We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Outstanding in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Hotel Wien
Ranked #23 of 366 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville VA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

Perfect service, perfect room, ideal location. Very professional, courteous staff throughout, from the gracious front desk at check-in, to the knowledgeable concierge desk, to the efficient housekeeping staff, to our delightful Philipina waitress at the Grand Cafe. Loved the individual duvet bedding, luxurious bath, quiet room. We even had a hosen bugler in the closet! One warning- the step up into the combined tub/shower is quite high for anyone with balance issues.
We had an interior deluxe room, quiet with a very comfortable bed. There is a market under the hotel, handy for a nice bottle of wine and food. Easy walk to sights in the old district and the Underground. The spa was under renovation, but the concierge arranged for a massage across the street at a sister hotel.

Room Tip: The deluxe room was a good value for this caliber of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjd190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear 'pjd 190', this is a great review, thank you!! I cannot add more to what you wrote, I am so happy that we were able to make your stay to an unforgettable one, we try to be outstanding in every way, as to your stay we were able to manage that to a 100%......best regards & see you soon at the Grand Hotel Wien!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    742
    211
    48
    14
    17
See reviews for
168
503
51
179
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
california
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

You can often tell the quality of a place by how it handles it problems. Upon our arrival, the Asst. Mgr. Vlady... did a superb job of handling a lost Expedia reservation. After a long 20 hour flight schedule to Vienna, he walked us through what he was going to do, escorted us to the bar for a complimentary drink as he managed our situation, and then came back with several options, being quite frank about the limitations of the first night's offerings. The next day, we received an upgraded room on the 5th floor, with a king bed, away from the elevators and our trip in Vienna began!

We wanted an old world 5 star hotel. The Grand Wein is grand and old, but service might be more of a 4 .5. Service was a tad slow, and the housekeeping not perfecto 5 star, but also no complaints. More importantly, the room was spacious, and accommodating and the double sink bathroom a big upgrade over the cramped room (although queen size accommodations) on the 2nd floor that had a smaller bath. As the days are long this time of year, the blackout curtains were a real plus!
Our friends stayed at the more pricey(and smokey!!) Hotel Bristol, but we LOVED the Grand Wein because of its more open lobby and fantastic indoor/outdoor sunny cafe. Location for both is great for sightseeing and for catching the metro.

Room Tip: be sure to check the room category - not all are the same and bed size was important to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lapwing66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear 'lapwing66', this is such a wonderful review, thank you! Good to read that we handled your arrival smoothly and were able to handle all other issues. Thank you also for your comments on the hotel and our services, much appreciated! Looking forward welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Wien! Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

A good hotel, which with a bit more effort could have been perfect. Stayed for three nights in a deluxe room, which was nice, but a little on the small side. However from looking at the floor plan on the wall, and wandering down the corridor, I realised that a number of the other rooms were actually a fair bit smaller. There was a kettle in the room for making tea, but no coffee was available for the entire stay, strangely. Also for the time we were there, Vienna was staggeringly hot, >30 degrees, and unbelievably for a 5-star hotel, the air conditioning wasn't working for the entire stay, so the room was unbearable at night. Also the hotel spa is being remodelled, so was also unavailable. It did say this on the hotel website before booking, so we were aware, but overall, for £400+ per night, the stay wasn't value for money. The plus side is that all the staff were excellent, without exception, especially at reception and the concierge, and made us feel very welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delory123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Dear 'Delory123', thank you for your review and your comments on our hotel and services. You must know that we have outlined a large and extensive room renovation plan for the next 5 years, hence we will become better (hardware) every year, hence I am looking forward welcoming you again in the near future at the Grand Hotel Wien, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This was a perfect hotel for visiting Vienna. The hotel was beautiful and the room nicely decorated and clean. The staff was very helpful. The hotel is located near the Opera and in walking distance from many of the main attractions.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear 'marionb', great review, thank you, good to read that you liked the location of the hotel, we do have the best location in town. I am also delighted to hear that our staff was very helpful and that you were happy with the overall quality and service of the hotel, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenning Valley Aust
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed for three nights in a beautiful suite. We had a fantastic package with dinner, breakfast, cake with coffee and a piece of their special cake. The best thing about this hotel was the amazing concierge service before our arrival. The concierge arranged so much for us from a box at the opera to overnight rail tickets, dinner reservations and even a hairdresser to come to our room to do my hair for the opera. I was truly blown away by how he went out of his way time and time again. We would stay nowhere else in Vienna!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotelfan1969, General Manager at Grand Hotel Wien, responded to this review, 10 October 2012
Dear 'mrubie', this is such a great review, thank you very much! I am so delighted to read that you liked your stay and the services of the hotel, especially the concierge service. I am looking forward welcoming you again at the Grand Hotel Wien in the very near future, best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Hotel Bristol Vienna
#24 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 925 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 366 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 366 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 366 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Wien

Property: Grand Hotel Wien
Address: Kaerntner Ring 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Vienna
#15 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#28 Business Hotel in Vienna
#44 Family Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,958 - ₹ 25,358
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Wien 5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel Wien is one of the most modern and luxurious hotels in Europe. Its location in the middle of Vienna, just a few steps to the Vienna State Opera and the ,,Kärntner" Street, is incomparable. The deluxe hotel combines noble ambience, best service and gourmet cuisine. The 205 luxurious and technically state-of-the-art rooms and suites guarantee comfort and well-being due to luxury furniture, elegant design and most modern technical equipment. Even the expectations of the most demanding guests are met. Guests can enjoy culinary delights in four restaurants and two bars. Highlights are the traditional Japanese restaurant "Unkai" and the restaurant "Le Ciel by Toni Mörwald", both decorated with numerous awards. Le Ciel by Toni Moerwald is also our Michelin-star awarded gourmet restaurant. The view over the rooftops of Vienna makes every visit at the gourmet restaurant of the Grand Hotel Wien an unforgettable event. Enjoy the extraordinary menus and excellent dishes in an exquisite atmosphere. At the Grand Spa 605, located on the 6th floor of the house, an oasis of tranquillity and wellbeing awaits you. The Spa is equipped with sauna, steam bath, a separate area for women with sauna, steam bath, quiet zone, a cardio area with the latest sports equipment and two treatment rooms with one of the most extensive cosmetics and massage treatments in Vienna. In the second basement, one of Vienna's biggest ballrooms, the "Quadrille" can be found, offering a glamorous ambience for every occasion. On the 4th floor new meeting rooms function for all kind of venues, conferences and press events. The demanding criteria of the prestigious international Green Globe label confirm the green stance of the Grand Hotel Wien on sustainable tourism in all of its establishments. Green Globe is an internationally recognized certification program designed for the travel and luxury tourism industry. Its Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) standards are applicable to several types of structures such as resorts, spas and casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick and Agoda so you can book your Grand Hotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing