We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (796)
Filter reviews
796 results
Traveller rating
320
314
99
43
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
320
314
99
43
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern hotelsky bartop floorgreat viewtour groupwar museumopen the windowpublic parkingthe air conditioningimpressive buildingfloor roombreakfast was excellentmidnight suncomfortable bedtrain tracksfood for breakfastbest hotel in town
Filter
Updating list...
88 - 93 of 796 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel is situated in the centre of the town and as its 16 storeys high you cannot miss it. Nice and light reception area and clean. The reception leads to the restaurant which is cramped and not easy to manoeuvre around. Tables block your way and some large circular ones make it difficult on occasions. There is a note saying if the restaurant is full you can move elsewhere but really,you should be able to eat in the food area.
The food itself was the usual mix of hot and cold buffet for the evening meals which were adequate with a good choice. Likewise the breakfasts ,also hot and cold were good
However you need to be checking the drinks prices in the restaurant. We were presented with the drinks menu and asked for the beer at 81kr a bottle. We were advised that they did not have that one available? but did have another at 98kr - however as this was not on the menu it was impossible to check if this was the correct price. This was coupled with a bottle of cider at 79kr on the menu but actually charged at 98kr on the bill.....when queried with staff they attempted to make up excuses regarding increased VAT rates which had not been amended on the menu - believe that if you like - and after a discussion regarding the bar list prices being misleading the correct price was agreed .....
There is a roof top bar on level 16 which has excellent views over the town and harbour. Prices are not quite as high as the building or indeed the restaurant but are still eye wateringly high . Food is also on offer here but again expensive for the quality provided.
The rooms themselves are modern - the hotel is only 5 years old and some offer excellent views of the area. They are spacious with comfortable beds and the usual wifi etc associated with a hotel chain.
The town itself does not have a great deal to offer other than the museums as it is primarily a working port for the iron ore from Sweden. However it's a good staging post for a couple of days whilst in the area .....

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terje T, General Manager at Scandic Narvik, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2017

Hi Michael,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it a lot.
We take it with us in our work to become better every day!
I am very sorry that you got disappointed on our prices.
Hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards,

Terje Theodorsen.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

Had to book this hotel last minute as we'd been travelling all day we booked from the iPhone and had no problems . A special deal on a double room. Very nice, lovely bathroom comfy bed and bedding . View overlooking main road ..but too tired to care. !Breakfast .. whoever designed the breakfast area needs to revisit . Like being back at school ! Reminded me of Butlins holiday camp! Tables pushed together, no room to move round ,the waiters trying to dodge the queue round the servers. Why 2 huge round tables taking up valuable space . ? Why would you want to traipse upstairs with food and drink to the mezzanine if it was full downstairs?? That's what they were suggesting! No privacy ,people practically sitting in your lap on the tables . Not 4 star standard. !!The breakfast food choice was excellent however and the coffee machines were clean and the coffee good . We used the snack bar in the evening up on the 16 th floor. (There was a great Viewing platform there too, to take fantastic shots of the midnight sun . ) the drinks were too expensive so we ordered some fish and chips. My partners fish was the size of a shrimp inside the batter and mine was dry and not very appetising . The prices charged for this food are just too much . !! I'm surprised that more people don't complain. My partner is Norwegian and we found it strange that he was asked to speak English by one of the staff!! We booked another night to see more of Narvik. We had to change rooms as the one on offer was only available the first day . The same chaos reigned at breakfast on the 2nd day . I would think twice about going to a Scandic hotel again . It was overpriced.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank spanishfly58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terje T, General Manager at Scandic Narvik, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hi,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate it a lot.
We take it with us in our work to become better every day!
We do have rooms next to the breakfast room where you can enjoy our breakfast in peace and quiet.
I am very sorry that you got disappointed.
Hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards,

Terje Theodorsen.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Stayed one night with husband and teenaged son, two rooms. E-mailed the hotel ahead to ask for rooms close to one another and they answered promtly that they would arrange it, and they sure did. The receptionist was a sweet and helpful young lady. We had two lovely rooms on the ninth floor with beautiful views overlooking the mountains. We headed for the skybar for drinks before having dinner at the restaurant. The same wine available on the glass at the skybar turned up not to be able at the restaurant, wich seems quite ridiculous. Anyway, we had o lovely evening and the staff was nice but had no idea on how to serve and work in a restaurant. To summon up, a perfect stop over.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sommarcatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terje T, General Manager at Scandic Narvik, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hi,

Thank you for your very nice review, we appreciate it a lot.
It was very nice that my staff in reception could help in an efficient way!
I am sorry that our restaurant disapointed you!
We agree with you that the view from our hotel is marvelous.
Hope to see you back in Narvik again soon.

Best Regards,

Terje Theodorsen.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

The size of our room is decent enough for 2 people with 2 big luggages. We had a great view (train tracks but with great sunset). Im not a fan of the bed though, not really comfortable.

The staff are very polite and helpful. However, there is nothing much to see around the area.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuchessDiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terje T, General Manager at Scandic Narvik, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hi,

Thank you for your very nice review, we appreciate it a lot.
It was very nice that my staff could help in an efficient way!
We agree with you that the view from our hotel is great.
Thank you for staying at Scandic Narvik!
Hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards,

Terje Theodorsen.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

+View from the hotelroom is awesome
+Superior room is spacious
+Breakfast has lot of to choose from. Fish and fresh fruits
+friendly cleaners

-Bit too cramped breakfast restaurant
-WE PAID of SUPERIOUR room, reception gave us standard room and claimed twice it was superiour. Finally after half an hour and two visits upstairs they gave us more spacious superiour room . I think they had overbooked the hotel and gave us wrong room on purpose? They said first room was marked as a superiour in their system, but we had checked the difference at their www site beforehand.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank napunaattori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terje T, General Manager at Scandic Narvik, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Hi,

Thank you for your very nice review, we appreciate it a lot.
We are very sorry that our staff did not fulfilled your expectations.
Thank you for mentioned our breakfast buffet!
Hope to see you here again soon.

Best Regards,

Terje Theodorsen.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews