We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Son. I am not impress.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Sjolyst

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Scandic Sjolyst
Ranked #38 of 98 Hotels in Oslo
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Son. I am not impress.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Checking into Scandic Sjolyst during a week of training in the immediate vincinity, I was surprised to find the hotel quite worn and weary. I stayed in a 6th floor room, and while it was spacious and clean, lighting was quite poor and the bed left a bit to be desired. To top it all off, one of the two elevators servicing the 8 floors went out of commission on my third day and remained out of commission until I checked out at the end of the week.

Breakfast was excellent, on the other hand (except, I couldn't find spoons for the eggs - but I was never good at searching). A beer in the bar ran a staggering 99NOK, so I never had more than one, and given the prices, I had my dinners and bevvies elsewhere.

I won't say the hotel is terrible. It just doesn't come close enough to my expectations of being modern and polished as both photos and the surrounding area would suggest. I will likely check in again for similar business, but unless they break out some tools and paintbrushes, I'm afraid I won't quite get my money's worth.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mr_Sandvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    142
    98
    33
    10
See reviews for
47
64
20
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

as the title says:

Good hotel, clean rooms and simple yet (imo) stylishly furnished.

Breakfast is good and comprehensive, shame there is no roggerbrood (rye bread) though.

The rooms are very clean and comfortable although could do with a bit of maintenance in some of them. Note - everything works fine and the showers are great - it's just that some of the woodwork has seen better days.

If you are staying for more than a few days then the rooms may get a bit too small and the lack of proper wardrobes and such like is a bit of a pain.

The staff are friendly and helpful. Wifi is available for free and works well.

As has been pointed out previously - Dolly Dimples is around the corner and there is a small supermarket in the vicinity. After a while Dolly's gets a bit repetitive - no matter how much you like pizza. There are a few other places in the vicinity but as with most things Norwegian - they are expensive.

To get here from airport is a doddle - just take the FlyToGet to Drammen and get off at Skoyen. Quick and efficient.

Room Tip: Press both call buttons for the elevators once you are off the ground floor. They aren't linked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thurstonland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yaroslavl, Russia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Hotel located in about 10-20 minutes from Oslo center on public transport.
Room was clean and pretty nice equipped - had bed, 2 kind of chairs, tv and some other stuff. There was some problems in bathroom - after shower all floor become filled with water. Breakfast was ok. Rooms was cleaned up every day even harded than expected.
Free WiFi works fine. If you stay for more than 7 days ask for Scandic Hotels frequent geust sign up form.

Room Tip: Lower floors rooms are newer and better equipped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergeyPetrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2011

Large rooms but unfortunately few double beds available. Breakfast is decent.
Wifi available throughout hotel which is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a double bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marsenal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

It is really a pity that Scandic hotels outside the city centre of bigger cities are of so much lower standard than the ones more centrally located. This is not more than an average hotel starting to get some desperate need for renovation of the common areas. The hotel need better cleaning and rooms have extremely little sound absorbtion between walls. I could hear (but not understanding fortunately, since he spoke a different language) the whole telephone conversation from the guy next door. Also tv s from other surrounding rooms were heard.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stavanger_fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oslo
Gamle Oslo
Scandic Helsfyr
Scandic Helsfyr
#42 of 98 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Scandic Solli
#35 of 98 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel 33
#45 of 98 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Scandic Fornebu
#2 of 3 in Fornebu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Sjolyst? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Sjolyst

Property: Scandic Sjolyst
Address: Sjoelyst Plass 5, Oslo 0278, Norway (Formerly Scandic Oslo Sjolyst)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Oslo
#29 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,734 - ₹ 13,926
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Sjolyst 3.5*
Number of rooms: 216
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Scandic Sjolyst is located in a trendy area in Skoyen with cafes, shops and restaurants. Popular attractions such as the museums at Bygdoy and the park Vigelandsparken are only a 15 minute walk from our hotel. The hotel is perfectly located for outdoor activities such as running and biking as well as the popular beaches at Bygdoy. Public transport to the city centre is very convinient and it only takes 4 minutes by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Sjolyst reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Oslo Sjolyst Hotel Oslo
Scandic Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing