We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,617)
Filter reviews
1,617 results
Traveller rating
1,288
285
35
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,288
285
35
6
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews museum quarter small luxury hotel private spa nespresso machine original art eggs cooked to order studio room breakfast room small balcony sauna and steam room busy shopping street perfect location lovely hotel main shopping within walking distance minute walk walked everywhere
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 1,617 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We visited Das Tyrol in March 2018. I found it clean, well run, with helpful and friendly staff (especially Natalie who took great pains ov four train schedule). This was my second visit to Vienna and this hotel is perfectly located; close to the sights but far enough away to be quiet but safe. The rooms are not large but they are perfectly functional. The breakfast was very good and the breakfast staff was attentive. I only have good things to say about Das Tyrol.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank needasinecure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Ramsbacher, Inhaber at Hotel Das Tyrol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear needasinecure,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us.
We are happy to hear that you found the location good to explore the city and felt safe during your time in Vienna.
Thank you for your positive comments on our staff, rooms and breakfast.

We would be happy to see you again after the reopening in September.

All the best from Vienna

Helena Ramsbacher & her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We have just returned from another trip to Vienna and our third stay at Das Tyrol.
We received such a warm and sincere welcome from all the staff. They are the most courteous, helpful and lovely group of people...whether it's Nadine,Bettina or Lagos at the front desk,or Antonella in the breakfast room or any of the cleaning staff, each continue to impress with their professionalism and friendly manner.
The hotel will be going through renovations soon, but for us it has always been a perfect accommodation as is.Situated on a pleasant street with many shops and restaurants, it is also close to so many of the highlights of Vienna.
The rooms are well appointed, spotless and very quiet. The decor with its interesting artwork and whimsical objects always makes us smile.
The breakfast is very tasty and plentiful with made to order eggs and a variety of beverages, breads, pastries, fruit, cheeses and so on.
There is a spa but we did not use it.
We are always sad to leave.
But we are are looking forward with much anticipation to see the "new Das Tyrol" upon our return to Vienna, hopefully some time next year.
Thank you again to everyone.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Roma Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Ramsbacher, Inhaber at Hotel Das Tyrol, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Roma Z,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a great review.
It was a pleasure seeing you again and we are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us in March.

We look forward to showing you the new Hotel Das Tyrol in autumn!

All the best from Vienna,

Helena Ramsbacher & her team



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We stayed 4 nights, starting on a Sunday (which attracted a discount when booking on the hotel website), in a 'superior double' room. There are clearly larger room options but this was a comfortable size for the time we spent in it, well appointed and spotlessly clean. The rooms are perhaps not ultra-contemporary from a design angle (and I notice on the website there is a relaunch later this year), and the bathroom was modestly sized (over-bath shower).
Reception staff were really helpful and pleasant, similarly the breakfast crew. Super range of foods at breakfast, including freshly made omelettes, scrambled egg etc.
Quirky artwork adorns the public areas, but not the bedroom.
There is also basement spa/sauna which we did not use.
Perhaps because we stayed on the Sunday-inclusive deal, or perhaps because I told them in advance it was our 35th anniversary, we also had the pleasant surprise of a (good) complementary bottle of Austrian red wine in the room - a nice touch.
The location is advantageous, at the bottom (nicer) end of Mariahilferstrasse, within sight of the Museums quarter, 2 minutes walk from the U-bahn, and just as close to the superb historic Cafe Sperl, whilst only 10 minutes walk from the core of the city centre. It was quiet (our room did not face the street), and being just outside the Ring it probably saves a little on the price.
Recommended unhesitatingly.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank martindp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Ramsbacher, Inhaber at Hotel Das Tyrol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear martindp,

Thank you so much for your wonderful and honest review. The praise for our breakfast with regional products and eggs a la minute is very much appreciated.
We are also happy to hear that you found our location good to navigate from. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope we have made your anniversary as special as possible.

We would be happy to welcome you again in autumn with the new Das Tyrol.

All the best from Vienna

Helena Ramsbacher & her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

If you are visiting Vienna to see galleries and museums and with lots of nearby restaurants then this small hotel is ideally situated. Our room (16) was spacious, it had an extremely comfortable bed, fridge / mini-bar, 3 chairs, 2 stools, a desk, a large wardrobe and safe. The room was on the first floor and had two very large windows fitted with roller blinds and curtains ensuring a dark room for night time.

Both the Museum Quarter with the Leopold Collection and the Kunst Historisches Museum are less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel and the Opera House is 13 minutes away. Trams for the Belvedere leave from the stop near the museum. There are nice shops in Mariahilfer Strasse, a small supermarket 100m away and there are many restaurants within a 5 minute walk.

All of the staff at the Das Tyrol are extremely polite and helpful.

Room Tip: Room 16 is spacious and very quiet at the end of a short corridor away from the lift.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dennis472016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Ramsbacher, Inhaber at Hotel Das Tyrol, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear dennis472016,

Thank you for taking the time so write such a great review. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us in room 16.
It is one of our Corner Rooms and it is a little more spacious than our Superior Double Rooms.
Thank you also for your comment on our location.

We would be happy to welcome you again in autumn with the new Das Tyrol.

All the best from Vienna

Helena Ramsbacher & her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is just what is needed for a great trip to see the sights of Vienna. It is comfortable, welcoming and well run.
Norbert on reception was obliging and efficient and the staff at breakfast couldn’t have been more professional, serving such tasty food.
The hotel is perfectly located for most of the principal sights.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ValePsE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena_Ramsbacher, Inhaber at Hotel Das Tyrol, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear ValePsE,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It is a pleasure reading, that have found everything to your satisfaction. Thank you for your positive comment about Norbert and the breakfast-team, such praise is very much appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again at our hotel.

All the best from Vienna

Helena Ramsbacher & her team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews