We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish hotel close to city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Nestroy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nestroy
Ranked #170 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stylish hotel close to city centre”
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Large, comfortable bedroom (with tea making facilities) in friendly, conveniently located hotel in quiet district within 10 minutes of city centre and good transport connections. Didn't use the spa and fitness centre but looked good. Average breakfast so used local cafe instead.

Room Tip: Ask for room on 2nd floor or above and select next grade room above standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BVauditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    262
    116
    32
    22
See reviews for
98
256
36
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

The Nestroy hotel is conveniently placed at Rotensterngasse, just a few blocks from Nestroyplatz and its metro station. We stayed there because of a mistake of the tour operator that made our reservations, since our entry dates were wrong for the hotel we had booked originally.

According to the descriptions of other travelers, it seems that we stayed in the renovated area of the hotel. The reception staff was friendly and helpful, and our room was spacious and clean and the accommodation was fair for a couple with two children. However, the hotel had no other activities or amenities for kids; thus, should they come with you make sure to bring along some toys or a video player loaded with cartoons for when they are very tired or if it's raining.

Internet connection is wireless-based and is provided free of charge for hotel guests. It was not the fastest connection I've seen in my life, but was reliable and we could use it to talk via VoIP with our relatives in Brazil.

Breakfast was good and personally I loved the pumpkin seed bread. However, during the staff was not very fond of children - every time our children made noise (and it's natural for children speak aloud, sometimes) we've got somewhat ugly faces from the attendants. I don't know however if this was specific to the hotel (which appeared to be a more business-oriented than a family hotel) or if it was a Viennese thing, since we also had strange looks at the children at other places in Vienna.

In short, it's a good hotel for spending the night and having a good breakfast in the morning to visit places. I can't give 3,5 stars so I've rounded up it to 4, even if the hotel had nothing that was particularly exciting.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Szarastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

We booked a twin room and got a room in the building across the street. No problem. Garage was also across the street. Room was small; only one person could be walking around at a time, but bath was large, modern, and nicely appointed. We especially enjoyed the large tub. Decor was outdated and TV is small, but there are many cable channels to choose from in several languages including English. (But who is watching much TV while visiting Vienna?) We had a large window in our room that looked out the back to the courtyards of adjacent buildings. I was surprised at how quiet the mornings were along with amount of birdsong in the city.

We did not eat breakfast at the hotel but found a pastry or coffee shop along the walk to city centre. The walk is about 20 minutes but on a nice day or night, it is a pretty walk across the river, and you can survey all the eateries along the way. Most of all I enjoyed the quiet neighborhood.

Front desk staff were very helpful, professional, and expedient. Nestroy is not 4-star by North American standards, but it is reliable, decent, and affordable.

Room Tip: If you want to be in the main building, do not book a twin bed room. I believe all the twin rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordan
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Just left vienna and spent one week in Nestroy hotel, my booking was in Nestroy but on check in i discovered that my booking in an opposite hotel under a different name, the staff there said it is the same company, I found it unprofessional to have a booking in a different name.

the hotel is good in a calm area, rooms are spacious as well the bathroom,
the hotel is well served by public transportation,
the hotel gives a free internet serves which i enjoyed very much and was useful to plan where to go everyday, but the net used to be lost many times while you browse,

the bed and the mattress are bad, and uncomfortable, the mattress is thin and hard, the bed gives noises whenever you move!

the coffee tea bar was poor! it has one of each thing only, while we were two in the room, they never thought that we might drink both of us the same!, i told them once to put more and the lady came to the room with a basket of many and i took some for that day by the next day they repeated what they are used to do.

the house keeping is another story,, they knock on the door and opens right away!, they do not give a chance to guests to open! unbelievable,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdayeh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Nestroy, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your stay.
I am not quite sure what you mean with different hotels and different names?! We are running 2 properties under different names – Hotel Nestroy Wien and Hotel Imlauer Wien – both of them are sharing their public areas like lobby, bar, breakfast room, sauna and fitness. The Hotel Nestroy has 2 different builings, which are divided by a small street. Both of those buildings have the same name.
I regret that you experienced some inconveniences with the comfort of our beds – we have changed all of our matresses 2 months ago for the convenience of our guests.
I also apologice for the misunderstanding of refilling your coffee and tea bar and also for the attitude of our housekeeping staff – I already spoke to the person in charge in order to avoid such situations.
It would be a pleasure for me, if you join us another time.

Best regards
Gerald Wlcek
General Manager
Hotels IMLAUER & Nestroy Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Loved this hotel. We were upgraded to a two-floor room on the top floor and having that extra space made a huge difference. So great if one person can't sleep to be able to get up, go downstairs and watch TV or read. Rarely can you do that.

Excellent service, superior attention to detail and nice touches all around. Not the most amazing location in the world, but in this beautiful city you won't be hanging around outside the hotel.

Value is superb here. A 4 star hotel at half of the cost of hotels that are a 5 minute walk away. A no-brainer- book this if you can get it for about 100 Euros.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnersMcG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
imlauer, Leiter Front Office at Hotel Nestroy, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear value guest,
Thank you very much for your nice review.
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards
Daniel Zwieb
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Imlauer Vienna
Imlauer Vienna
#143 of 362 in Vienna
567 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#135 of 362 in Vienna
947 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
1,387 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Vienna
Hotel Vienna
#220 of 362 in Vienna
222 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Novotel Wien City
Novotel Wien City
#118 of 362 in Vienna
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nestroy? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nestroy

Property: Hotel Nestroy
Address: Rotensterngasse 10-12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#122 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,494 - ₹ 13,769
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nestroy 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Nestroy sits on a quiet street, a 15-minute walk from the Prater amusement park with its giant Ferris wheel. Tarborstraße U-Bahn station is 2 blocks away, and it's a 15-minute walk to St. Stephen's Cathedral and the sights of the historic Old Town. The hotel blends a traditional facade with a contemporary interior. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelQuickly, ACCOR and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Nestroy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Imlauer Wien

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing