We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (576)
Filter reviews
576 results
Traveller rating
139
235
131
41
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
139
235
131
41
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parliament building perfect location great shower minute walk from the train station walking distance short break large room main attractions the hotel is clean t bane stayed two nights the main street great breakfast comfortable rooms salmon would stay again oslo central station
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 576 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Spent a couple of nights here recently. It is a neat and tidy place in the centre of Oslo, within a short walk from Central train station and other amenities. The rooms are clean, tidy and organised, although a bit on the small side. The facilities are modern and efficient. The staff are friendly and helpful, without being too in-your-face. Only drawback is the close proximity to the nightclub, which means a lot of bass till early morning in the weekends

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ayrdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, Manager at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear Guest

thank you so much for your review, i m really happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, despite of the sounds from the street, we are working to try to reduce the noise from that place

Kind regards

Ferdinando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicKarlJohan, Manager at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 November 2017

This hotel is a best in class example of what a three star hotel can provide. A late "Norway in a Nutshell" train ride from Bergen found me walking along the pedestrian Karl Johans gate past the Saturday night partiers spilling out of the bars. The starkly modern hotel was full, but my room was ready. A tight modular bed fitted into the window wall and assorted hooks replaced closets. Although their bicycles for loan were fully reserved , the helpful desk clerk led me through a back door to a neighboring sister Scandic to arrange a reservation.for the following day. A major benefit when my pre-arranged city bicycle tour fell through. The palace, museums and Aker Brygge all were within easy walking distance. Breakfast was well presented and the guests trended towards Scandinavian couples and families.

Room Tip: Reserve a bike ahead of arrival.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jrftrav16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, Manager at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2017

Dear Guest

thank you so much for your nice words:)

welcome back!

Kind regards

Ferdinando

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Overprized hotel with very small rooms. Not worth the money at all. Badly staff and service..Had to pay much extra for new bigger room. Mostly on other hotels with good service , they give u a new room ofcourse

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank 218kristinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, Manager at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2017

Dear Kristin

thank you so much for you feedback, we know that our rooms are not the biggest, but we try to show tham in all details trough our booking channels, due to give the guest the right impression before they arrive.
Unfortunately we cant upgrade all guest for free, since we have other guest that have paid the full price for the superior, it would not be right.
i m really sorry that you felt that we didn t delivery a good service because we diin tyou uppgrade you for free.
if there is something else i can do for you please contact me at ferdinando.vicinanza@scandichotels.com

kind regard
Ferdinando Vicinanza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicKarlJohan, Manager at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews