We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (607)
Filter reviews
607 results
Traveller rating
171
270
113
38
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
270
113
38
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location aker brygge central location city hall nobel peace centre excellent breakfast minute walk karl johans gate the breakfast area train station tourist sites nice size national theatre two night stay comfortable beds heated floors nice hotel
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 607 reviews
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Located right on the central plaza/park in Oslo. Parliament just a block away and all the great restaurants and cafes a block away. Wonderful location and the hotel itself was very nice. Small rooms, but functional, clean and modern. The hotel has on site parking for autos, however, you have to take an auto elevator to the basement to park and the elevator broke down while we were in it in our car. Fortunately, it did not move after we drove in it, so they were able to have us back out to the street and I went several blocks up the hill to a public parking garage to park for the night.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TexasTraveler7507047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear TexasTraveler7507047!
Thank you for staying with us during your trip to Oslo. We are so happy to read that you had a lovely stay and you enjoyed the hotel.
We are happy to offer our guest parking against a fee and we advise to reserve in advance as we have limited spaces. We are so sorry that we had problems with the elevator door that did not close but luckily our Front Desk Manager was present to help you and sort out the elevator again.
We hope to welcome you back at Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

We stayed four nights at this hotel and we were not disappointed! We had excellent service throughout our stay. The entire staff needs to be commended, especially Daphne at the reception desk who is a delightful person, always smiling and ready to help. The reception manager (I forget her name but she told me that she spent one year studying at Florida International University) was also very helpful. Our room was cozy and warm (we had asked for a quiet room). The AC was set at a certain temperature and we couldn't get the room any cooler, therefore we had to open the window the get a little fresh air. Breakfast was served in a nice setting and offered quite a variety of fresh foods, all fresh and delicious. Overall, we left Thon Hotel Cecil with a very positive impression.

Room tip: We had a room on an upper floor overlooking the terrace and it was quiet.
Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JGG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear JGG2!
Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It was lovely to have you as our guest and hope that you are bringing lots of good memories from Oslo and Norway back to Hollywood.
We have a wonderful staff at the hotel that is doing their outermost for giving our guest a lovely stay at Thon Hotel Cecil. We will pass on your fantastic review.
Thon Hotel Cecil has a centralized ventilation system and no AC. We have few warm and sunny days with temperature compered to Florida during a year so it not so common to have AC in hotels in Norway.
We hope to you are coming back to Norway to see more of our beautiful contry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Brilliant location just around the corner from the parliament building and a short walk to the waterfront. The room was small and had little storage, but the bed was very comfortable and the room quiet. We had a superior room for 3 adults but with the sofa bed open it was hard to move around the whole room. Breakfast was excellent - a wide variety of fresh produce with attentive staff. Reception staff were friendly and efficient. Would definitely return.

Room tip: Most, if not all rooms look into the atrium which means it is quiet (there's no real view outside anyway)
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ThonHotels.no
Thank Ceri393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear Ceri393!
Thank you very much for staying at Thon Hotel Cecil and for your lovely word after your stay. The hotel has a prime location as you mention and it is very easy to get around in Oslo from the hotel.
Our large breakfast buffet provides a large selection of warm and cold dishes and Norwegian specialties as salmon and waffles.
A tip for superior rooms for 3 people is to fold together the sofa during day time and it will give you more space. It is very easy to fold and the front desk is happy to explain you how to do it.
We are looking forward to seeing you next time you are going to Oslo and tell all your friends about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

This hotel has it all, convenient location, wonderful staff, perfect room. Our triple was large enough for three adults. The staff truly went out of their way to make our stay comfortable including giving us a free packed breakfast for our early departure. The complementary breakfast was filling and the location was perfect.

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LeeLeeAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear LeeLeeAnn!
Thank you very much for recommending us and for your wonderful review which truly warms our hearts. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we hope to see you and all your friends at Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

This hotel is walkable to just about everything you would want to see in Oslo. The staff was helpful at check-in and were able to sell us a 48 hr Oslo Pass at the same rate as you would get from the visitor center. Our room was quite comfortable. It was on the same floor as the breakfast, which I thought would be a problem in the mornings for noise but with earplugs it was surprisingly quiet. In fact when you drew back the curtains you were staring right at a table, so it was a must to close the curtains at night. If you don't like the idea of staring your fellow guests in the face when you open the drapes in the morning, you should request a room higher up for sure!

What I loved about this hotel was the breakfast -- waffles, sunny side eggs with bacon, hash brown nuggets, meatballs(?!), smoked salmon, and all of the typical continental breakfast items like granola, yogurt, fruit, and cold cuts/cheese. Plus they have a great "regular" coffee machine (which we used, since we like ours black) and a very fancy machine that made some kind of special concoction that everyone else was queuing up for. There were so many nice options that you could really fill up in the morning and eat a lighter (and thus, hopefully cheaper) lunch in town. Also, the ladies who bring out the food and bus the tables were very friendly, nice service.

Room tip: Note that 2nd floor interior rooms face the breakfast lounge/courtyard
Date of stay: June 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AmandaZona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thonhotelcecil, Daglig leder at Thon Hotel Cecil, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2016

Dear AmandaZona!
Thank you very much for staying at Thon Hotel Cecil and sharing your good experiences. Breakfast is very important when staying in a hotel and it is very important to have a wide selection so our guest can choose themselves what to eat for breakfast. Some guests just want a quick start with some granola and yoghurt whiles other prefer a different breakfast than at home.
We are selling Oslo Pass at the same price as the Visitor Center and they are valid for 24h, 48h or 72h. It is a very good deal as it gives you free entrance to most attractions and public transportation.
All rooms has to sets of curtains, one black out curtain for sleeping and one organza that is letting light in during daytime.
We hope to welcoming you back at Thon Hotel Cecil.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews