We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Smoke Ridden” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Vienna City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #61 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Smoke Ridden”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Not too far a walk from Kettenbruckengasse station, we asked for a non smoking room and I believe we got one, but I think previous travellers ignore this and smoke, the whole room absolutely reeked of smoke, it was embedded in the sheets, the walls, the carpet, the chair, we had to leave the windows open the whole time just to let fresh air in.

The staff at the front desk were very helpful with directions and maps, they were even so kind as to print out a bus schedule for us and a very helpful map.

The room is small compared to other hotels, no english speaking channels on the television. And the toilet was without a doubt the worst design I have ever come across. You literally have to flush 3 times for your business.

Overall if it weren't for the staff I would rate this hotel as poor, but they were very welcoming.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 505, no view at all except the back of other homes & apartments. Absolutely re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyzza01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, 24 July 2012
Dear kyzza01,

Thank you for posting a considerate review of our property. Our helpful and accommodating staff strive to make each guest's stay pleasant. They are simply the best. Please accept my sincere apologies for the unusual condition of the room and the toilet. We rely on you, our guests to let us know how we are doing and how we can improve on the quality and service that we offer.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    434
    105
    21
    15
See reviews for
217
365
79
182
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

Wonderful name brand hotel with all the needed amenities. Clean, comfortable, very nice breakfast, restful courtyard. A quiet location of Vienna without being to far from the main areas of tourism. The front desk personal, housekeeping and restaurant staff were all very professional, courteous and helpful.
Will stay here again and do highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Although other reviews suggested a room interior for a view of the courtyard our room 213 was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glee4533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet street. Restaurants near by. 15 minutes walking distance to the train station and the market. Super markets near the station. Small rooms as with all Holiday Inns in Europe. Clean and well maintained rooms and bathrooms with amenities matching standards.
A special mention must be made of Ms Platzer at the reception who gives you a warm welcome every time you enter the hotel. She is eager to help and we have found her very helpful with our questions. She went out of the way in helping us select our room (we were offered alternatives) although we had booked in advance. Loved the place. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: I prefered the road facing room on the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IndiaEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We don't often stay in chain hotels, in fact we tend to avoid them in favour of small local run places, but this was a 4 night city break with 2 other people and for price and ease of booking we chose Holiday Inn Vienna City after a friend recommended it to us. The greeting at the front desk was very friendly and efficient, I asked for a quiet room and we got one, on the 6th floor overlooking the courtyard at the back. The manager was also around and he was fantastic; telling us the best places to eat which were all non-touristy places where you could really enjoy genuine local food. The room was immaculate, in fact it looked new it was so clean. A great bed, plenty of space in the room, a good sized wardrobe with plenty of quality wooden coat hangers, a mini-bar, a good size bathroom with plenty of towels, a hairdryer (which was a good one and worked properly), shower over a bath, hand soaps and body lotion. You need to bring your own shampoo. Large flat screen TV in the room and also free wi-fi which was a big bonus as I needed to check in on my work emails. It gives you wi-fi access prices on the hotel website but basically you log on and select the 30 minute option which is free. It automatically logs off after 30 minutes and you simply keep logging on again as each 30 minutes counts down. All free; uploading photos didn't seem to be possible but I had no issues downloading emails with images. Aircon in the room and a good size safe in a cupboard which we could fit our cameras and i-pad into along with some other items. Not sure if a full size laptop would fit in, possibly. We had small pillows on check-in but you can ring down and ask for larger pillows either feather down, anti-allergy or poly-filled - soft or firm pillows. The courtyard garden was lovely and even though we chose to eat breakfast out each morning, you can have your breakfast in the garden if you want to. Overall, we were really impressed. Very clean, very efficient, genuinely accommodating and friendly. The staff were all fantastic, from the people who cleaned the rooms to the front desk and Manager...the staff training here is obviously really important to the Manager and it really pays off for him. It was only a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro and some of the main sites..15 minute walk to the Museum District which is a fabulous place. Vienna is a very easy city to get around and not too big and you can walk easily to most of the sites, you don't really need the metro that much. The big food market, Nauschmarkt, is about a 10 minute walk and a great place to get breakfast. Deli Nauschmarkt was our favourite, a fantastic place, we also ate their one evening and it was great quality food and service and a buzzing friendly place to go. Fabulous city, we really enjoyed it and you can do a lot in 4 days.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back overlooking the courtyard garden on the higher floors and it will be a qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel rocks. The rooms are very clean, nicely decorated and very spacious. The staff are well trained. Check-in and check-out are usually very efficient. I personally love the location. The famous 'Naschmarkt' is just a few minutes away. Lot's of great restaurants and cafes. I have stayed here several times over the past few years and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cpcervelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#58 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 698 reviews
Margareten
pentahotel Vienna
pentahotel Vienna
#65 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#24 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna
Hotel Schani Wien
#41 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,659 - ₹ 14,455
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing