We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (673)
Filter reviews
673 results
Traveller rating
230
277
117
33
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
277
117
33
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational gallerylight dinnerbreakfast and evening mealunderfloor heating in the bathroomnice hotelsuperior roomideal locationbuffet styletop floornice breakfastthe main streetcold cutsexpensive osloquiet roomroyal castlekarl johans gatewalking distance
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
249 - 254 of 673 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

The location is excellent just a few steps from the trainstation Nationaltheater where you can catch the express train to the airport.
The hotel itself is ok the rooms are very basic.
Very friendly staff

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gudrunjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear Gudrun Jenny,

Thank you for your comment!

Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy has 93 rooms, many in different shapes and sizes. We highly recommend that you upgrade your room to our refurbished superior double rooms next time. Let us know and we will make you a nice offer!

Regards,
The front desk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Since I relied heavily on tripadviser reviews for selecting hotels during my recent trip, it's only fair that I return the favor because the reviews were spot on. This hotel was a great surprise because we got much more than we expected. Our room was clean and had everything we needed. The location was outstanding and a 2 minute walk to the National Museum or tram stop and a 5 minute walk to Karl Johans Gate. The service was outstanding, breakfast was great, and to our surprise, there was also a free dinner. We were not looking forward to paying for meals in Oslo, so we checked out the free dinner and it was great! I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scvfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savoy H, Front Office Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Savoy, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2012

Dear guest,

We are pleased to hear that your expectations of Hotel Savoy were exceeded!

All Clarion Collection Hotels within the Nordic Choice chain offers a complimentary evening meal, as our wish is to make the guest feel comfortable and at home.

Oslo is an expensive city, especially for foreign tourists and we are happy that we could help you keep your travel budget.

Welcome back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

The overall rating for this hotel is almost a four. There are, however, a couple of things that bring the rating down: (a) some rooms are unbearably noisy due to the tram that runs close to the hotel. I asked for a quite room and was given a nice large facing the street. When talking to the front desk about this I was advised to get earplugs from the reception; (b) due to some mistake with the laundry there were no large towels in the room and the front desk did not mention this when I checked in; (c) the breakfast was included which was good. Less good was that the breakfast was not very nice. Some items were okay, but some were laid out in a way that made them not look very appetizing.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GothenburgProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on our return from a cruise in the early morning (lot before the check in time). The front desk was kind enough to accommodate us and give us the room.
The light evening dinner was excellent included salads, soup, cold cuts and variety of breads.
Since our flight was early the next day and the restaurant serving the complimentary breakfast was not open , the front desk had arranged with the kitchen to pack us sandwiches to take with us.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Oslo.

Room Tip: Best value for money in an expensive city.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RNPai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed here in April 2012. I have to say that this was one of the best European hotels I have stayed in, for value , friendly service and cleanliness. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was fantastic . The staff always greeted you with a smile, offering assistance where necessary. Great range of fresh food available , beautiful breads range of cereals juices , fruit yoghurt, continental meats etc , eggs bacon - anything you want. The evening buffet on the top floor was also a great way to save money - plenty of fresh produce both hot and cold and was a great alternative to eating out which is so expensive in Oslo. Reception staff went out of their way to advise on sightseeing and transport options. Rooms and public areas were spotless and the bathroom was huge, newly renovated and had a beautiful heated floor. The position was good, away from the bustle of downtown (station area) of Oslo . Just a short tram ride (no 18 or 11, get of at Tulinlokka or short walk of one block from National theatre station). Very impressed.

Room Tip: Our room faced the national art museum and tram route. IT was quiet and I think these ones were newly renovated
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cats63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews