We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great hotel, only one small issue” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Secession Wien

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mercure Secession Wien
Ranked #142 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“great hotel, only one small issue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

the staff and the hotell were all most perfect. the room temperature was a little low 22C and the thermostat was stuck on that temperature the rest was ok. I tried to move the thermostat temperature up, but it would go up but the heaters will still be cold.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miro2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dissauer, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear guests,
thank you very much for taking the time to describe your impressions regarding your stay at our hotel. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. Sorry that the temperature was too cold for you in the room.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Best regards
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    301
    93
    25
    19
See reviews for
163
205
56
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2011

The hotel is in a very nice spot near the University. The breakfast is good and the room I had - 331 - was very quiet. I asked for a room away from the street. The staff were mostly nice but they were understaffed. There is a bar which served beer and some beer food.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank plasmablip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dissauer, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear guests,
thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. See you soon in Vienna!
Best regards
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weiden, Germany
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

My wife and I stayed here during a recent trip to Vienna and Budapest and are very glad to have done so.
First off, the location (especially for the price) is great. It is about 1500m to almost all the old city sights. We walked everywhere, and nowhere seemed very far. The neighborhood is upscale university, so a lot of young people around (and areas where they go) but without the noise typically associated with a university area. Plenty of cafes and such nearby as well. Since it was during Christmas time, we could walk to two of the main Christmas Markets in under 15 minutes.
THe hotel its self is also great. The Staff is friendly and accommodating. They have their own parking, but if it is ful, you can use the nearby public garage for the same price (it is next to their private one, so very close). The hotel is glean and well maintained also. Our room was spacious and overlooked the university and main road but it wasn't too loud to sleep with the window open. We had plenty of room and found it quite comfortable. THe bathroom was nearly new (looking) and also much larger than is normal in Europe with a double-sized shower and "rain" shower head. THe additional medicin cabinet was nice for my wife to store her stuff also.
We had breakfast here one morning, and it was very good. THough a bit expensive (compared to a bakery, I suppose) it is very well appointed and worth the price they charge. The breakfast room was comfortable and the staff attentive. It is worth noting, that if you do not wish to have the buffet (15Euro, I think), tehy do have items to order, such as omelets, wich are well priced (I think one ran about 5 Euro), so there are cheaper options for those on a budget.
In the end, I would gladly stay here again and it would be my first choice if returning to Vienna.

Room Tip: THere are non-smoking and smoking rooms, so be sure to choose the one you prefer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krisjand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dissauer, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear guests,
we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Sincerely
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

The Hotel Mercure Secession Vienna is very good. My room was very spacious and had a great bathroom. The bed was very good and the room very quiet. The location is excellent (at 15 min walk to the cathedral). I do not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elisabeth D, Manager at Mercure Secession Wien, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Dear guest,
we very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We will share your comments with the entire team. Your feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
We hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Sincerely,
Elisabeth Dissauer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Inner City
Das Opernring Hotel
Das Opernring Hotel
#107 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Hotel Beethoven Wien
#17 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Viennart am Museumsquartier
Wieden
Hotel Drei Kronen
Hotel Drei Kronen
#169 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Mercure Wien City
Mercure Wien City
#141 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Secession Wien? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Secession Wien

Property: Mercure Secession Wien
Address: Getreidemarkt 5, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#66 Family Hotel in Vienna
#103 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#116 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#130 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,499 - ₹ 10,313
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Secession Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A home away from home, right in the centre of Vienna. Our cosy 4 star hotel is celebrating its 100th anniversary and has been completely renovated to mark the occasion. The Mercure Secession offers a combination of classic Viennese style and modern comfort. Facilities include 70 spacious, airconditioned rooms, suites and apartments, bar with Internet terminal, WLAN in the lobby and private parking. The opera, Stephansdom Cathedral, museums, Ringstrasse and Karntnerstrasse are only a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Secession Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Secession Wien Hotel Vienna
Mercure Hotel Secession Wien
Mercure Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing