We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
St. Stephan(Vienna)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Royal(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pension City(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Wandl(Vienna)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Graben Hotel(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Topazz(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Lamee(Vienna)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,281)
Filter reviews
2,281 results
Traveller rating
1,778
437
50
7
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,778
437
50
7
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscathedral viewperfect locationst stephan's cathedralseparate showerbreakfast roomwonderful hotelcentrally located hotelthe hotel staffthe heart of the citywithin easy walking distancewould highly recommend this hotelspanish riding schoolmetro stationsuperior roomold cityvisit viennabreakfast was excellent
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,239 - 1,244 of 2,281 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The hotel was booked as part of a travel excursion around Austrian on the basis of other TA reviews and didn't disappoint. Extremely friendly staff, very helpful in every way.
Great location for exploring Vienna and close to some very nice restaurants.
This will not disappoint any traveller to Vienna and thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lockygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

An amazing location right on the St. Stephansplaz. We stayed 4 nights and never tired of exploring the area... cafes, people watching, restaurants, the Habsburg Palace and Volksgarten to name a few. All at your doorstep. The rooms are extremely clean and well-designed, with very comfortable beds and bedding. The English speaking reception staff was extremely helpful and friendly on many occasions. Great breakfast on glassed-in second floor overlooking all the action in the plaza.

Room Tip: Rooms with a full or partial view of the square are more expensive, but worth it. The triple paned windows effectively eliminate any outside noise.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at Stephansplatz which has an excellent location, you cannot get closer to the centre without being "in" the cathedral itself.

We booked a "Terrace" room which has a small terrace which is certainly not suitable for those with vertigo (from the 7th floor).

The rooms are spacious and very well presented and spotlessly clean.

You can park briefly outside (part pedestrianized zone) if you arrive by car and it will be conveniently garaged and returned to you, cost is 35 Euro per day.

There is free good WIFI available and LAN via cable (lent for free if you ask)

Despite enjoying our stay we did find the hotel a little impersonal and the English at reception was not always quite what you might expect, from an International hotel at four star status. This did cause some confusion when checking out over the total price, all was sorted but did not help at the time.This only relates our own personal experience, which is what any review should be about.

The breakfasts are good, however again our last day was very chaotic with no tables cleared and service very slow, I do not believe this is normal (as other days were fine) but again just our personal experience.

I would recommend staying here if you want a very comfortable room with excellent facilities and central location with a more "hotel chain" feel. Perhaps not the friendliest but this may be contrasting with our previous Italian leg of our holiday, where reception staff were much more keen to get involved with their guests trips and itinerary.

We did also experience some issues with the air con which automatically switches off when the terrace door is open (which makes sense) but appeared to occasionally have a mind of it's own and would only switch on when the terrace door was reopened and closed - seemingly a bit too complicated for it's own good, again this would only impact the "terrace" rooms.

BTW the catacombs in the cathedral opposite are worth a quick visit (4.5 Euro's, quite creepy and sobering). The Schonbrunn Palace is also worth the trip, very similar to Versailles in some ways and beautifully presented and the English audio guide is very good - easily accessed by the very safe, clean, easily used and efficient metro.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julesski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in June and had a wonderful stay. We had room 703 which had a balcony overlooking the cathedral. It was great to be able to sit outside in the evening and watch the world go by - definitely worth the extra money. The room had the most storage space we have ever seen in a double room - a wardrobe each, plus bedside drawers and a table top area next to the tv. The bathroom was modern, clean and best of all had two showers! Made getting ready a doddle!
We had no trouble with noise at night, when we had the balcony door open it sounded really loud and we were a little concerned. But as soon as we closed the door and drew the curtains it was like we were in a different place!
Breakfast gave lots of choice and we loved squeezing our own orange juice in the morning. We even poured ourselves glasses of free sparkling champagne when we were celebrating a birthday.
Best of all was the friendly staff, from the waitresses at breakfast, to the receptionists to the porters, they all couldn't do enough to help us.
I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a high floor, and pay the extra for a cathedral view (and balcony if you can)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Just back from a lovely stay in Vienna. At first the hotel is disappointing because of its simple facade and non-assuming lobby. But what a fabulous location! Bang opposite the St.Stephens cathedral and at the end of Karntner Strasse where all the high street shops are located.

I got upgraded to a double room, beautifully kept, nicely air-conditioned and the hotel has porters to help with luggage, a luxury in Europe! Breakfast was in their cheerful, art-lined coffee shop which overlooks the church. There was a great spread of eggs, ham, sausage, cheese, cereals and juices.

A pleasant walk from The Opera so it was no problem getting back at night alone.

I'd stay here again thanks to the location, the helpful staff and the overall cheerful atmosphere!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sgee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews