We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I am amazed and I am sure you do”
Review of Scandic Karl Johan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Scandic Karl Johan
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Reviewed 3 June 2017

We arrived early morning and was surprised we are able to have an early check in to have a short nap after 13 hours flight from Singapore at no extra charge. They offered very good customer service and a variety of delicious breakfast and easy walking to the train station.

Room Tip: good breakfast and location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kaoruhweecheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, General Manager at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Hello Kaoruhweecheng,
Lovely having you with us at Scandic Karl Johan and thank you for taking the time to write a short review. We are glad that we were able to check you in early after a long trip from Singapore. Thank you for commenting on our great customer service and delicious breakfast buffet. We trust that you had enough energy to explore the city of Oslo and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon again! Best regards, Therese Fredriksson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 78 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017

From here I could walk very conveniently to most attractions. The breakfast was very lovely each morning and although we didnt have the dinner the drinks available were great. My bed was quite hard but my friends all reported their beds were very comfortable so maybe I'm just picky. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, General Manager at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Hello Liz M,
Thank you for staying with us at Scandic Karl Johan.
We hope that you ha a nice time exploring Oslo during you stay with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed our tasty breakfast buffet and that the drinks we offer was to your liking. Bed mattress preferences are very individual and we do understand that one does not fit all. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Oslo soon again, bring your friends! Best regards, Therese Fredriksson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
Thank Trond O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicKarlJohan, Daglig leder at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in May. We loved this place. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was amazing and location unbeatable. You are in the heart of the city within easy walking distance to everything. When I analyze reviews, I look for things that are repeated by multiple guests. We paid a little extra for a larger room, since many found the smallest rooms to be just that...small. Our room was very large and comfortable and included a couch. We did not have any kind of view, but because we were in the back of the hotel, our room was very quiet (I had requested a quiet room). Even in the heart of the city, we slept with our windows open and never heard any noise. We have only good memories of our time at the Scandic Karl Johan. Other details:

Shower: Good water pressure, spacious, plenty of hot water

Outlets: Plenty for plugging in chargers at night

Elevators: FAST. We were on the 7th floor and never had to wait longer than 30 seconds for an elevator. There is only one, so I kind of wondered if that would be a problem. NO it was not!.

Staff: Everyone was so nice and friendly.

Extras: The free wifi worked really good...even on the 7th floor. They have a machine with free coffee and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. We made full use of it!

We are budget travelers and found this hotel to be a good value (We booked non refundable price on booking.com We got a good rate, particularly when you factor in the large breakfast)

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and were on the 7th floor in the back. It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, Daglig leder at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hello CAAdams,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
The team is happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our friendly staff.
We trust that you had a great stay with us and that you had the opportunity to explore Oslo during your 3 nights with us. Our city center location is just great and as you mention surprisingly quiet since we are located on a quiet side street. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Oslo and Scandic Karl Johan soon again!
Kind regards, Therese Fredriksson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
1  Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicKarlJohan, Daglig leder at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Scandic Grensen
#34 of 102 in Oslo
441 reviews
Sentrum
Citybox Oslo
Citybox Oslo
#21 of 102 in Oslo
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Scandic Victoria
#31 of 102 in Oslo
934 reviews
Sentrum
First Hotel Millennium
First Hotel Millennium
#50 of 102 in Oslo
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Karl Johan? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Karl Johan

Address: Arbeidergata 4, Oslo 0159, Norway (Formerly HTL Karl Johan)
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo > Sentrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: ₹ 6,750 - ₹ 11,701 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scandic Karl Johan 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Scandic Hotels, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Scandic Karl Johan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Travel Oslo
Oslo Rica Travel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing