We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, budget hotel”
Review of Thon Hotel Astoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Astoria
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 29 November 2017 via mobile

Close to Oslo Central station. This is a budget hotel. It is undergoing some rehabilitation, therefore slightly noisy in the morning. Rooms are small and not soundproof. You can hear the tv next door. Only shower curtain. No place for toiletries in the bathroom. Clean but nothing more. Soft bed. Street parking is possible.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Odd Kristian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to write us your review.

I am sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations during your stay at Thon Hotel Astoria and we appreciate for taking the time to give us this feedback.
This is the only way we can improve ourselves, and in the future we hope to be able to make an improved impression of Thon Hotels.

We are as we speak renovating the hotels where we are doing some upgrades on the bathrooms and also when it comes to soundproofing the rooms.
We look forward to present a renovated hotel in the future.

Welcome back to Thon Hotels!

Best regards

Cathrine Bergan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,042)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,042 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2017 via mobile

Small and clean. It is a tired hotel but neatly maintained. A good place for an overnight stay but not longer.

Location wise it is very convenient to restaurants and the train station. So moving around is great.

But reception varies - some friendly and some as cold as smoked cod. This generally reflects the people of Oslo.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cwp S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear guest,
First of all I would like to thank you for taking your time to write us your review.

I am sorry to hear that we have failed to meet your expectations during your stay at Thon Hotel Astoria and we appreciate for taking the time to give us this feedback.
This is the only way we can improve ourselves, and in the future we hope to be able to make an improved impression of Thon Hotels.

We are as we speak renovating the hotel and we look forward to present a renovated hotel in the future.

Welcome back to Thon Hotels!

Best regards

Cathrine Bergan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

This hotel is centrally located and usually reasonably priced. There was a good selection at breakfast, considering the price, and everything was clean and well organised. I stayed in a double room and it was OK.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anders C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review and for sharing your experience.

I am glad to see that our location was perfect for you and thank you for your nice comment regarding our breakfast.
We put great effort in our breakfast, so it is a true pleasure to hear that you enjoyed it so much.

We warmly welcome you back to us for your next stay!

Best Regards
Cathrine Bergan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

The hotel is situated very central in Oslo and therefor I will recommend that you get a room that face in towards the courtyard rather then the main street outside if you want a good night sleep. The room was cheap and therefore small. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Cleanliness was good

Room Tip: Get a room facing the courtyard for a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Jo Inge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Thon Hotel Astoria during your days in Oslo.
Your review about the hotel has made our day a bright one and we are very grateful for your post.
We are overjoyed that you chose to highlight our magnificent staff who are truly dedicated to ensuring guest satisfaction.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Thon Hotel Astoria in the future.

Sincerely
Cathrine Bergan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Hotel is well located, clean and comfortable. Pretty basic. Included breakfast was a delicious surprise, with a good selection of foods. If you aren't spending much time in your room it's worth saving on thugs budget hotel so that you can splurge on restaurants and activities.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathrine B, General Manager at Thon Hotel Astoria, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Thon Hotel Astoria during your days in Oslo and for sharing your experience.

I am glad to see that our location was perfect for you and that the breakfast was a highlight.
We put great effort in our breakfast, so it is a true pleasure to hear that you enjoyed it.

We warmly welcome you back to us for your next stay!

Sincerely
Cathrine Bergan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Scandic Oslo City
Scandic Oslo City
#43 of 103 in Oslo
763 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byporten
Scandic Byporten
#16 of 103 in Oslo
1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thon Hotel Munch
#24 of 103 in Oslo
1,046 reviews
Sentrum
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#18 of 103 in Oslo
1,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Astoria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Astoria

Address: Dronningens gate 21, Oslo 0154, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 103 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: ₹ 7,968 - ₹ 14,395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thon Hotel Astoria 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Astoria is a functional Budget Hotel located in the heart of the city centre. The hotel provides compact and clean rooms, friendly service, free WIFI and a great buffet type breakfast. Enjoy your breakfast daily until 11 AM. On a sunny day in the hotels backyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Thon Hotel Astoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Oslo
Thon Hotel Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing