We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing special”
Review of Scandic Victoria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Victoria
Ranked #30 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Wroclaw
Level Contributor
261 reviews
260 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“nothing special”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, right in the centre, close to train station from the airport and to the port and city hall and parliament. The room was to small with small bed. Nice breakfast with lots to choose from. Wi-Fi working pretty well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel_WRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    378
    171
    42
    26
See reviews for
123
286
43
232
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed twice at this hotel, at the start and end of our trip to Norway in May 2011. On the first occasion we stayed in a room that was on the 3rd floor with an internal window (looking out across other rooms, with the restaurant below). The room was small, adequately and nicely furnished, but the temperature was warm, and the air con didn't seem to be adjustable. On the second time, we got a room on the 7th or 8th floor, much bigger, with an external window - it was such a contrast - and we paid the same price. The breakfast was something I had never seen (until later when we stayed at other Rica hotels in other parts of Norway). The front reception service was fair to good. The location was great, it was a short walk to Aker Brygge and it was also convenient for us to collect our hire car for the rest of our trip. I would definitely stay here again when next in Oslo.

Room Tip: Try and avoid a room on the lower floors with an internal window only - the rooms are warm and stuff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Neri229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uppsala
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I'm in Oslo on business five-six time a year and after trying a couple of other hotels I've chosen to always stay at Rica Victoria. It has it's flaws like all hotels but for me it gives me what I want at a decent price (although, as everything in Norway it is VERY expensive for what you get...).

The rooms are big by Scandinavian standards. I book the lowest price possible but always get a double bed in a big room with good size desk, a couple of comfy chairs and table. The beds are super comfy just as many other reviewers have said.

A bonus for me is the in-room water kettle with tea and coffee (although it's not always stocked with tea and coffee but you can always get that in the breakfast room). Most Scandinavian hotels don't have water kettles so I love it when they do.

The breakfast is really good. Great selection of everything, bread, fruit, cereal, spreads, cheese, ham, sweets, the lot. And it's served in a very nice room with lots of natural light, although, a bit chilly in the winter so don't sit next to the ac....

Room Tip: There are two types of room, facing the indoor courtyard and facing the street. The rooms towards th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Avastra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

This hotel is located very centrally with regards to Aker Brygge, Nationalteateret (train to the airport), shopping and the Castle.

The staff were helpful and friendly. I changed my room once as I wanted a quiet room, and this was not a problem.

Unfortunately, there are no real quiet rooms. You can either choose a room facing the street (around the hotel) or you have a room facing the dining area (located in a big square in the middle of the hotel), which gets a bit noisy around dinner and breakfast time.

However, what is worst about this hotel is the room's door locks. All room doors must be locked manually, and do not lock automatically either when you are in the room or when you leave. A friend stayed at this hotel and forgot to manually lock the door and ended up being woken by a threatening man in her room in the middle of the night.

The door locks and the lack of quiet rooms means I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruhrgebiet
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

The hotel is great, Helpful staff, Clean rooms with nice bathroom.
Room view into the breakfast room is not so good, but OK.
The breakfast buffett is unbelievable, everything you can imagine. Selfmade pancakes, different kinds of salmon, etc.
For hotel guest WLAN is for free and is fast everywhere I used it.

You can reach main Oslo highlights by feet. Just a few minutes to Aker Brygge.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday-Lover-001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Cecil
Thon Hotel Cecil
#37 of 100 in Oslo
496 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Best Western Karl Johan Hotell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Oslo Panorama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Victoria? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Victoria

Property: Scandic Victoria
Address: Rosenkrantz' gate 13, Oslo 0160, Norway (Formerly Rica Victoria Hotel)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,271 - ₹ 16,855
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Victoria 3.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scandic Victoria is a first-class business hotel in the heart of Oslo. Aker Brygge, the Parliament, Karl Johans gate are all within short walking distance. The hotel has 199 spacious, light and comfortable rooms, some of which are suites. The hotel has several meeting rooms and a large atrium ideal for mini-fairs and exhibitions, receptions, lunches and dinners. A large and varied buffet lunch is served daily in the atrium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Victoria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Victoria Oslo
Oslo Rica Victoria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing