresive Holmenkollen ski jump it offers a fantastic view over Oslo city and fyord. The hotel has a beautiful old wooden part with a very homely atmosphere. My room was located in the new part of the hotel and featured modern minimalist but highly functional interior which left nothing to be desired. Just the right size, too.
Food was of above average quality - one of the better dining experiences I've had in Norway.
I was especially inpressed by the very well equipped gym in the basement which could put some of the public gymns I've visited in my life to shame. There's a swimming pool, too, so bring your bathing trunks.
Staff spoke excellent English (but who doesn't, in Norway) and was very helpful.
It really puzzles me how anybody could rate this excellent hotel as "poor" or "terrible" - an annoying detail cannot possibly make the whole hotel a dump....
I liked the Holmenkollen Parc Hotel Rica very much and would go there again, great location for a conference.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are very recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertLockwoodJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The location and standard of this hotel is very good. Excellent views, good food, nice service and clean. if interested in skiing there is no better place to stay overnight in Oslo.

Room Tip: View towards the south on high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PederOsloNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
261 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Very friendly and nice staff. The hotel is located in the hills outside Oslo. It is about a 20 minute train journey to the city center and the train line is located just a short walk away. The room was clean and comfortable. Excellent spread in the breakfast. Wifi signal was not very strong.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
6.4 km away
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
1.4 km away
Voksenasen AS
Voksenasen AS
#51 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
5.5 km away
Saga Hotel Oslo
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Soria Moria Hotel
Soria Moria Hotel
#50 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
6.9 km away
The Thief
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,581 reviews
6.0 km away
Frogner House - Skovveien 8
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Holmenkollen Park? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Holmenkollen Park

Property: Scandic Holmenkollen Park
Address: Kongeveien 26, Oslo 0787, Norway (Formerly Rica Holmenkollen Park Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#13 Business Hotel in Oslo
#15 Family Hotel in Oslo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#19 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,944 - ₹ 16,150
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Holmenkollen Park 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is perched high above the city like a palace out of a Norwegian fairytale, it offers stunning views over the city and the surrounding landscape. A magical place for a family holiday, and a unique venue for activities in the nature, just 15 minutes' drive from Oslo city centre. We can arrange all types of meetings, conferences and events in venues that can accommodate up to 850 participants. You can work out in the gym or pool then retreat to our spa. There is free parking available and as a guest you have access to free WiFi in all our rooms and public areas. Located close to the Holmenkollen Ski Stadium and access to wonderful skiing, walking and cycling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Holmenkollen Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holmenkollen Park Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing