We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, laid back approach”
Review of Skansen Hotell

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Skansen Hotell
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at the apartments run by the hotel rather than the hotel itself. We had a first floor apartment which was great as we could see the Arctic cathedral out of the bedroom window, albeit between two houses! When we arrived, the original apartment we were given smelt of fish so we asked to move and they were very apologetic and helpful. The new one was fine: immaculately clean, big comfy sofa, lots of channels on the TV, very warm and nice underfloor heating in the shower room, airy and quiet. In terms of equipment it was bizarre; wine glasses but no kettle or sharp knife (we had to tear the really nice Norwegian bread we bought!!) and only one saucepan. But we felt that if we had really cared enough to ask they would have given us more stuff. they were just a little laid back; its not a Centerparcs inventory situation !! The apartment was just up the road from the nicest bit of the town centre so the location was good. There is a Thai restaurant opposite so we ate there on the first night. Tromso is very epensive and this wasn'tt too bad; about thirty quid for 2 courses. We also, I am ashamed to say, ate at Burger King one lunchtime tand that was 20 quid for the two of us. So having the apartment and self catering helped a lot.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Skansen Hotell
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 41 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights after rejecting a studio apartment in another block run by this hotel. The studio was simply awful - very poky and small, and nowhere to put away your clothes! Also, it was up the street where the footpath (such as it was) was terribly icy and dangerous.

Having paid on arrival, it was a little bit awkward that I did not want to stay in the apartment. But the young man on reception gave me the last room available in the hotel itself. It was quite a large corner room overlooking the street - so no nice views. Room itself was nothing special, but comfortable enough with double bed, 2 chairs, 2 stools and a desk. Bathroom was quite large, although disconcerting because the blind was broken, which meant you had to shower and otherwise use the bathroom in full view of anyone in the building across the road. Ended up having to shower in the dark to preserve my modesty!

Breakfast was plentiful if a bit dull. 2 kinds of cereal, boiled eggs, bread, a few cold cuts and jams, as well as orange juice, tea and coffee.

The location is about 5 minutes walk from the centre of town (and from the airport bus stop) and up a bit of a hill. Probably not an issue most of the time, but in the icy conditions I was nervous of slipping. The free wifi was great and the decor was quite pleasant. And I really appreciated being able to control the heating in the room.

My main gripe about the hotel is the total lack of cleaning. I stayed there 4 nights. When I mentioned my room had not been serviced on Day 2, the receptionist brought up clean towels. But other than towels, no cleaning or servicing was done at all during the four days!

Room Tip: As other reviewers have said, ask for a room with a view. But if the view is not important to you...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovethattravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We stayed at the Skansen in July 2011, and had an excellent stay. We had requested a view of the Arctic Cathedral -- only available from the upper floors -- and were well rewarded with an exceptional view across the fjord to the cathedral and the mountains above. The only challenge: around 3am the sun swung around the city and began blaring in through the very, very thin drapery over the window...the second night we actually rigged something with our blanket to better cover the window so we could sleep for a few hours.

That said, the Skansen was an excellent value, and Tromso is compact enough (and has a good enough transit system) that I was very glad we stayed there rather than at a more expensive hotel a bit closer to the "center" of the action. Said "center" was at most a 10 minute walk away. Very clean, very quiet...other than the gulls that are the plague of any seaside town. We actually had a gull nest not far from our window, and other than the noise got some excellent photographs of a mother feeding her young. Don't expect luxury, but very adequate comfort, good prices, and a great location.

Room Tip: It was worth it to us to request a view. The staff seemed a bit amused that we had requested by ema...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davenpeggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stayed for four nights. On arrival, we were greeted with a very indifferent young girl. We had to pay our full tariff before we were shown our room (which I think is very odd). The room was small, but comfortable. The worst part were the pillows - I think they were 20 years old! Really lumpy and had that musty smell. We went downstairs and asked for a firmer pillow, but were given another 2 lumpy ones! Slept badly the whole time, which was pretty annoying as we had jetlag. I understand Norway is expensive, but good sleep should not be an 'optional extra' in a hotel. Shower seals were bad, so the bath mat was saturated every morning. At least they replaced towels, etc. daily. Wouldn't stay there again, would pay the extra for a better hotel. Breakfast was very good. The other staff were nice, but still very distant, which i found strange if you work in the hospitality industry.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finedinermelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early February and chose it based on being cheap enough to afford without going too downmarket.

The location is very good for the town centre, being a walk of less than 5 minutes to the main shopping street and a further 5 minutes takes you to the waterfront and several restaurants. The room itself is small but functional. The bathroom was excellent and had gently heated floor tiles and a spacious powerful shower but no bath. The bed was not so good, the mattress was too soft and the bedding was 2 small single duvets rather than a double. Pillows were totally inadequate. There was a wall mounted flat TV but it had only 4 channels - all Norwegian. I would have expected an English speaking news channel as a minimum.

Housekeeping arrived at seemingly random times and often we were in the room at the time. On these occasions they gave us some towels and didn't return when we were out. On days when we were out when they arrived beds were not made up and bed linen was not changed at all during a 7 night stay. Breakfast was provided in a small room with 5 tables seating 20 maximum and was typically Scandanavian. There was bread, cooked meats, tinned fish, cold boiled eggs, jams, pickles, pate, cheese (very bland) and muesli. There was a coffee machine and orange juice dispenser. On 3 out of 7 mornings the orange juice ran out and was left for almost 30 minutes before being replaced. If you like the option of a toaster, hot food items or breakfast pastries then look elsewhere.

The hotel has a decent size seating area beside reception with a pay per cup coffee machine and a vending machine selling crisps and chocolate. There is free wi-fi for all guests, just ask reception for the password.

We paid the equivalent of 600 GBP for 7 nights bed and breakfast and given the location and expensive nature of Tromso it was pretty good value for 2 people.

I am saying I would not recommend this hotel but neither would I advise you not to stay. It was OK. Nothing more, nothing less.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richy280983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tromso hotels
0.7 km away
Comfort Hotel Xpress Tromso
0.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel With
0.6 km away
Enter Backpack Hotel
Enter Backpack Hotel
#17 of 18 in Tromso
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Scandic Ishavshotel
Scandic Ishavshotel
#3 of 18 in Tromso
296 reviews
0.8 km away
Enter Viking Hotel
Enter Viking Hotel
#12 of 18 in Tromso
463 reviews
0.5 km away
Enter Amalie Hotel
Enter Amalie Hotel
#13 of 18 in Tromso
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Skansen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Skansen Hotell

Address: Storgata 105, Tromso 9008, Norway
Region: Norway > Northern Norway > Troms > Tromso
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Tromso
Price Range: ₹ 6,761 - ₹ 7,602 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Skansen Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Skansen Hotell Tromso is located very centrally in the city centre of Tromso. From the hotel you will have everything within a few minutes walking distance. It is a 10 minute walk to the Express Boat/Hurtigruten quay and Tromso Airport is a 15-minute journey by taxi. We also have guest car parking facilities available for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Skansen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing