We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall: Between 3 and 4”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy
Ranked #29 of 100 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Overall: Between 3 and 4”
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My wife and I spent one night (May 18th -19th, 2012) at this very centrally located hotel in the city centre of Oslo. The building itself is from the year 1916. It is very well preserved and the exterior is beautiful. The distance to the main “parade” street “Karl Johans Gate” is only around 200 meters. The area is, more or less, probably the best in the Oslo city centre.

We came by car, and were lucky enough to find a free parking lot right outside the hotel (this was late at a Friday afternoon). The hotel is cooperating with a nearby large, public underground parking house…where the hotel’s guests are offered a 25 % discount. (You have to bring the paper ticket from the ticket machine to get it stamped at the hotel, and then you pay directly at the parking house when picking up the car.)

The interior of the hotel gives the impression of newly having been re-decorated. It is very modern, and do not match the old exterior). But it is nice.
The service-minded front desk girl (from Sweden, off course…as most of the younger people in Oslo working at hotels, restaurants, cafés…i.e. in the whole “hospitality industry” – and that is very fine with me as the Swedes are much more polite, positive and out-going than the Norwegians themselves), was very professional.

We were very satisfied with our large room at the 4th floor. Nicely decorated with a fine bed, comfortable madras’s, hard wooden floor, great bathroom. We were happy that the room didn’t face the street outside (due to the noisy trams, and cars, that pass by the hotel).

The hotel offers, free of charge, a pleasant evening buffet at “the loft” (top floor), in a very informal milieu with a mix of large and small tables… It is very easy to get in contact with other guests (at our large table we had a nice conversation with an American couple from Californa, with Norwegian roots, who had come by a transatlantic cruise from the USA to celebrate the Norwegian National Day the day before, the May 17th.)

The breakfast the next morning was pretty good, served in the restaurant at the ground floor. You could have most of the basic items that you expect from a hotel of this standard…however, nothing special to say “Hurra” about.

I would concider staying here again, especially if guaranteed a nice room, much due to the location.
As well, I can recommend others to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Homevalley55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Hello Dag,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and information with other travellers!

We are proud of all our staff, and encourage a mix of different nationalities.

It makes us very happy to hear that you connected with other guests and that our cosy loft, serves as a a meeting point!

Hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    245
    99
    28
    11
See reviews for
65
186
66
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The location is excellent just a few steps from the trainstation Nationaltheater where you can catch the express train to the airport.
The hotel itself is ok the rooms are very basic.
Very friendly staff

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gudrunjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear Gudrun Jenny,

Thank you for your comment!

Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy has 93 rooms, many in different shapes and sizes. We highly recommend that you upgrade your room to our refurbished superior double rooms next time. Let us know and we will make you a nice offer!

Regards,
The front desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Since I relied heavily on tripadviser reviews for selecting hotels during my recent trip, it's only fair that I return the favor because the reviews were spot on. This hotel was a great surprise because we got much more than we expected. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. The location was outstanding and a 2 minute walk to the National Museum or tram stop and a 5 minute walk to Karl Johans Gate. The service was outstanding, breakfast was great, and to our surprise, there was also a free dinner. We were not looking forward to paying for meals in Oslo, so we checked out the free dinner and it was great! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scvfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Dear guest,

We are pleased to hear that your expectations of Hotel Savoy were exceeded!

All Clarion Collection Hotels within the Nordic Choice chain offers a complimentary evening meal, as our wish is to make the guest feel comfortable and at home.

Oslo is an expensive city, especially for foreign tourists and we are happy that we could help you keep your travel budget.

Welcome back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
570 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The overall rating for this hotel is almost a four. There are, however, a couple of things that bring the rating down: (a) some rooms are unbearably noisy due to the tram that runs close to the hotel. I asked for a quite room and was given a nice large facing the street. When talking to the front desk about this I was advised to get earplugs from the reception; (b) due to some mistake with the laundry there were no large towels in the room and the front desk did not mention this when I checked in; (c) the breakfast was included which was good. Less good was that the breakfast was not very nice. Some items were okay, but some were laid out in a way that made them not look very appetizing.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GothenburgProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on our return from a cruise in the early morning (lot before the check in time). The front desk was kind enough to accommodate us and give us the room.
The light evening dinner was excellent included salads, soup, cold cuts and variety of breads.
Since our flight was early the next day and the restaurant serving the complimentary breakfast was not open , the front desk had arranged with the kitchen to pack us sandwiches to take with us.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Oslo.

Room Tip: Best value for money in an expensive city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RNPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Bristol
#12 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Scandic Victoria
#31 of 100 in Oslo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy
Address: Universitetsgata 11, Oslo 0164, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Oslo
#22 Romantic Hotel in Oslo
#28 Business Hotel in Oslo
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,978 - ₹ 15,370
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a convenient location in the heart of Oslo, Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy offers a free evening buffet and 2 restaurants. All of the air conditioned rooms have free Wi-Fi access.All rooms at Hotel Savoy are decorated in a minimalist style and comfort. They are all equipped with a cable TV, work desk and private bathrooms.Guests can enjoy affordable gourmet dishes at Restaurant Eik, which has been awarded the Bib Gourmand honor by the Michelin Guide. Restaurant Fjord serves sea food. Savoy Bar is the perfect venue for a drink in the evening.Laundry services and currency exchange are provided for guests’ convenience. Tea and coffee are available anytime on the 2nd floor.Oslo’s main street, Karl Johans gate, is a 3-minute walk from the hotel. The Royal Palace is situated 650 metres away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Savoy
Clarion Collection Oslo
Clarion Oslo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing