We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good hotel in fantastic spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Oslo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very good hotel in fantastic spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Hotels in this town are not brilliant but the grand is very nice. It's clean, central, convenient and much better than most others. Pluses include location, small size, nice cafe, pool, wifi and rooms. Negatives are limited to cost, bars, layout and decoration. Well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yangrima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Yangrima

Fantastic to hear that you like Grand Hotel and that Grand Hotel stands out compared to the properties you know in Oslo. It makes us proud to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Best regards
Kari Hasselknippe, Dir.of Sales-and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    580
    302
    130
    66
See reviews for
239
630
129
416
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arendal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a week and it was a great experience. Relaxed and calm atmosphere in a busy work-week. Great service from the time of booking until the end of the stay. Fantastic breakfast, great location and supernice personell. We can highly recommend this hotel!!!!

Kari-Anne & Ingard

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kari-Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Kari-Anne S

Thank you so much for your great review.
It makes us extra happy to hear about the excellent service you experienced througout your entire stay. This is very important for us and we are continually working towards to be even better.
Hope to see you as our guests again in the future. Thank you for taking time to give your feedback.

Best regards
Kari Hasselknippe, Dir.of Sales-and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
210 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 490 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

Location is excelent. Breakfast is exceptional AND healty AND served with a smile, and if you are lucky you get at table at the window and can watch the government start they day just opposite the hotel.
Grand hotel will not give you the 5 stars feeling you would expect. Rooms are a bit old even the refurbished ones is a bit "past time".
Service is good. No coffee maker in rooms. bathroom very tiny. Sleep quality was excellent, bed on the smaller side, see photo.
Be aware that not all rooms have a view - nice to be able to see the city, but it will cost you extra.

Room Tip: Be aware that not all rooms have a view - nice to be able to see the city, but it will cost you extr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ducati40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOGrand, Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Ducati40

Your review is much appreciated. Thank you.
It is so nice to hear that you are happy about our hotel and the friendly service from our staff. We have been renovating a lot lately and have now 40 exclusive newly renovated rooms and 164 new renovated bathrooms. The feedback we receive from our guests is excellent. Hope you will get a chance to visit us again and we can offer you one of the new rooms.
We wish you a warm welcome back!

Best regards
Kari Hasselknippe, Dir. of Sales-and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

The thing which really stands out about the Grand is its service. The hotel staff were extremely helpful before my stay and during check-in, accommodating different requests and delivering five-star service.

The building itself is beautiful and it is in a stand-out location, about half a kilometre from Oslo S train station. When you have breakfast - which is a good mix of Scandinavian and 'International' - you're in the Grand Cafe looking out over the streets of Oslo with a great view.

Downsides: it's being renovated, and you can see this is needed, and bathroom cleanliness was OK but not five-star. Overall, though, you couldn't ask for better.

Room Tip: Being renovated so make sure you get a new room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stevo_srh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOGrand, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear Stevo_srh

Thank you so much for your superb review! We are so happy you enjoyed everything from the service, the hotel itself, the Grand Café and our location! Regarding our bathrooms we are pleased to tell you that we are now finished with the renovation and we are now offering 164 new bathrooms and 40 new suites! We could really recommend you a stay in one of our new junior suites!

We do hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kindest regards
Kari Hasselknippe, Dir.of Sales-and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two nights , from the moment of check in and check out , the service was fantastic. The staff were most helpful and pleasant at all times . Hotel was lovely and was so convienient to all amenities. The breakfast in the grand cafe was fantastic. Rooms nice and clean . I would definetly recommend this hotel ,and would hope to make a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aprillacie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOGrand, General Manager at Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear aprillacie

Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We are so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt we took good care of you. We are especially pleased that you found our breakfast fantastic and that you will give us your best recommendations. We hope to see you soon again!

A warm welcome back!

Best regards
Kari Hasselknippe, Dir.of Sales-and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Hotel Continental Oslo
The Thief
#3 of 98 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Hotel Bristol
#12 of 98 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Saga Hotel Oslo
#4 of 98 in Oslo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel

Property: Grand Hotel
Address: Karl Johans gate 31, Oslo 0159, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 98 Hotels in Oslo
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,117 - ₹ 16,983
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 292
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Grand Hotel, Oslo. The Grand Hotel in Oslo is Norway's best-known and prestigious hotel. The luxury hotel first opened its doors in 1874 and for over 140 years it has been host to the people of Norway, international guests, world leaders, celebrities and the Nobel Peace Prize laureates. Henrik Ibsen, the world-renowned Norwegian author made the luxury hotel one of his favorite daily haunts. Everyone deserves to be grand! Our guest experience is based on true Nordic luxury that is delivered by our well-trained and enthusiastic international team. The Grand Hotel has 274 rooms, including 54 Suites that are a blend of historic design, one sky bar with magnificent views, a restaurant, lobby bar, 19 meeting rooms, Artesia Spa Grand Hotel, fitness room and parking. Welcome to Oslo! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing