We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small blanket size and misleading address”
Review of NH Wien City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Wien City
Ranked #86 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pune, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very small blanket size and misleading address”
Reviewed 30 June 2016

They market their address as "Mariahilfer Str. 32". You cannot access Hotel from Mariahilfer Str from 24x7. They are in fact closer to Lindengasse str. I went with luggage via Mariahilfer Str, could not locate hotel. Wasted 10 mins in international roaming call. Hotel receptionist said she is alone and can not come to pick. Not only that from Mariahilfer Str, you need to climb 4-5 steps so there is accessibility issue.

There was no porter at hotel and we carried luggage trolly ourself. Well I don't have any issue with this but I only want to highlight the hotel is way understaffed.

Another main issue as small blankets. We had a queen bed and they gave us 2 small blanket. When I asked for one big blanket, they said they only one one small blanket. It was so small that I couldn't fit in properly and could not sleep well on any night.

The wooden flooring was broken and bathroom/room sleepers were not provided. The bathroom door always used to collide with bathtub glass. The garbage bin in bathroom was broken and was not replaced even after complain.

I did not expect much from breakfast but it was same with limited options all days. We stayed for 5 nights.

Good parts! The location. It has vey nice neighborhood. But I will try some other Hotel in same area next time.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank rahul286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Rothbauer, Manager at NH Wien City, responded to this review, 1 July 2016
Dear Rahul B,

thank you very much for taking your time to provide feedback.
We appreciate your comments as they help to improve our services.

As common for all NH hotels, we do not employ bell hops. The official address of the NH Wien City is Mariahilfer Straße 32, however the main entrance is reached through a small passage, which is signed three times on the way. Moreover, on all online channels you will find (via Lindengasse 9) noted as point of arrival, especially for cars. We understand that there is room for improvement and will act accordingly.
Our staff will gladly assist with any request and I hope you understand that staffing depends on occupancy level. We will be happy to arrange transportation and additional services at a reasonable price, so you will not need to worry about luggage when being in public.
We provide one blanket per guest, which has an width of 155cm, exceeding the European standard measurement of 135cm already. As we do not have American bedding, we apologize for any inconvenience. If you request slippers, we will be happy to deilver them to your room.
Since the bathroom door does not interfere with the tub, we will have a closer look at your room to identify how the glass may colldie with the door, thank you for pointing this out.
In addition, we are sorry to hear that our breakfast buffet with a selection of 7 cold cuts and cheeses, sausages and bacon, 4 muslis, 4 yoghurts with 8 toppings, jellies, 8 different fruits, 11 kinds of breads and rolls, 4 hot dishes, 8 marmelades & jams, a gluten free corner, cakes, puff pastry and custom made egg dishes as well as coffe specialities, 16 teas and 5 juices did not provide sufficient diversity. Of course we will discuss this with our F&B manager.


Kind regards,
Christian Rothbauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    419
    513
    199
    41
    26
See reviews for
262
487
55
190
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2016

A good stay at NH Hotel City in Vienna. We had already experienced other visits to NH hotels, and we were expecting a good stay. But to be honest this can be considered as an excellent one. We had a large and spacious room, with all facilities and amenities, the staff very welcoming and good, and a good breakfast to start off the day. Will be back tot his hotel, and will continue to use NH Hotels.

  • Stayed June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Vince053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Rothbauer, Manager at NH Wien City, responded to this review, 24 June 2016
Dear Vince053,

thank you very much for taking your time to provide feedback.

We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our property. The NH Wien City features spacious accommodation that invite to unwind under the rain effect shower or in the custom made NH Sleep beds. After a good night sleep, our rich breakfast buffets offers a vast variety of fresh and local products to start in to the new day. Our staff takes pride of their work and will gladly assist to reassure your trip will be special.

Hopefully we have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

All the best,
Christian Rothbauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016

City centre on the main shopping street. Lots to do and see. Cool and comfortable rooms, clean, simple with mini-bar if you need it. Twin beds as ever in this part of the world so no spreading out.

TV decent choices and some in English although mainly news channels. Power points a plenty and tea and coffee making facilities. Aircon in my room very helpful in 31 degrees.

Breakfast choice was excellent, fresh with an airy, open plan breakfast room.

Would stay again and not too pricy either.

Room Tip: You might want to upgrade Wi-Fi, the free version is very slow
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Rothbauer, Manager at NH Wien City, responded to this review, 23 June 2016
Dar Tony B,

thank you very much for taking your time to provide feedback.

We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay at our property. The NH Wien City is located on Mariahilfer Straße, one of Europe's largest shopping streets. Our spacious rooms invite to unwind with its comfortable NH Sleep beds. Our hotel also features queen and king beds. When booking via our homepage you can request a certain type, which we try to fulfill. Our rich breakfast buffet offers a big variety of fresh and local products so you can recharge your energy.

Hopefully we have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

All the best,
Christian Rothbauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Great location near museum quarter, good sized rooms and lovely staff on reception who were really helpful and even printed off our boarding cards for us. Only negative was the price of the breakfast which although very comprehensive was expensive. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Rothbauer, Manager at NH Wien City, responded to this review, 3 June 2016
Dear Hilary C,

thank you very much for taking your time to provide feedback.

We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. The NH Wien City is located just off Mariahilfer Straße, one of Europe's largest shopping streets and great sights like Naschmarkt, Museumsquartier or Hofburg are just a short walk away. The spacious rooms invite to relax after a long day out. Our staff takes pride in their work and is glad to assist with any request.

Hopefully we have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

All the best,
Christian Rothbauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2016

Great location, in the middle of everything. Steps from the subway station to go around, walkable to west banhoff. Huge room size for European hotel standard, the lobby is not inviting and hidden, but we don't need it anyway. Ask for superior room, it's worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Frist168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
C_Rothbauer, Manager at NH Wien City, responded to this review, 3 June 2016
Dear Frist168,

thank you very much for taking your time to provide feedback.

We are happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay with us. The NH Wien City is located just off Mariahilfer Straße, one of Europe's largest shopping streets. Our spacious superior rooms are over 35sqm big and have a separate living- & bedroom. We are sorry to hear our lobby did not meet your expectations and will do our best to enhance this area.

Hopefully we have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future.

All the best,
Christian Rothbauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#101 of 361 in Vienna
1,285 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Neubau
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
Ruby Marie Hotel Vienna
#22 of 361 in Vienna
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Wien City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Wien City

Property: NH Wien City
Address: Mariahilfer Strasse 32-34 (via Lindeng. 9), Vienna 1070, Austria (Formerly Astron Suite Hotel Wien)
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Neubau
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Vienna
#63 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#99 Business Hotel in Vienna
#115 Family Hotel in Vienna
#129 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,812 - ₹ 12,379
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Wien City 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Wien City is the perfect place to enjoy your stay right next to the historical center of Vienna, by the city's main shopping areas and countless other attractions and conveniences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, NHHotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Wien City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotel Vienna
Nh Hotels Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing