We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
  
Google
Ways to Experience Musikverein
from US$ 64.90
More Info
from US$ 22.42
More Info
from US$ 123.91
More Info
from US$ 22.42
More Info
Reviews (1,209)
Filter reviews
1,209 results
Traveller rating
743
269
94
48
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
743
269
94
48
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golden hall concert hall classical music front row amazing acoustics greatest hits symphony orchestra box office main hall second half guided tour standing tickets audience costumes musicians wiener stage
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 1,209 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

I embrace shameless tourism and rarely think anything is too touristy. Seeing the Wiener Mozart Orchester at Musikverein was an exception.

I paid 50 euros for a nosebleed seat to save costs. I was surrounded by people in street attire distractingly taking photos and switching seats during the performance. I also found the Mozart costumes of the orchestra distracting. If you like the costumes, great. No judging. I would have preferred it if the concertgoers and orchestra had dressed and acted like it was any other classical music concert, but in the gorgeous setting and with the excellent musicians of Vienna.

The music was still excellent and the venue gorgeous. And the prosecco at intermission was delicious and well priced.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank bethevans2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We heard a collection of Mozart music. The place is beautiful and takes you back to the 19th century elegance and cultural experience.
The concert tickets are sold all over the city, so that it is easy to get tickets with no advance booking.
It is a Vienna experience worthwhile attending. Casual dressed, mostly tourists and colorful atmosphere.
Although a bit expensive, but worthwhile

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank DanEylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2017 via mobile

I booked this just because I was in Vienna. The second best seats were €89 so it is not cheap but the room is beautiful. But I found the orchestra poor, flat at best. Also the conductor had the annoying habit of frequently leaving the stage and expecting huge applause when he came back on. It was like he wanted to have ten finales!

Drinks were surprisingly cheap. If you go consider your high ticket price as being a donation to maintain a wonderful venue. (But you can tour it through the day for a very modest fee).

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank swanstonanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2017

During the summer, the Mozart orchestra performs for tourists, playing a selection of the master;s music, wearing contemporaneous wigs and clothes, and putting on a beautiful show, with solo appearances by major guest players and singers from other orchestras in Vienna. We toured the Musikverein, awed by the statues of great composers, ordered our sparkling wine for the interval (very inexpensive!), and enjoyed a wonderful evening of light entertainment by a group of extremely capable musicians. Despite the high ticket pricing, we will be back!!!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Leiden_food_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The sound effect in the hall is excellent. However, the performance was terrible. Mozart would not like his work that was performed in this way. The tempo was too fast. It seems that musicians were rushing for going home early. The conductor acted like a comedy host to pleasing tourist audiences. My son recommended we could have had a tour in the Golden Hall and attended another concert with better performance.

Date of experience: September 2017
2  Thank Frank W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews