We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“So accessible” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #25 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So accessible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Hotel Stefanie is ideally situated to: public transport, walking distance to many attractions - tours, large shopping mall, restaurants, coffee shop and supermarket to name but a few. Staff are very welcoming and very helpful. Great breakfast served. Highly recommended and would stay there again when visiting Vienna.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaggieM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear MaggieM20,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your Viennese stay.

We are delighted to read that you fully enjoyed your vacation and felt very comfortable at our Hotel Stefanie.

We thank you for recommending us and hope you will soon be visiting again our beautiful city.

Kind regards to Melbourne

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a Century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    301
    66
    17
    5
See reviews for
128
396
105
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on 3 different occasions which already speaks volumes. It may be a little tired decor wise but this can be part of its charm. Very clean rooms comfortable beds and very quiet.
We noticed someone had complained about the breakfast. Unbelievable . Its one of the reasons we keep going back . The choice and quality is 1st class.
At a few hundred yards from 2 u bahn lines and walking distance to city centre its perfect.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AandT_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear AandT_10,

Thank you for choosing again our Hotel Stefanie for your Vienna stay.

We are very happy that our offer constantly convinces you and that you feel comfortable with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon again and thank you for your trust.

Best regards from sunny Vienna

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I was staying in this hotel for 1 night few times already - always business trip. It was always clean. Rooms are fine but would need an refurbishment. Sleep quality is ok. I can say that during last year staff have made a great step forward in terms of being helpfull. Breakfast quality also have improved, but still hot dishes are only warm.
Biggest advantage of the hotel is walking distance to the center.
Still I would recommend Stefanie for a stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wojtek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear Wojtek R,

We are happy that you booked again our Hotel Stefanie and took the chance to post your impressions.

First of all we are delighted to read that you found some improvements which offered you even more comfort and well-being. Thank you for your compliments.

Of course we also noticed your remark regarding the dishes and passed your information to our kitchen. The last weeks the kitchen has been completely renovated and is now to be opened again. We hope you will soon be again our guest, so we can convince you with some delicacies.

We strive to keep our offer on-going and therefore renovation works find place at regular time intervals. Last year, we already completely renovated some rooms.

We thank you for your valuable comments and look forward to your next visit.

In the meantime, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a three night stay in Hotel Stefanie. This is a very good Hotel and its location is excellent, a short distance from underground train station approx less than 5 minute walk and less than 10 minutes to St. Stephens Cathedral and all the main shops. It is good value for money, breakfast is excellent wide choice of food with fresh fruit. Staff are friendly and helpful and hotel is clean and room was nice with free wi-fi. We have only positive things to say about this Hotel and would recommend hotel for a short city break due to price and location. Tip - If travelling to Vienna in November/December bring many warm clothes as weather is very cold.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piravlos01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Dear piravlos01,

thank you for your positive review.

We are delighted that you choose our Hotel Stefanie for your short Vienna trip and are happy that our offer convinced you.

We appreciate your compliments and recommendation and hope you will soon visit us again.

It’s already getting warmer...

Best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2012

This is an old fashioned 1970's style hotel. The decor is old but clean. Our room did smell of smoke even though it was a non smoking floor supposedly.The staff speak good English. Breakfast is average in that there is nothing special about it. The biggest disappointment we had was that when we asked if the restaurant was open at the weekend they told us no because the kitchen was being renovated (no mention of how despite the closure they were still able to serve breakfast!). Instead the staff kept recommending another restaurant in a hotel owned by the same chain.We were promised a discount. It was a fair distance away. We kept asking if there were any other places closer to eat/bars nearby as it was pouring with rain. We didnt want to go to what looked like a very boring place that was being recommended so instead we went for a walk and found lots of places ourselves nearby including a wonderful bar on the top floor of the Sofitel. We also found some very nice restaurants in the Sofitel. My recommendation would be to anyone looking to stay at the Stefanie hotel...cancel and go to the Sofitel or at least take your own guidebook so you can find restaurants on your own without having to rely on the staff recommendations. It was very annoying !

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Dear Melanie B,

Thank you for sharing your impressions with us. We appreciate your high score for cleanliness and sleep quality but regret that you did not feel completely comfortable with us, because the style of the hotel did not meet your expectation.

Please note that our hotels do not advertise with modern design and a futuristic setting. Specifically, the Hotel Stefanie looks back on a four hundred years history and inspires with his typical flair, tradition and historic atmosphere: Numerous antiques are evidence of the collective passion of the owner family.
Nevertheless, we offer comfortable rooms with wireless LAN and flat screens equipped with digital entertainment system and air-conditioning.

In order to keep our offer always on the pulse, regular renovation work is carried out. So at the moment a new kitchen will follow the newly decorated restaurant!

Since the kitchen is currently closed, we do recommend other restaurants of our group. Of course our receptionists know the area very well and can thus give valuable tips and insider advices. We are sorry that you did not get the complete information.

We noticed your critic regarding the smoke smell on the non smoking floor. Unfortunately, sometimes the floors are used as a smoking area despite accurate signage, thus the smell infiltrates the rooms. We have informed the housekeeping staff to achieve a better control and frequenter aeration.

Thank you for your important feedback and information.

Best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hotel City Central
Hotel City Central
#54 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#28 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#24 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,286 reviews
Serviten Quarter
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,471 - ₹ 14,541
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing