We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearer to station than a taxi ride”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 February 2015

Hotel provided one of best buffet breakfasts I've had, and a simple evening buffet for free on the 7th floor. Which is worth a try if you need a light meal.

Location: Being new to Oslo we made the mistake of getting an exorbitantly priced taxi from Oslo Sentral station when it is a 10 minute walk. Worth walking if you have portable luggage. Also walking distance (half-hour) to central Oslo, i.e. where you can see the Scream by Munch in National Gallery

Rooms were clean and well kept. Not so much space for hanging clothes though or to put suitcases, But had a good sleep.

Friendly staff and we were happy with our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTGULL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2015

Dear GTGULL,

I am so excited to hear your experience at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret was wonderful. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us.
Please feel free to contact me directly if you should have any inquiries prior to your next arrival. We hope to see you again. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

360 - 364 of 1,597 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2015

I stayed for 2 nights, closed to central station, within 10 min. walk with luggages. Very helphul front desk staffs. Breakfast buffet has different kinds of selection.

Light evening dinner is better than nothing. Need to charge drinks.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RolandFung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Dear RolandFung,

Thank you for making Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret your home during your visit to Oslo and thank you so much for your kind regards. I am excited to hear that your most recent experience with us was great. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not so distant future.


All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2015

Some rooms are quite small, some are larger, but even the smallest is still laid out to make the most of the space, with clever space saving/making devices. All are beautifully decorated and extremely comfortable and clean. A couple of minor things - a light bulb that needed changing and the staff couldn't do it, so they quickly moved us to a (bigger) room (can't complain!), and in another room, the fold down desk hinges didn't work so when we folded up the desk to make more room space, it fell down violently and so we had to wedge a chair in front of it. We didn't report it because we didn't want to move rooms again, but really, they should check these things as a matter of course. These maintenance issues would be our only criticism - in every other way the hotel was perfect. Although it's a city centre location, so not great views, the rooms were very quiet and we had good quality sleep.

The hotel decor is good quality and has character. Free tea & coffee in reception. Check in & check out very efficient with friendly staff. 5 mins walk from Oslo central station & Tourist Info, and central for walking or tram/bus around the city.

Breakfast is absolutely excellent - every possible type of hot & cold buffet food, good quality, constantly replenished & tables cleared efficiently. The free evening meal offered is only soup, and we never had it so we can't comment on whether it's good/enough. The separate the Grilleriet restaurant is a lovely environment, also great for dinner. We'd recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: You could ask for a larger room, but even the smallest is still fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Emma_Andy100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Dear Emma_Andy100,

Thank you for taking the time to share this magnificent review. We are extremely happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us, and that you enjoyed all your interactions with our staff. Thank you for pinpointing a few details for improvement. I am very sorry to hear about the fold down desk in your room. This is certainly not the way it should be. I can assure you that we have already taken action towards both the light bulb and the fold down desk. On a positive note I am happy so see that you were satisfied with the rest of your stay.
I hope that you will afford us the opportunity to redeem ourselves and show you the level of a true Clarion Collection experience that you deserve. Please reach out to me directly prior to your next arrival so that we can make sure it is a flawless experience. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015

This hotel is in the heart of Oslo, and that also reflects the price. But what a room! New design interior and fancy decorations. Difficult not to feel welcome and at home. Rooms aside, the breakfast restaurant, which also function as a amazing restaurant at night, is decorated as a old libary, where the chefs are preparing meals out in the open.
We tried the restaurant at night and was not dissapointed!

Room Tip: Ask if they have some junior suites avaliable, also remember that Clarion hotels have both breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjarte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2015

Dear Bjarte B,

Thank you so much for your kind regards. I am thrilled to hear that your most recent experience with us was above and beyond. We strive for an exceptional experience for each and every one of our guests each time they choose to stay with us and I am delighted that we could make your trip memorable. Please feel free to contact me directly prior to your next arrival, in case you should have any queries. wilhelm.hartwig@choice.no

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2015

The hotel's location is very close to the Central Railway Station, easy walking distance. A funky room was our introduction, shades of purple but very tasteful. Staff were all excellent and very helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilhelm H, General Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2015

Dear Russell H,

I am so excited to hear your experience at Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret was wonderful. Thank you for taking the time to share it with us. It’s very satisfying for all of us to read that you found our staff to be excellent and helpful. We hope to see you again soon.

All the best
Wilhelm Hartwig
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oslo hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Christiania Teater
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Rosenkrantz Oslo
Sentrum
Comfort Hotel Grand Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Terminus
Thon Hotel Terminus
#10 of 102 in Oslo
871 reviews
Grand Hotel
#9 of 102 in Oslo
366 reviews
Thon Hotel Opera
#7 of 102 in Oslo
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret

Address: Storgata 21-23, Oslo 184, Norway
Region: Norway > Eastern Norway > Oslo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Oslo
Price Range: ₹ 11,448 - ₹ 22,569 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer complimentary breakfast buffet and free WiFi included in the price. You will also see that we offer fresh fruit, coffee and tea all day long in the reception area, afternoon waffles or homemade pastries and a light evening meal served in our 7th floor lounge, this also has a nice adjoining room-top terrace. If you want to work-out you are free to use our well-equipped gym. The hotel is situated within walking distance from the Airport Express train, the central station, shops and restaurants.Our entrance is inside the Folketeateret passage were you will also find several restaurants and a theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Folketeateret reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing