We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
145
240
137
44
32
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
240
137
44
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night table parliament building great shower central location super breakfast minute walk from the train station excellent location walking distance short break main attractions large room the hotel is clean t bane the main street would stay again comfortable rooms salmon
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 598 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2017

From here I could walk very conveniently to most attractions. The breakfast was very lovely each morning and although we didnt have the dinner the drinks available were great. My bed was quite hard but my friends all reported their beds were very comfortable so maybe I'm just picky. I would definitely come back to this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2017
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, General Manager at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2017

Hello Liz M,
Thank you for staying with us at Scandic Karl Johan.
We hope that you ha a nice time exploring Oslo during you stay with us. Great to hear that you enjoyed our tasty breakfast buffet and that the drinks we offer was to your liking. Bed mattress preferences are very individual and we do understand that one does not fit all. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Oslo soon again, bring your friends! Best regards, Therese Fredriksson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicKarlJohan, Daglig leder at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 May 2017

We stayed for 3 nights in May. We loved this place. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was amazing and location unbeatable. You are in the heart of the city within easy walking distance to everything. When I analyze reviews, I look for things that are repeated by multiple guests. We paid a little extra for a larger room, since many found the smallest rooms to be just that...small. Our room was very large and comfortable and included a couch. We did not have any kind of view, but because we were in the back of the hotel, our room was very quiet (I had requested a quiet room). Even in the heart of the city, we slept with our windows open and never heard any noise. We have only good memories of our time at the Scandic Karl Johan. Other details:

Shower: Good water pressure, spacious, plenty of hot water

Outlets: Plenty for plugging in chargers at night

Elevators: FAST. We were on the 7th floor and never had to wait longer than 30 seconds for an elevator. There is only one, so I kind of wondered if that would be a problem. NO it was not!.

Staff: Everyone was so nice and friendly.

Extras: The free wifi worked really good...even on the 7th floor. They have a machine with free coffee and hot chocolate 24 hours a day. We made full use of it!

We are budget travelers and found this hotel to be a good value (We booked non refundable price on booking.com We got a good rate, particularly when you factor in the large breakfast)

Room tip: We requested a quiet room and were on the 7th floor in the back. It was quiet.
Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAAdams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScandicKarlJohan, Daglig leder at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Hello CAAdams,
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
The team is happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for mentioning our friendly staff.
We trust that you had a great stay with us and that you had the opportunity to explore Oslo during your 3 nights with us. Our city center location is just great and as you mention surprisingly quiet since we are located on a quiet side street. We hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Oslo and Scandic Karl Johan soon again!
Kind regards, Therese Fredriksson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicKarlJohan, Daglig leder at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ScandicHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ScandicKarlJohan, Daglig leder at Scandic Karl Johan, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews