We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,884)
Filter reviews
2,884 results
Traveller rating
2,311
471
78
20
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,311
471
78
20
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews museum quarter tea and cake modern art unique hotel apartment building high ceilings junior suite first floor within walking distance lounge area minute walk excellent breakfast perfect stay room was large perfect hotel breakfast room quiet street
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 2,884 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2018

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Altstadt in Vienna and had a wonderful visit. The staff are above and beyond. We were upgraded to a beautiful suite that contained original artwork and furnishings. The breakfast which was included in the cost was fantastic; the best coffee I have ever had and lots of selections to chose from (although the daily menu is the best choice). The location is a short walk to the city center but far enough away from all the congestion. Everything about Hotel Altstadt was superb but the staff deserve a shout-out and five-stars.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jackson428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altstadt, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Dear jackson428,

a shout-out and five-stars for our staff is really wonderful feedback and a great motivation.
Thank you so much for that. We are glad that we could be part of your unforgettable experience in Vienna.

We are looking forward to your next stay,
there is a lot more to see :-)

Kind regards from Vienna,

Melanie Fraiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights during Oct 2018. We had the private rooftop patio room. The room was incredibly tiny! But the walkout private rooftop patio was enormous and we loved it. Comfy lounge chairs, got some sun! The breakfast is AMAZING, however. Do not leave the hotel for breakfast anywhere else! I hate to call it a buffet, because what that word can convey makes me cringe. The breakfast that Hotel Altstadt serves is hands-down fabulous!! Meat platters, cheese trays, breads/cakes/rolls, yogurts, granolas, fresh eggs to your liking (we had ours scrambled and they were served drizzled with pumpkin oil and herbed pumpkin seeds!!), prosecco and coffees and juices and I could go on and on. The choices are....multitudinous! Staff are incredibly kind and helpful. Malin & Goetz products in the bathroom (love this brand!!). Easy walking distance to so much shopping and food (museum district, too).

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Stacey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altstadt, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear Stacey K,

we can feel the enthusiasm coming from your words, which really makes us happy and proud. Thank yo so much for that.

We really hope that you will visit us soon again, our amazing breakfast in the cosy salon is always waiting for you :-)

Warm regards from Vienna,

Melanie Fraiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Stylish and well appointed rooms. Very friendly and accommodating staff. Great location near the Museum Quarter and in trendy Neubau, which has lots of restaurants and funky shops. Thoughtful and helpful map with restaurant/bar recommendations from the hotel. Fabulous breakfast and afternoon tea. Really a great place to stay and see Vienna.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Trek34140376142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altstadt, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear Trek34140376142,

thank you so much for your feedback - we are happy that we could make your stay in Vienna a special experience.
We also love the artsy area around the hotel with all its shops and restaurants :-)

We hope to welcome you soon again,
until then warm regards from Vienna,

Melanie Fraiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Very nice hotel in Vienna with large rooms and one of the best breakfast buffet I've ever seen. The location is also very good since you are very close to the main museums but in a nice and cool residential area full of nice shops and restaurants.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank AngeloMaccaferri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altstadt, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear AngeloMaccaferri,

thank you so much for your feedback - it was a pleasure to host you at the Altstadt Vienna Hotel
and we hope that you will visit us soon again.

Until then we send warm regards from Austria,

Melanie Fraiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2018

Very privileged location, original structure of the hotel itself, unique atmosphere. Breakfast is varied and staff is extremely helpful. Rooms are cozy and very well equipped. I highly recommend it. Surrounding area also very interesting.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lauracY2401WJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altstadt, Manager at Hotel Altstadt Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2018

Dear lauracY2401WJ,

thank you so much for your wonderful feedback, we are happy that we could make
your stay in Vienna a special experience.

I really hope that we will be able to welcome you soon again.

Until then kind regard from Vienna,

Melanie Fraiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews