We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!”
Review of Kaiserin Elisabeth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Ranked #32 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel. I'm not sure why it's not ranked higher on TA. It's perfectly located in the altstadt steps away from anything you'd want to do. My room even had a view of the steeple of St. Stephens. The room and the bath were spacious, well appointed and quiet. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful. The breakfast was my best breakfast experience on this trip. After the first day the server remembered my coffee order and my room number - it was a very civilized way to start the day. If I have to be picky, my only complaint would be the wi-fi connectivity: if idle for more than five or ten minutes you had to go through the log-in process. I'm sure the hotel can fix that easily enough as it's just a setting. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room facing the courtyard which seemed to be a quiet choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobZAtlanta_Ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (901)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

390 - 394 of 901 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel is very comfortable and has a touch of class. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were very good indeed. The location is great - very close to the Stephansplatz and Kärntner Strasse. We found we could walk everywhere. We went in late June when all the outdoor cafes were open, which gave the place quite a buzz. I'd love to go back in winter next time.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank biggersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Unforgettable experience
Breakfast beautiful, silver cutlery, staff remembered our preferences the first day and following 6 mornings were serving us coffee with double milk, double coffee little milk, hot chocolate etc (there were 5 of us). The best coffee I’ve ever had – could be due to Vienna water but not even Sacher could match it. Next time will ask about it
Very clean and quite, nicely warm in the middle of the Austrian winter. Loved it

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lanags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The hotel was one of best we've stayed in Europe. Room was very big, comfortable beds and a large bathroom. The breakfast was very good and included with the room. The staff were exceptional, friendly and helpful. The hotel was very convenient to everything and we will definitely stay there again if we return to Vienna.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We have used the Kaiserin Elisabeth for several stays in Vienna, actually just around the corner from the Stephansplatz and Cathedral. The staff is incredibly friendly and supportive, breakfasts are delicious, but the rooms are just adequate. Some have windows over tiny courtyards or bare walls, as I recall on one stay. Those over the street can be noisy. It is not the cheapest around, but for us senior citizens, it saves a lot of walking.

Current room rates start at 220 dollars and go up, breakfast included. Parking is a minor problem. and driving the one-way streets on approach requires careful reading of the street maps and planning the route.

Room Tip: Look at more than one room, and open the windows to evaluate noise levels. This is classic old Vien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaullMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#18 of 359 in Vienna
586 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#86 of 359 in Vienna
712 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
#11 of 359 in Vienna
2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#23 of 359 in Vienna
762 reviews
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaiserin Elisabeth? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaiserin Elisabeth

Address: Weihburggasse 3, Vienna 1010, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Vienna
#24 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#27 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#35 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: ₹ 11,169 - ₹ 18,102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kaiserin Elisabeth 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will find the HOTEL KAISERIN ELISABETH directly in the city center of Vienna, just next to the famous pedestrian zone the Kärntnerstraße and the Graben, only a few steps from St. Stephan`s Cathedral.Our 63 non-smoking rooms are located on four floors. Each room provides bathroom/shower and WC, and is equipped with satellite-TV, flatscreen TV, telephone, radio, minibar, roomsafe, internetaccessW-Lan (free of charge for our guests), and air-condition. Smoking is allowed in an own separate area in our breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaiserin Elisabeth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserin Elisabeth Vienna
Kaiserin Elisabeth Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing