We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveller rating
171
269
110
38
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
269
110
38
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location aker brygge central location city hall nobel peace centre excellent breakfast minute walk the breakfast area karl johans gate train station tourist sites nice size national theatre two night stay comfortable beds heated floors nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 603 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Stayed here one night and the hotel really lived up to my expectations. The receiption staff was friendly and service oriented. I checked in online and obtained the key from the checkin machine. Hotel was located close to Karl Johan, Royal Castle, Aker Brygge and lots of restaurants and bars in the area as well as shops. Short walking distance from airport train station. Good choice for long or short stay. The room was modern and cosy. Breakfast was nice with lots of choises. Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Stayed in 5th floor, good view to indoor restaurant.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lalina_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ole E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Guest. Thank you for your review. We are really grateful that you took your time to review our property, as guest feedback represent valuable information for us in our work to further develop and improve our hotel.

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our rooms and our breakfast service at Thon Hotel Cecil.
Really nice to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again again.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

So, this hotel was ok, the room was fine. A little noisy air condition so ear plugs are required. Breakfast was ok enough, good selection of warm dishes and cheese. terrible coffee. but all of this counts for nothing when I have to read spam emails asking for tripadvisor reviews after the stay. piss off, piss off and piss off. Don´t be a spammer.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h_konh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ole E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2018

Dear Håkon.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel.
In our opinion, your review contains bad language and inappropriate comments, and we reported your review.
However, TripAdvisor did not agree - and our thoughts can be read below:

We are sorry to hear that you found it very annoying to be asked to review our hotel.
However we are not willing to apologize for this, as neither me our our team member can find anything inappropriate about sending an polite e-mail to ask for a tripadvisor review. In the end of the day, you also took your time to review us, and we thank you for your comments and review.

We also thank your for your e-mail you sent earlier, with a lot of words who are not suitable to post online, where you more or less stated the same thins as in the review above.

Thon Hotel Cecil and our staff hope you had a nice stay with us, and wish you welcome back in the future.

Wish you a nice week with no spam e-mail in your inbox :)

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Best beds ever. Supernice staff and very clean rooms. And 5 meters from everything you need to be near when visiting Oslo. Very good and quiet breakfast. And Cheap! Wont have to think about where to stay next time I am in Oslo.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Villvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ole E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2018

Dear guest
Thank you so much for the review.
We appreciate reviews from our guests, as this is an important source for valuable information about how our guests experience to stay at Thon Hotel Cecil.

We are very happy to see that you had a nice stay with us.
Thank you for your kind comments about room quality, breakfast and our staff.

We hope that we will be given the chance to accommodate you again next time you visit Oslo.

Team Thon Hotel Cecil thank you once again for your review, and for choosing our hotel.

Have a nice day & week ahead.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018

For sure the biggest plus point of this 3* city hotel is the central location between the main pedestrian area and the harbour side of Akerbrygge with its wide variety of restaurants. Lobby is small but you have a machine for free coffee 24 hrs there. Check-in service was very friendly. The renovated rooms are small as usual in Scandinavia, but cosy and with modern features. However in all rooms facing the innerside courtyard, windows can't be open which I really don't like but I was able to change my room to the front side. Breakfast is nice with a large variety and also many healthy options.

Room Tip: If you like to open your window take a room to the front side of the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marion M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ole E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear Marion.
Thank you very much for your review, we really appreciate that you took the time to review us, as guest reviews are really important to us.
We take guest comments and reviews into consideration when we work to further develop and improve our hotel & services.

We are really happy to see that you had a nice stay with us, and are really grateful for your comments regarding room quality and breakfast service.
Breakfast is one of the services that are most important for our guests, so we put a lot of effort to deliver a great breakfast.

Regarding your comment about our rooms, it is correct that quite a few of our rooms faces a atrium.
Because this means that guests cannot open their windows, a new ventilation system with individual regulation room temperature will be installed in connection to the ongoing renovation/remodeling or Thon Hotel Cecil.

The entire construcion period is expected to be completed by mid-July.

Team Thon Hotel Cecil thank you once again for your review, and we hope to see you back at Thon Hotel Cecil next time you visit Oslo.

Have a great day and week ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel in Sept. 2017. Surprisingly, the weather was nice and sunny. We were able to walk to most of the tourist spots nearby including the the National Gallery, city hall and ferry.

The room is clean, but small, especially the bathroom. Just not much space to move around. The best is the buffet breakfast. Plenty of options, hot and cold items.

If I go back to Oslo, would definitely stay there again for the great location and reasonable price.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank SL227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ole E, General Manager at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Dear guest.
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel after your stay with us.
Feedback from our guests are essential information for us, that we actively use in order to further develop and improve our hotel.

We are very glad to see that you had a nice stay with us.
Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding our breakfast.

We know that our guests appreciate the breakfast at the hotel, and promise to work hard to keep up the high level of service and quality, and even improve in the future.

Thanks again for your review and the kind comments.

Team Thon Hotel Cecil thank you for staying with us and wish you welcome back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews