We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good beer, great atmosphere”

Bier & Bierli Restaurant
Ranked #123 of 4,769 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Description: A restaurant thas is, in our humble opinion, unique not only in Vienna, but in the whole of Austria. However, we also offer something extra: a permanent exhibition of beer culture which consists of 20 000 kinds of beermats and beer cans.
Reviewed 12 December 2017

We visited Bier & Bierli as a group of 6 on a Sunday evening having just arrived in Vienna. We wanted somewhere that served traditional food in a relaxed atmosphere and this was spot on. It's something of a cross between pub and restaurant. The beer is good although the selection on tap is somewhat limited. The food is good too - nothing special but good portions of hearty local-style dishes such as schnitzel and Gröstl.

We had a large table in an annex just off the main restaurant to ourselves which was great. We stayed for a couple of hours after eating, ordered more beer and played a few games of cards.

All in all, a very good introduction to Vienna and I'd definitely go back (but I'd be even more tempted if the beer selection was more varied)!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jamesallardice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

139 - 143 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017 via mobile

Worst place ever. The waiters were terrible. We came in and nobody helpt us. We looked for a table and asked if t was okay if we sat there. It took 15 minutes before we got the menu. We hoped for special beers, but unfortunately they don’t have many choice. I asked for a dunkel weisse beer, but the waiter sad angy that he didn’t have it and went mad when I asked for another beer. He threw the menu on the table and said we should check the menu instead of asking him. When we walked out whitout ordening any drinks, another waiter just said “oh well sorry, goodbye!”. Didnt even bother to ask what was wrong and why we left.

Thank Freek v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikulas F, Manager at Bier & Bierli Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Dear Friek v,

we were very saddened to read your review and to learn about your experience here at Bier und Bierli.

We would like to assure you that these, by no means, are the standards we set for ourselves. I am very sorry you have felt unwelcome. Please rest assured that the situation will be looked into and we will thoroughly investigate the actions of our staff.

We always strive to deliver the best service and we regret we have failed to do so this time.

Should you decide to visit us again, we will happily welcome you and try to deliver our best.

Kind regards,

Restaurant management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2017

This interesting decorated bar cum restaurant is well located and was quite busy at 6pm when we entered for an early dinner before attending a concert. We both had Grostl (bacon, onion and potato fry-up) which was delicious. A couple of cups of Gluhwein to warm us up and a decent bottle of wine and two Grostl all for €45.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank michaelmari0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

Great Food! Need more workers as there were only two on staff, but they were definitely kind and polite. Very helpful as my friend and I only spoke english and not german. If i'm ever in the area again I know where to get a good reasonably priced meal!

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant
Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We just walked off the street into this place. It turned out to be a very pleasant experience. Good beer, tasty food, and very attentive waiting staff really sums it all up. The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming. Will definately return again someday.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bier & Bierli Restaurant also viewed

 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Bier & Bierli Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing