We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True budget”
Review of Thon Hotel Munch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Thon Hotel Munch
Ranked #24 of 101 Hotels in Oslo
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“True budget”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I haven’t really checked the price on this one; it was picked out for me. But I really hope it is very, very cheap. Small rooms, small restaurant, small breakfast, no soundproofing (I listened to a party across the street until approximately 03:38) to speak of. Unusually soft beds, if you like that. The rooms are being renovated, so maybe the standard will go up a bit (I’m not sure if my room was newly renovated or still waiting its turn). If it is really cheap, and you just need a place to rest/sleep for a while, then sure, go for it. Otherwise, maybe you should look somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomas_999_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    443
    188
    21
    8
See reviews for
131
311
130
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

You shouldn't expect much out of budget business hotels anywhere, but in a city like Oslo the least you would expect was hot water in the showers, and that the showers weren't hanging loose on the wall. My single room was small without a trace of personality or warmth, but the bed was good and warm. Breakfast just fine, but no other food services after 11 am. Hotel lies off the main shopping street in a dark and unfriendly part of town. This is my third stay here due to business obligations, but I would go for something else if I had the pick.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geirsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Labuan F.T., Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

A budget hotel that I couldn't be happier with. Very strategically located, right in the heart of the city. I like it best for its easy access to public transportation. The rooms are just the perfect size and everything that a traveller needs - a good bed, a good shower / bathroom and space to put stuff. A very good selection of breakfast as well. I would definitely return if I was on that side of the globe again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SabAripen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
337 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

The hotel is under renovation and that is promising for the next few months. The unrefurbished rooms are basic, although of decent size. The breakfast buffet is good for a hotel of the budget type. The location is about 10 min walking from the Nationaltheatret Station, but a bit hard to find, especially the entrance that is at the back of the hotel in a quiet street. This hotel will do the trick if sleeping and taking a shower is all you need and you do not want to pay the even more expensive 'normal' hotel rates of Oslo. For 2 nights I paid NOK 1,990 all in, about EUR 125 per night.

Room Tip: Whil under renovation, ask for a room away from the day-time noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchCarioca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porsgrunn, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Despite Thon marketing this hotel as "Budget" I was still expecting more. The hotel is in dire need of refurbishment. The hallways are smelly and badly lit, with flickering lights. The room was clean, but reeked of toilet cleaner. The room was small, worn and had absolutely no decorations of any kind. The in-room TV had only 6 stations. Also, the toilet was leaking and the room was poorly insulated, so I could hear everything that happened on the same floor, including my amorous neighbours in the next room. The bed was less than comfortable. Breakfast was very basic. All in all, I really think you can find way better options many other places in Oslo at a similar price level, all of which I would prefer to this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugman_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Smarthotel Oslo
Smarthotel Oslo
#35 of 101 in Oslo
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#11 of 101 in Oslo
793 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Munch? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Munch

Property: Thon Hotel Munch
Address: Munchs gate 5, Oslo 0165, Norway (Formerly Tulip Inn Rainbow Munch)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Oslo
#10 Business Hotel in Oslo
#11 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,384 - ₹ 21,204
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Munch 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Munch is a bed and breakfast hotel, located in a calm side street in the middle of Oslo city centre. The immediate vicinity offers everything you need, such as shopping, restaurants, theatres and public transport. Food and drink at the hotel In our newly renovated breakfast area we serve a healthy and varied breakfast buffet every day. The buffet contains fresh fruit, organic products and a wide selection of hot and cold dishes. The hotel does not have a restaurant, but you can buy beer, wine and snacks in the reception. There are several restaurants nearby the hotel, and our receptionists can help recommend a restaurant for you. Internet Free wireless internet access is available throughout the hotel. Activities and other things to do at the hotel: The hotel's central location in Oslo city centre makes it a perfect starting point for shopping, restaurant visits and nightlife in Oslo. Famous attractions such as the Royal Palace, the National Theatre, the Norwegian Opera, Aker Brygge and Akershus Fort are within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel's vicinity to public transport makes it easy to travel to all parts of Oslo City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thon Hotel Munch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing