We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty bad” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Goldener Baer

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Goldener Baer
Ranked #342 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Goettingen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Pretty bad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

When I booked my room, this hotel was labeled three stars on hotels.com. It was nowhere near three stars -- glad to see it's been downgraded to two. The rooms are threadbare and need upgrades. Worn carpets, very old furniture, sagging bed. The bathroom was clean but also hadn't been upgraded in ages. The breakfast was mediocre at best: plain rolls, a little salami and cheese, some cereals. The staff was not helpful. They could not provide ice I needed for an injury (despite there being a little kitchen?). When I asked if I could check out late, they said no way. Despite the fact that only one other person was staying in the hotel!

Last, and this is important if you have any kind of mobility issues or a lot of luggage, the hotel is on the first floor (second floor by American counting), so you have to go up a fair number of stairs to get to it. No one will help you with your luggage.

Oh, and the room smelled like cigarettes.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    6
    15
    10
    39
See reviews for
7
20
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

This hotel is terrible, nothing to do with a 3 * hotel! I went to visit Vienna with my children, and the breakfast was the worst we ever had! The room is barely clean. In the morning you are
you are awakened by the sound of the hammer at 7 am.Prices are too high. If you can, go far away from this awful hotel. The only interest is a good location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2011

While being very basic hotel with small beds and no conditioning, it is 10 minutes walk from the historic downtown. Free WiFi and included breakfast sweeten a deal a little, but lack of the elevator makes it more suitable for light travelers. The self-served breakfast was actually one of the best I ever had as included into the rate - with poultry spread, salami, cheese and cheese spread, fresh crispy breads, orange juice and decent coffee.

Rooms also have a small safe for valuables and really small TV. Shower cabin is kind of quite "European" in size too, but the room itself has a high ceiling and is reasonably spacious.

No hotel parking, but don't forget this is a dense city downtown. The nearest U-Bahn station is about 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vassili N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

This is by far the worst hotel I had ever stayed in Europe. For 96 Euro per night you can find a much better place such as the Imlauer Nestroy Hotel.

To get to the front desk you must climb two flights of stairs where you will be met by a sruffy unshaven man. He was not friendly to me nor was helpful when asked for direction to the city centre. This hotel appeared to be operated by a caretaker couple for absentee owners. This is not a professionally run hotel!

The location is not that good but close enough to the Ring road. The hotel hallway carpet is very dirty. The room is very stark, not very clean and there is no airconditioning. With the windows opened, you'll hear lots of traffic noise. Overall, I would rate this hotel one star.

The only positive thing about the neighbourhood is that there is a good Asian restaurant called OAsia which I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4StarTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2011

When we booked the hotel we read that is a 3 stars hotel, but actually the hotel deserves maximum 2 stars. If you have luggage, you have to carry it to the first floor. The staff is not kind. The room is very basic, I think my bed from my childhood was better than I get here. The furniture was dusty, the wall to wall carpet was old and dirty. Unfortunately the hotel was one of my worst hotel-experiences. I'm sorry that this opinion is not good for the hotel, but I wanted to share it. Only one good thing: the hotel is well-located! :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Alservorstadt
Hotel Pension Baron am Schottentor
Serviten Quarter
City Hotel Deutschmeister
City Hotel Deutschmeister
#235 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#106 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski Vienna
Serviten Quarter
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Goldener Baer? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Goldener Baer

Property: Hotel Goldener Baer
Address: Tuerkenstrasse 27, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #342 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,672 - ₹ 6,709
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Goldener Baer 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Goldener Baer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldener Baer Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing