We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very clean, ticks all the boxes of a three star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Das Capri

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Das Capri
Ranked #17 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very clean, ticks all the boxes of a three star hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

We spent three nights at the Hotel Capri in Vienna and were very happy about the experience:

The rooms and hotel are spotlessly clean. We had room number 204 which has a brand new bathroom, was super clean and had heated floor tiles. There is also a brand new power shower with a remarkably strong hot water supply. If anyone told me I was the first to use this bathroom, I would believe them.

The room is quite big and has a relatively big built-in wardrobe, a full length mirror, a table with two chairs and a TV. The furniture is basic but new and clean. The room overlooks a main road, but the windows isolate the sound out very well, so we did not hear any traffic.

The staff was friendly and attentive - they called two restaurants for us when we wanted to move a reservation to later on in the day and also provided us with plenty of ice when my partner injured his foot while running the Vienna Marathon.

For breakfast there were: different choices of coffee, hot chocolate and tea, six types of juices, six to eight different kinds of bread, toast and rice-cakes, Austrian liver pâté as well as herb-cheese, ham and a cheese board with mustard and walnuts. The buffet had also croissants, butter, a selection of jams, nougat-spread, four kinds of honey, peaches in sirup,
mixed fruit salad, two kinds of yoghurt and several types of muesli.

All in all it is a good three star hotel that offers good value for money. I would recommend it for a short city break, maybe not for a honeymoon because for a honeymoon I'd choose a four or fife star hotel. But here you definitely get what you have paid for. Hotel Capri is a three star hotel, and lives up to that well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CarmineRedDarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,025
    486
    60
    12
    4
See reviews for
307
728
100
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kyiv
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The hotel website information is true and the room I stayed in was exactly like on the photos.
The hotel location is very convenient, my room was in the 7th floor with a great view though on the street, BTW, the street noise did not bother me. The room was spacious and very clean which are the key points for me. You will have a small refrigerator and a cattle in a single room. The best way from the airport is by S7 Train (3 minutes walk from Praterstrasse Station along the Praterstasse). You will not need to change transportation on your way and it is even cheaper comparing to CAT. Next time I will stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Valya17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

we spent 4 nights at the Capri and we had the pleasure to enjoy an upgrade room. Very spacious at a large bathroom. We were well welcome from the beginning and got sufficient information to get us going

Good points

- Good quality for price
- perfectly located
- Clean hotel

Weak points

- it was a very routine breakfast....
- We've got directed to a town bus tour that was, not very good. Try other offer
- There's traffic on this avenue so be aware...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iogima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Whenever I travel I always look for reasonably priced, clean and comfortable lodging in a good location. I am the kind of person who likes sightseeing, so naturally I look for comfortable places where I can relax after a long day out and about.

Easy to get there: Once you exit the Vienna airport arrivals gate, follow the signs to the urban railway (Go past the heavily advertised and overpriced CAT train). Buy your ticket from the machine (€3.60), hop on the next train on rail line S7 heading towards Wien Mitte and after 24 minutes stop at Praterstern. Capri Hotel is conveniently located in front of the Nestroyplatz metro, this is just one metro stop away from the Praterstern train station.
Fantastic location: While on the map the hotel looks like it’s located outside the centre of Vienna, it only takes 20 minutes to leisurely walk to St. Stephen's Cathedral. The Nestroyplatz metro station leading to the main metro line U1 is literally just in front of the hotel, so it will take you less than 10 minutes to get to the centre by public transport. Public transport in Vienna is very efficient and cheep. For example, with a weekly travel pass costing €14, you get limitless travel in the city centre on all public transport (Bus, Tram and Metro) for a week (Monday – Sunday). The area of the hotel also houses a number of cafeterias, restaurants, banks and convenience stores, so it is a very convenient location. Do not miss dinner at the Italian restaurant ‘Osteria Stradina’ next to the hotel and sample their ice cream, the food there is divine! If you don’t mind being surrounded by locals smoking away while eating traditional local food and generous portions of Schnitzel, try out ‘3/4 Takt’, but don’t tell me I didn’t warn you about the smoke :). The Prater is also at walking distance, have a stroll and go on the famous Riesenrad ferries wheel.

Comfortable rooms and friendly staff: From the outside the hotel does not look very promising however when you walk in you realise the place has been recently renovated to modern standards. At reception the staff where very friendly, spoke perfect English and gave us various suggestions for day trips and tours. My room was a standard twin room located on the 5th floor and consisted of; a small entrance with a mirror and space to store luggage, a reasonably large room with two comfortable single beds, a desk with flat screen TV and coffee/tea making facilities, wardrobe with safe (contents insured up to 800 Euro) and a window (that can be opened) overlooking the church in front of the hotel. The bathroom has a bathtub with curtain, a sink, toilet and hair dryer. Soap and shampoo was provided in the form of soap dispensers attached to the wall. The room was spotless clean, towels were changed daily and room service was very efficient. Capri hotel also offers free internet via WIFI with a good signal in the room and an option to rent an iPad2 for €15 a day. Overall the room was comfortable, very clean and a perfect retreat after a day of sight seeing!

Breakfast fit for a king: Breakfast was included in the price and was served every morning from 7am till 10am. The breakfast room was nicely set up with plenty of space to comfortably enjoy the first meal of the day. I found the selection of food to be of good quality ranging from various cereals, fresh yoghurt, fruit, brown and white bread, a selection of cheeses, cold cuts, sausages, hard boiled eggs and cakes. Drinks ranged from water, milk, juices, a selection of different teas and coffee made with the coffee machine available. The only minor niggle I have about the breakfast is the limited availability of the toaster, only one toaster for the whole breakfast room and the cakes were a bit dry for my liking. However overall this was one of the best breakfast services I ever experienced in a hotel of this ranking.

Final verdict: I found Capri Hotel has managed to meet and exceed my expectations, offering great value for money, perfect location, comfortable rooms and an excellent service. Thanks Hotel Capri for making my stay in Vienna an amazing holiday experience that won’t be easy to forget!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bugtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

My wife and I spent 4 night here while in Vienna. It is right next to the Nestroy subway station: 20 min from the airport. Free internet, great breakfast: cool coffee machine, but busy on the weekend. Friendly staff. Great local restaurants within minutes of the front door.

Room Tip: Ask for away from the street for a quieter stay. 1st floor room do not have balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwardWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,390 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#21 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Das Capri? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Das Capri

Property: Das Capri
Address: Praterstrasse 44-46 | 1020 Vienna, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#19 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,062 - ₹ 16,681
Hotel Class:3 star — Das Capri 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hotel follows a clear philosophy oriented primarily toward the expectations of our guests, guaranteeing that you will love your memories of your stay in Vienna. Our philosophy here at Hotel Capri is easy to describe, but better to experience. Learn more about the merits of our popular family-run hotel in Vienna.The Hotel Capri PhilosophyDiscover the beauty of the Austrian capital and spend the night in our hotel in Vienna known and loved for its ideology of friendly service. Our family-run business scores not only with its courteous, personal treatment, but also the individualised service, overall tidy impression and relaxed, familiar atmosphere. Experience yourself why our hotel in Vienna is to well-liked by holiday and business travellers alike.The Hotel in Vienna that meets its customers' demandsWhether for a weekend trip, a business meeting or just for an entire week: with our comfortable and centrally-located hotel, you've made the right choice. The proximity to the most popular tourist attractions, along with the perfect link to Vienna's subway network makes it a popular destination for visitors coming to Vienna from all over the world.Environmental awareness is a major commitment. In 2005 and 2009, our hotel has been honored with the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism. Since this award is only valid for 4 years, we will re-submitted to the environmental enterprise certification process and look forward to once again being awarded the Austrian Environment Award for Tourism in 2013.Spend the night in a family-run hotelSimply convince yourself of the how the philosophy of true hospitality is practiced at the Capri. Our team is looking forward to receiving your non-binding rates inquiry, and we hope to see you to Vienna very soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Das Capri reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capri Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing