We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Experience in Vienna”
Review of Pension Sacher

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vienna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pension Sacher
Ranked #9 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed at Pension Sacher in mid January 2012. This is without question among the greatest experiences in Vienna, a fantastic, authentic set of rooms and apartments overlooking the Stephansdome in the very heart of the city. Run by a warm, friendly and faultlessly helpful and cheerful mother and son.

We had the large apartment, and could not believe how comfortable, spacious, and perfect it was. Simply put, we cannot wait to return to Vienna and to Pension Sacher. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DickNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2012

We were warmly welcomed by the Sacher family when we arrived and greeted every morning with the same warmth and generosity of spirit. The apartment was spacious, light, comfortable, quiet and warm. Gifts were left on our table for Christmas and new year. The apartment is in the best location. We frequently stuck our heads out the window to watch the street scene and Stephensplatz. (At new year this was nothing short of extraordinary, with the bells tolling and fireworks going off literally left, right and centre.) I am extremely grateful to the Sacher family for enabling us to have such an unforgettable 11 days in Vienna.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank bayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

I have been travelling for 40 years now and I can honestly say that this is one of the best apartments that I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.
We occupied apartment 2, with an enormous double bed. The matress was very firm and extremely comfortable (essential for a bad back after long city escapades). Also in the main room were no less than 2 desks, including a beautiful old writing desk; and two larger than average bedside units, both with lamps, there were 3 or 4 chairs as well. There was also a large wardrobe with good solid hangers and several shelves, and a table sufficient for eating at. The windows were typical Viennese - tall, floor to ceiling with good quality thick curtains, and also net curtains. The room had 2 juliet balconies which brings me to the view.... We looked out at only a slight angle directly at St Stephansdom (see photo). For anyone not familiar with this wonderful city, this is the heart of Vienna and the centre of the inner ring road where most of the historic buildings are situated. You are never more than a 15 minutes walk from anywhere within the historic inner city. There was consequently some city noise but the double glazed windows prevented it being a problem.
Going back to the apartment, a hall included another large wardrobe with plenty of hangers and shelves. Also coat hooks and a small table with wheels. The small bathroom led off from the hall. The bathroom included a very large shower, sink and toilet with plentiful, good quality loo paper provided (always important!). There was also a small kitchenette with an oven, fridge and cutlery/crockery for four people; a coffee machine and kettle. Nice touches were everywhere, such as a new dish cloth and pan scrubber in the kitchen where washing up liquid was also provided. there was constant hot water.
Everywhere was spotlessly clean and we were offered a room clean and new towels twice during our 4 night stay.
The journey to the apartment is easy from the airport - take the S7 to Landstrasse/Vien Mitte then the U3 to Stephansplatz; this lands you 100yds from Pension Sacher, which is next to Bank Austria - the journey costs 3.60 Euros each way and takes about 3/4hr.
Claudia and her sons couldn't do enough for us. They were attentative without being intrusive, and checked every morning whether there was anything we needed. On arrival Claudia's son was at the lift door ready to help us with our cases. They helped with printing out boarding passes for our return flight and the wi-fi was always working with a good strong signal available at all times. A really lovely family who knew how to make us welcome.
My Husband comes from Austrian parentage and we have visited Vienna many times; We would definitely stay here again - in fact we wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: Reserve an apartment as far in advance as you can (we booked 15 months before and got the last avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BoltonLass3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

All the reviews are correct, this place is wonderful. The location could not be better, right in the heart of the city and surrounded by good restaurants, bars and shops. Also a good base to visit the wonderful Christmas markets in Vienna.
It is easy to get to from the aiport, S- Bahn to Landstrasse and transfer to the underground for 2 stops to Stephansplatz. Climb the stairs onto the street and the building it is directly in front of you.
We could not get an apartment with a view of the cathedral but the one we did get was huge! High ceilings, big comfortable bed, loads of space, good shower etc. It was quiet at night and it had a fantastic balcony (that would be wonderful in summer). The furnishings are quaint, the place is spotless! Really gleaming clean! The kitchen is well equiped with anything you could need for your stay, we only used it for breakfast but you could easy cook a meal here. Free wi-fi was always working great too.
The Sachers were very helpful and obliging from start to finish, they are so welcoming and helpful. I cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: don't be put off if you can't get a catheral (dom) view - the other apartment is amazing too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank a visitor from ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

We stayed here for the third time, and this visit was as perfect as the last two. We love the location, the views, and the apartments themselves. They are spacious and thoughtfully furnished. We especially appreciate good reading lights. The free Wifi worked perfectly. Our fully equipped kitchen had nice china and glassware, and everything we could need for serious cooking--which we did not do, considering all the nearby restaurants. But we did enjoy making breakfast while we watched the day begin in the Stephansdom plaza just outside. And we enjoyed pastries from Aida in the evenings--we discovered they are half-price for takeout starting about an hour before closing! On this visit, we used public transportation to arrive and depart. From the airport we took the S-7 train, waiting about 20 minutes since we just missed one, and then an easy transfer to the U-Bahn. When we left, we simply took the U-Bahn 5 stops to the Westbahnhof. There is an elevator at ground level just across the square from the apartment building so access is easy even with luggage. We also discovered the information desk in the Stephansdom U-bahn station. When we wanted to venture to a museum too far to walk to, we were given a very clear map showing which U-Bahn line to take, and then which bus.
As always, the apartment owners are most gracious and helpful. Vienna is one of our favorite destinations, and we love pretending that "our" apartment is there waiting just for us.

Room Tip: Even the smaller apartments are lovely and have everything a traveler could need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tallpinesCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,121 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 359 in Vienna
2,182 reviews
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,541 reviews
Inner City
Appartement-Hotel an der Riemergasse
Inner City
Singerstrasse Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Sacher? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Sacher

Address: Rotenturmstrasse 1/7 | 7th Floor, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Vienna
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome The Pension Sacher am Stephansplatz is located in the center of old Vienna. The apartments are run by the well-known Sacher family who are rich in tradition and history. All nine apartments are located on the 7th floor. Seven of them provide a fantastic view directly overlooking St. Stephan's Cathedral. We would be very glad welcoming you! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Apartment Pension Sacher Hotel Vienna
Apartment Hotel Vienna
Apartment Hotel Sacher

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing