We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (788)
Filter reviews
788 results
Traveller rating
278
365
85
29
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
365
85
29
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews perfect location side street stephens cathedral the heart of the city riding school breakfast staff first floor bit dated hotel room within walking distance opera house charming hotel old city bed was comfortable hofburg palace yogurt stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 788 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018

I was nervous about a hotel so near St. Stephens square but the room (at the back) was incredibly quiet, no problem even for my husband who is a very light sleeper. And the location was fantastic - we could walk anywhere in 15 minutes - museums, churches, markets. Great buffet breakfast included - no stale mini-muffins but a huge spread of cereal, pastries, meats and cheese (yes, I know - it's a European thing) eggs and yogurt. Fabulous coffee, super friendly staff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Thank golds2ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Direktion at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback on TripAdvisor. It was a great pleasure to read your comments about our house and we will certainly share as well your compliments about our staff with them.
We really hope to welcome you back in the very near future!

With best regards
The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Graben Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2018

If you are planning a few days sight seeing in Vienna this Hotel could not be better placed. Situated right in the centre of the Old Town, literally 30 yards from Stephansplatz. From here most sights are walking distance and if further the Metro was just 200 yards away. The Hotel is a 4 Star. The service was friendly and efficient. The Room was quiet as regards any street noise and a good size. It was clean and a good maid service was provided daily. The only nuisance was a noisy Air conditioning machine. Breakfast had a wide variety of cold dishes but little hot offerings. This was not a problem but worth pointing out. A Hotel Bar would have been nice. Overall we had a good stay and would recommend this Hotel.

Room Tip: We had a Standard Room facing the street, but with the secondary glazing it was completely quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Manager at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear Ray!
Thank you for your kind remarks about our Graben Hotel. We are very happy that you enjoyed your days in Vienna and felt at home with us.
Thank you for recommending our hotel to other travellers - hope to have you with us soon again, yourr family Kremslehner on behalf of your Graben Hotel team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

This hotel has a very good location, downtown the city, nearby the Stephan Dom, and in a walk distance from the Opera House. Prices are a little expensive if you think in terms of accomodation, but if you think in terms of location prices are affordable. There are many different restaurants on that area. Rooms are very small, and the safebox did not work in my room. The hotel offer a transfer to the aiport in a executive car and the price is the same as if you take a taxi. Good service.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Direktion at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time in describing your stay at our Graben Hotel.

We are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay, but we are very sorry to hear that your safe box did not work in your room.
We would kindly ask you to inform our reception staff next time, so that we can fix the problem for you immediately.
We really hope that we have the chance to welcome you again at our house and remain,

with best regards,
The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Graben Hotel team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018

We stayed 4 nights at the Graben, and it was just what we wanted. Right in the heart of the city, and most mod cons. Breakfast was continental, with large choice of cereals, fruit, cheeses, bread, meats, etc. and a couple of hot items. Service at reception, dinner, and especially at breakfast was excellent. The only small flaw: It was a pity that the only English-language TV was the US channel CNN (which is 90% about Trump) (I don't count CNTV which is appalling) - they really should get the BBC channel working.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Oxon77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2018

Dear guest!

Thank you for choosing our Graben Hotel for your recent visit to Vienna and for the 5 star rating. We thank you for your input regarding BBC and we will check if we can add it to our programs.
Looking forward to having you with us soon again,
your family Kremslehner on behalf of your Graben team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

The best thing about this hotel is the fabulous central location just near Stephansplatz. So easy to get to from the airport by train and then underground to Stephansplatz which is literally just round the corner. Plenty of bars & restaurants very close. Great aircon. Staff were very friendly and helpful with directions, looking after luggage and booking tickets. The hotel was nice and facilities were as stated however for us this 4 star hotel could be improved by having tea & coffee facilities in the room, more English TV , more coverage at the windows, more hot choices at breakfast and a bar. We had a superior double room on 7th floor at front of hotel. There were only blinds on windows which did not make room dark enough for us. Too much light entered the room early and woke us up. Large breakfast buffet but hot breakfast items limited to scrambled eggs & sausages. Boiled eggs were available and a toaster to make your own toast. No bar. We ate in the restaurant only on one evening and really enjoyed it but did not return. On another evening we wanted just a drink and they would not serve us a drink unless we ordered food. The waiter even pointed us across the street. We thought perhaps hotel resident guests could be offered drinks only in the reception area.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janet O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Manager at Graben Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Guest,

we really appreciate you taking the time to send valuable comments about your stay at our Graben Hotel, especially for mentioning our great customer service and we are really sorry to hear, that not all our services exceed your expectations. With each guest comment received we strive to put into effect those suggestions that will make our guest’s stay with us a more pleasing and memorable. Once again, thank you for taking the time to post about your accommodations experience and we hope to have the opportunity to host you again.

The Kremslehner family on behalf of the Graben Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews