We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Viennas very best”
Review of Der Wilhelmshof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Der Wilhelmshof
Ranked #31 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 1 June 2012

I had an amazing stay at the hotel, very friendly staff, excellent breakfast and a wonderful atmosphere. IT IS as it looks on the pictures ;) I can only recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aa007vienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,499)
There are newer reviews for Der Wilhelmshof
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 472 of 1,499 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

Once again I decided to follow Tripadvisor reviews, and like most of the times, is was a success. The price was not very high and in return, our big party (7 people in 3 rooms) got a lovely, big, clean and well decorated rooms. The stuff was very nice and welcoming, and the breakfast - included in the room's price - was very good, and made it the perfect deal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hava_tr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We've been staying at this hotel for 7 years now and our stays are usually a fortnight as we are representatives to the United Nations and we attend the annual sessions there. It is always a delight to come back to Der Wilhelmshof. The staff is warm, friendly and efficient, in all areas. The rooms are impeccable in every way, extremely comfortable and have everything we need. The warm floor in the bathroom is a delight. Breakfast is a real treat and all the food is of top quality. The location is most appropiate, with good transport connections close by and a peaceful atmosphere. To us, Vienna means Der Wilhelmshof!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors -overlooking Kleine Stadtgutgasse- have picturesque views of the sunset a...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wilhelmshof, Leiter Front Office at Der Wilhelmshof, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Dear Maureen,

thank you very much for your kind review. We are very honored that you and your daughter are our guests since seven years. Our whole team wants to thank you for your great feedback. We are already looking forward to welcome you again next year.

All the best from Vienna

your Wilhelmshof team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

I liked staying there because
- the rooms are big and there is a lot of space inside
- it is close to 2 subway stations (Nestroyplaz and Praterstern - more than just a station)
- the hotel is really clean
- there is a large tv screen in the room (never ussed it though)

I can understand a non-smoking policy, but - as a (heavy) smoker - I find it annoying that there is no smoking area inside the hotel (or at least that's what I was told).

All other services are average or above:
- you get free wireless network access
- the breakfast is OK
- air conditioning is there (never used it, though)
- you get a large bath tub (if you are into taking long baths)
- the minibar has decent prices

And one interesting fact: I checked in alone and only one out of two beds was arranged. So, the hotel has already chosen for me where to sleep (or I could re-arrange the sheets). I do not have a problem on which side of the room to sleep and I believe this cost reduction / environment protection measure was taken after single customers used both beds, but it is the first hotel I found it applied and (although it gave me a cheap feeling) I expect not to be the last.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room that is not facing the (noisy) street.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoBrasov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I was in Vienna for 1-week business trip, with activities in the Vienna International Conference Center. Location was one of the main reasons for my choice of this hotel. It turned out to be right. Nice, comfortable, clean rooms, very friendly staff. And very quiet location, although only some 5 minutes walk from a city traffic hub at Praterstern. I have only two critical comments. The hotel is labeled with 4 stars, but the towels are like in 2-star hotel, very ordinary, thin and rough. The second comment: I was there at the end of April, the hotel is in old building with thick walls, and heating was already off. Despite warm weather outside, the room and bathroom were quite cold. Otherwise, I can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EduardPetrovsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 361 in Vienna
1,676 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#12 of 361 in Vienna
605 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Der Wilhelmshof? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Der Wilhelmshof

Address: Kleine Stadtgutgasse 4, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#24 Business Hotel in Vienna
#26 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#30 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: ₹ 6,481 - ₹ 17,050 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Der Wilhelmshof 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Der Wilhelmshof - the arthotel between the city center of Vienna and the famous PraterIn the immediate vicinity of one of the main attractions of Vienna, the Ferris wheel in Vienna's Prater, our arthotel «Der Wilhelmshof» is located in a quiet side alley.The interior of the family-run 4-star hotel impresses by its warm, artistic atmosphere, which, together with the modern technical equipment and personal service, is thoroughly tailored to the needs and the well-being of our guests. We are a special hotel, since art accompanies our guests throughout the hotel – from the elegant entrance hall through the artistically staged mezzanines up to the stylish guest rooms that are individually designed. Besides the WLAN access which is available for our hotel guests, free of charge, there is also a hotel-owned garage. Please note that Der Wilhelmshof a non- smoking hotel.Our professionalism, the comfortable and cozy atmosphere and our passion for details rank among our strengths. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Der Wilhelmshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Der Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna
Wilhelmshof Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing