We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #23 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I was coming to Vienna on a business trip and looking for something in a moderate price range to save on expenses without giving up too much comfort. Hotel Stefanie was a perfect fit - central location but absolutely quiet, very well run, extremely friendly and helpful staff, free Wifi and an almost overwhelming breakfast buffet. Including champagne, which unfortunately I had to give a miss...
As some reviewers pointed out the interior is slightly dated but I'd say this mostly goes for the corridors, the rooms themselves are in excellent condition and my bathroom and shower were definitely on par with anything you'd expect from the big chains. I'll definitely book this one again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Joave!

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our Hotel Stefanie.

We are very happy to learn that you were satisfied with your holidays and that you will definitely book us again.

Please note that we place great importance on optimizing our offer; this is why maintenance work and renovation take place regularly. We are currently working on a new kitchen and noticed your improvement suggestion regarding the corridors. Thank you.

We hope you will soon be staying with us again and await your next visit.

With kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    354
    71
    17
    7
See reviews for
161
494
122
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aalst, Belgium
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Goed hotel, gelegen op 10 minuten wandelen van het centrum. Uitstekend ontbijtbuffet in een prachtig kader.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dehorizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 10 January 2012
Dear dehorizon,

Thank you for positing a short summary of your Vienna holidays!

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
finland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Hotel Stefanie is located within walking distance from the city centre. It s oldfashioned, my room was cheap, and maybe that's why one of the tiniest I ever had. However, clean and comfortable. The personnel at the hotel was friendly in the reception and the breakfast restaurant. The breakfast included was full buffet with everything you need. Even champagne, I was on a business trip and didn't taste, but maybe I'll return for a cheap Wien trip for a weekend to have a sip...The hotel is modest, but meets all requirement for a short stay, even free WiFi. Recommend for those who don't want to pay for red carpets...

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank finlandese49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear finlandese49!

Thank you for your review.

With pleasure we read that you were satisfied with the hotel location, the staff members, the cleanliness and the comfort of the room, as well as with our breakfast offer.

With it’s more than four hundred years of history, the Hotel Stefanie ranks among Vienna’s hotels richest in tradition. This respect for tradition in no way excludes modern comfort, which can be seen in any part of the hotel. We are sorry that you found it to be old-fashioned but are pleased that you still felt comfortable.

We noticed your remark regarding the room being a bit too small and are sorry that it did not completely fulfil your expectations. Kindly note that we do offer different categories and would be pleased to advise you at the time of your next reservation.

Looking forward to your next Vienna visit, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
169 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We researched for a Vienna hotel that would be easy to access from the airport. Coming off long flights (from Vancouver, BC Canada), we took the airporter bus (~7 euros) that was waiting immediately outside the door of the airport. The bus dropped us off at Schwedenplatz, and we rolled our suitcases across a bridge and up a short way to the hotel.

The room was very small, which is to be expected in a centuries-old building. However, it was clean, and very quiet (facing into an interior courtyard; no traffic noise). The staff were helpful and friendly, and drew us a map to our one important destination (the city cemetery to visit our musical heroes!).

Best part of this hotel is the amazing breakfast - possibly the most extensive we have ever seen in Europe. And the beautiful dining room was lovely, even though we felt at ease in our "traveling clothes".

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SophiagoestoItaly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear SophiagoestoItaly!

Thank you for posting your experience.

We are happy that you choose to stay at our Hotel Stefanie and that we were able to meet your expectations. We already passed your nice compliments to the staff, thank you.

As you wrote the Schwedenplatz is only a few minutes away and offers great transport links. Further to the airport bus there are also subway and tramway stations.

With pleasure we look forward to your next visit and wish you in the meantime, a happy year 2012.

Best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

This hotel is in a great location, just 5 minutes walk to St Stephen's Cathedral. The rooms are a good size with comfy beds although the pillows are not good although there were extra ones in the cupboard. Breakfast is fantastic, a huge selection with friendly service. Reception staff are succinct and not in a rude way. A 5 minute walk north to the Taborstasse station will allow you to catch a train on the Karlsplatz line and get off at the City Hall or Museum quarter station.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Dear Ryan M!

It was a pleasure having you with us in December and we thank you for taking the chance to write a review on your stay.

We appreciate your compliments for the hotel location, the breakfast offer and our staff members, thank you.

We regret that the pillows were not entirely to your satisfaction. Fortunately, we have extra cushion in the cupboard so that each guest, can rest according to his wishes and hopefully recover well.

Looking forward to your next Europe vacation, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 360 in Vienna
681 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 360 in Vienna
486 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#22 of 360 in Vienna
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,616 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 360 in Vienna
1,439 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Vienna
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,712 - ₹ 15,713
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing