We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We wouldn't come back here by choice...”
Review of Do Step Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Do Step Inn
Ranked #18 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Reviewed 14 August 2011

My other half and I decided to go inter-railing this summer and Vienna was our first stop. It was very easy to get from the airport to Westbahnhof, but the hostel was somewhat out of the way and it took us a while to find it. It's not a particularly attractive building, with the main part painted blue or yellow, and the area surrounding it is not is a outstandingly beautiful area either, with roads and buildings being constructed and generally looking a bit like a ghost town. The woman at the desk greeted us and offered us a glass of water or wine and checked us in no problem. The staff weren't particularly friendly, but they were happy to give us maps and show us how to get to places. As we had got quite a good price for the hostel we weren't expecting much...!

In my experience, some hostels I have stayed in haven't really felt like a hostel at all - however this one definitely did. There was a long winding corridor with around eleven private rooms, I would feel bad for whoever gets the rooms closest to the door as it's very noisy with everyone coming and going all the time with the heavy fire door slamming, you get two key cards to enter your room.

Our room (11) was absolutely tiny. In it consisted of a double bed frame with two thin, single mattresses with a scratchy waterproof sheet over it, with two double duvets and two equally scratchy and old single duvet covers sitting on top of the bed. The pillows were half the size of the pillow cases and there were two rather large frosted windows by the bed which were difficult to open. We also had a wardrobe, a side-table with a fan, and a tiny footstool. The walls were painted a hideous nectarine orange colour and it was very much like a hotbox. The good thing was that we had a small television attached to the wall in front of the bed, however if you are lying down, you couldn't actually see the tv! We were also provided with a towel each which was quite useful.

Another good thing was the cleanliness of the hostel. As we shared a bathroom with other guests, we found it to be very clean. There were two toilets and two showers, plus a urinal closet, for all eleven rooms. Whilst this doesn't sound like much, I never found myself waiting for the shower or toilet at any time, even first thing in the morning when I thought there may be a queue for the shower.

The walls of the hostel are also very thin. You can hear conversations going on in other rooms and music which is being played by other guests. At night its fairly quiet but you do get woken up once or twice.

The hostel itself is in an alright location for travellers wanting to save money, all you have to do is walk to Westbahnhof 5 minutes away and get the U-Bahn. However for couples, there are nicer places you can stay - particularly near Stephensplatz. Lots of very nice hotels there!

Overall, great value for money but if I had a choice we wouldn't return there. It was uncomfortable and the room felt like a dungeon!

Room Tip: Can't provide any tips, just hope that you don't get stuck with the room by the front door!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Naomi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

274 - 278 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2011

We stayed in a double room in the hostel building; which at first we were a little apprehensive about, but it was absolutely fine. The building was secure, clean and had an amazing kitchen; it looked as if everything had been bought and installed only weeks ago. Despite the hotel advertising that WiFi is only available in the reception/kitchen area of the main property, there was WiFi available in the hostel and we were fortunate enough to be able to get it in our room.
The hostel was approx 5mins walk from Wien Westbahnhof, but beware if booking a train out as the main station is several underground stops away (Wien Meldling). There is also a Billa supermarket just round the corner.
We didn't mind walking and were able to reach the palace in 20minutes walking one way down the road from the hostel and the main historical center walking 20-25 mins in the opposite direction. There was a slight incline returning from both areas but nothing too testing.
We had a nice time at Do Step Inn and would recommend it for those happy to stay a little further out of the center and take advantage of cheaper prices, local supermarket and kitchen facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2011

this hotel/hostel is right by the train station Wien Westbahnhof, our room wasnt ready so we waited in the internet room which had comfy couches and some books. there's no lift so prepare to carry your luggage up. room was lovely, brightly decorated and we were able to get internet from beside the window of our room which faced the street, though this is not meant to happen. good water pressure in bathroom and a tv in bedroom. location is at the top of a very long shopping street, at the bottom of which is the city centre and main attractions. this long street is on a slope, easy to go down, bit of an effort to get back up!

Room Tip: overlooking courtyard to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiralisis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

The main problem we have with this hostel is that the rooms were COLD. That gave us a bit of trouble to sleep, wake up, and not to get sick too. The shower was warm, though, thank goodness. The staff was friendly, but we asked for a room with 5 beds, and they put us in one with 6 beds, saying that it was a 'free upgrade', also because there was a bathroom inside the room. But for us it was no upgrade at all - we were in 4, in the first night the two other people in the room were nice, but after they left, the new two occupants were loud and did not leave the bathroom in a good conditions after use. That was another problem of having the bathroom inside the room: the walls were extremely thin. We'd rather have it outside our place of sleeping. But there were some good sides too: the kitchen was great, with tons of space for eating. One locker was broken when we arrived, but then we told the recepcionist about it, and it got fixed the next day =] The hostel is not in the centre of Wien, but it is only a few minutes walk from the U-Bahn, so it was easy to get around. Since aparently there are two buildings, one hostel and one hotel, it's worth saying that we stayed in the hostel area inside the hotel building. Wien is a very expensive city, so the best feature about this place was actually the price - any other option was just too much to afford.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CapSpectre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

So this place has 2 locations. One is a hostel and one is a hotel. The lobby, internet (only 2 computers that are super slow) are located in the hotel area. The hostel is 3 blocks away. But bunk beds are comfy (Sheets are provided). Everything is clean and looks new. The kitchen is AMAZING, so make use of it! Public transportation is a couple blocks away and I feel like we were a little bit aways from the true Vienna (we didn't really get out much because it was raining a lot).

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank super2riya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
AZIMUT Hotel Vienna
#151 of 358 in Vienna
66 reviews
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
ibis budget Wien Messe
ibis budget Wien Messe
#159 of 358 in Vienna
1,693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#51 of 358 in Vienna
670 reviews
Hostel Ruthensteiner
#1 of 218 in Vienna
961 reviews
A&O Wien Hauptbahnhof
#43 of 218 in Vienna
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Do Step Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Do Step Inn

Address: Felberstrasse 20, Vienna 1150, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 218 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Price Range: ₹ 910 - ₹ 9,634 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Do Step Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Do Step Inn is situated right in the heart of Vienna. With our location behind the Westbahnhof train station you have perfect connections to reach us by underground, tram, airport bus or regional trains. Our house is both Hotel and Hostel which means we offer the comfort of cosy rooms with private bathroom but also the opportunity to go low budget and stay in one of the private Hostel rooms or dorms. Our guests especially love our big common areas like the spacious guest kitchen, our free billiard room, the garden and the little house bar as well as the free Wifi provided in the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Do Step Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Do Step Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing