We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (723)
Filter reviews
723 results
Traveller rating
244
280
139
39
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
244
280
139
39
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caviar northern lights catch the bus outdoor activities quiet room free coffee tea breakfast spread rooms are nice great breakfast buffet reception area city hotel the main street aurora chasing midnight sun perfect location your luggage comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 723 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel was undergoing renovation during our visit which didn’t effect our visit but it does need renovating. Our room was on the main road which was noisy 24 hours a day from the traffic but also seagulls which are a problem in the city. Our room was very basic, but clean. For a city that has 24 hour sun for 2 months of the year it lacked any form of blackout blinds. Breakfast was reasonable, typically Nordic with a good choice to start your day off. Any staff that we interacted with were friendly.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank VickyPlumGsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResepsjonGrand, Resepsjonist at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for your feedback, it means a lot to us!
We are happy that some aspects of your stay were good.
But we are sorry that not everything lived up to your expectations.
Unfortunately there is not a whole lot we can do about the seagulls.

Best Wishes,
Elizabeth
Scandic Grand Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

Located right in the city center and just a few minutes walk from the tourist information building. Breakfast was perfectly good buffet including smoked salmon, slices of meat and cheese, yogurts, breads, and cereals. Free coffee and tea was complimentary in the lobby as well as some Norwegian candies.

The hotel front desk was very accommodating in letting us fit our teenager in the same room (instead of a separate room), despite Expedia saying the room could hold only 2 people. That gesture from the front desk saved us significant cost.

Tip: if you're a group of 2-3 people coming to the hotel from the airport, it's much cheaper to take a taxi than the airport express bus. A group of 4 might also work if they have little in the way of luggage.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank 000wanderer000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResepsjonGrand, Receptionist at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Good Evening,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and of course we will do everything we can to help out,
such as bring you an extra bed so you wouldn't need two rooms :-)

Thank you so much for your kind feedback, we truly appreciate it!
Hope to see you again in the not too far future.

Best Wishes,
Elizabeth
Scandic Grand Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

We stayed here for only one night and the room was really comfortable and the Hotel is located in the center of Oslo near everything you want to see there.

The staff is nice and like in all Scandic you have free coffee and a shop in stead of a bar in your room.

The hotel has an elevator and is very quieter at night (when there is night). the room also has some curtains and the sun can not enter the room and in summer time that is very important.

The mostly bad thing about the hotel is the breakfast that was really
insufficient and with not a lot of things to eat. For example it only had 1 kind of bread.
They should really improve that!

On a all was a good experience, but maybe next time I will chose a hotel with a better breakfast.

Room Tip: Chose the rooms on the side of the street, the others do not have a very good view.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Beatriz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResepsjonGrand, Receptionist at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2018

Good Evening,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we really appreciate it.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us,
and we hope you had a wonderful vacation!
We are sorry to hear that the breakfast wasn't as you wished for,
we will of course look into this.

Best Wishes,
Elizabeth
Scandic Grand Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018

This was the weakest hotel of my week and a half vacation in which I passed by 5 hotels. However, I did not expect much from this hotel, since my girlfriend and I were just going to spend part of a “night” there (or day, in this case, since in Tromsø these days it’s always daytime!), and that is why we chose the cheapest hotel we could find in the entire city.

The hotel is incredibly close to the marine, but that is just part of being in a city so small. The personnel was courteous and the person at the reception that received us was quite nice, though he seemed to have some trouble recommending restaurants in the neighbourhood.

The room was comfortable and allowed me to have a good night of sleep.

The breakfast was really weak and with an incredibly small variety. Thankfully I had a short stay there (only with day) and it was summertime, because the winter, and specially in such a location, requires a much richer and fulfilling breakfast.

Summarizing, it was still a positive stay because it was the cheapest hotel in the city that I could found, but if I go there again I will probably pay a bit more and stay in a better hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Pedro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResepsjonGrand, Resepsjonist at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it.
We are very sorry to hear that your experience with us wasnt as expected or what we would have wanted for you as our guest.
Even still, we do hope you enjoyed your stay in the city of Tromsø and that the rest of your vacation also was wonderful!

Best Wishes,
Elizabeth
Scandic Grand Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2018

This hotel was disappointing to me. First of all, not only is there no parking, we had trouble finding a place to even unload our car. And the staff was not helpful in recommending a place to park; you'd think they'd get that question often enough to know how to respond. Otherwise, everything was fine but, for the cost, I expected better than just fine. The room was a bit on the small side but clean and otherwise OK. The location was OK, but Tromso's small enough the pretty much all the hotels are centrally located. The one really good point was the free breakfast, which was exceptional and worth a star on its own.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GregW2751
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResepsjonGrand, Resepsjonist at Scandic Grand Tromso, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2018

Good Morning,

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it!
We are so sorry to hear that the hotel didn't live up to your expectations - its correct that you should have gotten better help in regards of parking - we truly apologize for this and we will address this with all of our receptionists.

Best Wishes,
Elizabeth
Scandic Grand Tromsø

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews