We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great location, not so great a service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #10 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great location, not so great a service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The Hotel Am Stephansplatz has a dream situation in Vienna...you are right in the heart of the city and can easily sightsee from there.
Pros : The room was clean, spacious and the bed confortable, the furniture is minimal. The breakfast buffet was diverse and good.
Cons : nothing to make coffee or tea in the morning like you usually find in luxury hotel nowedays, quality of service among personnel is uneven. We regret that upon our arrival, elthough on of us was feeling quite sick and it was pouring rain outside, there was nothing to be done to even consider having the maids prioritize our room in their cleaning schedule so that we could have gone up earlier than 3pm.
All in all a very well situated hotel which in our opinion is more the reason why prices are comparable to luxury hotels which may be less well situated but may offer better service all in all.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudreyETCyril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,980 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,528
    390
    48
    6
    8
See reviews for
378
981
151
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

The hotel was booked as part of a travel excursion around Austrian on the basis of other TA reviews and didn't disappoint. Extremely friendly staff, very helpful in every way.
Great location for exploring Vienna and close to some very nice restaurants.
This will not disappoint any traveller to Vienna and thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lockygy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

An amazing location right on the St. Stephansplaz. We stayed 4 nights and never tired of exploring the area... cafes, people watching, restaurants, the Habsburg Palace and Volksgarten to name a few. All at your doorstep. The rooms are extremely clean and well-designed, with very comfortable beds and bedding. The English speaking reception staff was extremely helpful and friendly on many occasions. Great breakfast on glassed-in second floor overlooking all the action in the plaza.

Room Tip: Rooms with a full or partial view of the square are more expensive, but worth it. The triple paned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorraine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed at Stephansplatz which has an excellent location, you cannot get closer to the centre without being "in" the cathedral itself.

We booked a "Terrace" room which has a small terrace which is certainly not suitable for those with vertigo (from the 7th floor).

The rooms are spacious and very well presented and spotlessly clean.

You can park briefly outside (part pedestrianized zone) if you arrive by car and it will be conveniently garaged and returned to you, cost is 35 Euro per day.

There is free good WIFI available and LAN via cable (lent for free if you ask)

Despite enjoying our stay we did find the hotel a little impersonal and the English at reception was not always quite what you might expect, from an International hotel at four star status. This did cause some confusion when checking out over the total price, all was sorted but did not help at the time.This only relates our own personal experience, which is what any review should be about.

The breakfasts are good, however again our last day was very chaotic with no tables cleared and service very slow, I do not believe this is normal (as other days were fine) but again just our personal experience.

I would recommend staying here if you want a very comfortable room with excellent facilities and central location with a more "hotel chain" feel. Perhaps not the friendliest but this may be contrasting with our previous Italian leg of our holiday, where reception staff were much more keen to get involved with their guests trips and itinerary.

We did also experience some issues with the air con which automatically switches off when the terrace door is open (which makes sense) but appeared to occasionally have a mind of it's own and would only switch on when the terrace door was reopened and closed - seemingly a bit too complicated for it's own good, again this would only impact the "terrace" rooms.

BTW the catacombs in the cathedral opposite are worth a quick visit (4.5 Euro's, quite creepy and sobering). The Schonbrunn Palace is also worth the trip, very similar to Versailles in some ways and beautifully presented and the English audio guide is very good - easily accessed by the very safe, clean, easily used and efficient metro.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julesski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
144 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in June and had a wonderful stay. We had room 703 which had a balcony overlooking the cathedral. It was great to be able to sit outside in the evening and watch the world go by - definitely worth the extra money. The room had the most storage space we have ever seen in a double room - a wardrobe each, plus bedside drawers and a table top area next to the tv. The bathroom was modern, clean and best of all had two showers! Made getting ready a doddle!
We had no trouble with noise at night, when we had the balcony door open it sounded really loud and we were a little concerned. But as soon as we closed the door and drew the curtains it was like we were in a different place!
Breakfast gave lots of choice and we loved squeezing our own orange juice in the morning. We even poured ourselves glasses of free sparkling champagne when we were celebrating a birthday.
Best of all was the friendly staff, from the waitresses at breakfast, to the receptionists to the porters, they all couldn't do enough to help us.
I would definitely recommend staying in this hotel.

Room Tip: Request a high floor, and pay the extra for a cathedral view (and balcony if you can)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#10 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,430 - ₹ 23,993
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing