We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relax and replenish organic style!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Ranked #13 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relax and replenish organic style!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Personally I love the whole organic-recycled-ecological profile the place has, with everything from the «balinese»-interior to the GREAT toiletries. Some here complain that the rooms are small - so what when the huge bed is so great? The iMac on the wall is more to my taste than the usual TVs - with the easy listening music in iTunes and the fireplace-application, you can have a cosy and romantic evening in a small hotel room - and start the next day relaxed with the best breakfast in the city (trust me - I lived there for 5 years).

This is actually the second time my boyfriend and I stayed here. The biggest reason for our return is the breakfast - it is a m a z i n g! Freshly baked bread and muffins, boiled eggs full of taste (unusual nowadays if you ask me), wonderful bacon, Spanish and Italian hams, sausages and cheeses, fresh fruit and vegetables, healthy and tasty cereals - and a wonderful selection of teas. As a big coffee-drinker myself, I LOVE the fact that each table has its own pot of coffee to get you started after being comatose through the night in the extremely comfortable beds. The pillows and duvets are soft as clouds and very clean.

The SPA in the basement is a little disappointing. As it's not operated by any staff, the clean towles, skinproducts and snacks run out - and who wants to go up to reception already wet from the showers? The sauna was already turned off at 8 pm, (probably to ensure it was completely off by closing time, 10 pm) so it wasn't so stimulating sitting in it. The area is also very small, so it can be cramped if more than 6 people use it at the same time. I think timing is of the essence - use it early (it opens at 5 pm), and make a friendly atmosphere if you encounter others or it will just be awkward.

If you want a great dinner I highly recommend the Thai restaurant Yayas, only a few hundred metres from the hotel!


Location is OK, it might feel a little distanced if you're new in the city, but Aker Brygge is in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monological
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

441 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    185
    33
    14
    9
See reviews for
71
187
32
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bardolino, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

ABSOLUTELY loved this hotel!!! Everything was lovely and orderly!!! Great hospitality and services! Really cozy and sooo worth the price!! we will definitely be coming back!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

The hotel is close to the city centre and easily accessible by trams and buses. The rooms are very clean and tastefully decorated. The staff are exceptionally friendly and welcoming. My boyfriend struggled being 6'3" as the rooms are quite a tight fit which was the only downside of the stay. The breakfast was delicious and tea and coffee available all day! The apple macs in every room were easy to use and the Internet was free. Fantastic place for couples.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LPA1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I travelled to this hotel in January 2012 and had a wonderful two night stay. The website showed luxurious looking rooms and we were not disappointed when we arrived. The room was nicely decorated with a four poster bed and a faux-fur throw. It also had a large TV screen mounted on the wall with access to free Wi-Fi. The bathroom had lovely soap, shower gel and moisturiser and matching robes! Breakfast was served until 12noon and had a good selection of cereals, breads, cold meats, fruit and juices. Location was perfect, easy walking distance to all Oslo attractions. Staff recommendations for restaurants were excellent, they listened to the type of place we were looking for (cheaper one night, a bit pricier the next) and made very good suggestions. I would definitely stay here again should I revisit Oslo.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cat G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I am not a writer of reviews but this hotel just deserves it. A short walk from the restaurants and shops and if your'e flying in catch the Oslo express train and the station is a few minutes walk away. The hotel offers the best rooms for the price that I've ever enjoyed and the staff are friendly and helpful. Clean, relaxed and a great breakfast. I look forward to trying this chains other hotels.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanL579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Thief
#3 of 100 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels

Property: Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels
Address: Parkveien 78, Oslo 0254, Norway (Formerly Carlton Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Oslo
#8 Best Value Hotel in Oslo
#9 Business Hotel in Oslo
#12 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,302 - ₹ 15,381
Hotel Class:3 star — Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lovely eco-friendly boutique hotel, 10 min walk from Karl Johan, offers a popular organic breakfast and designer rooms with iMac computers covering all multimedia needs. Guests enjoy free access to a Turkish steam bath and sauna. Just 5 minutes' walk from the Royal Palace, Oslo Hotel Guldsmeden's own rooms are elegantly styled with quality furnishings. Each one features a unique combination of luxury Balinese-style decor and Sami-inspired pelts. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the entire hotel, as well as a 24-hour front desk. Nationaltheateret Train Station is a 3-minute walk from Oslo Guldsmeden. Tjuvholmen and the lively Aker Brygge harbour area are also nearby and offers plenty of bars, restaurants and clubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oslo Guldsmeden - Guldsmeden Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing