We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel right next to the Opera House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #20 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Beautiful hotel right next to the opera house. The service was impeccable. They upgraded us to a Bristol suite and it was amazing. Great hotel bar and breakfast. Very nice gym. Great stay! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Renee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone D, Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Renee L

first please let us extend a big "thank you" for your recent stay at the Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Vienna and for your wonderful review.

We are happy to learn, you enjoyed a great overall stay with us and especially liked our stunning Bristol Suite, to which we were gladly able to upgrade you.

It would be our pleasure, welcoming you back to our lovely property next time you return to Vienna!

Best regards,

Simone Dulies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 101 of 1,572 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017

This hotel is right in the middle of most every place you want to be in Vienna. For those going further afield, the underground and tram are right out in front. The rooms were very comfortable and well-equipped. Breakfasts were very good.
The one thing that I was shocked about was that smoking was allowed in the bar (a rather small bar, at that). Someone was smoking a cigar which caused the whole first floor to reek. It turned me right off, and we went to the neighboring Sacher Hotel, which was non-smoking.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lynne1956SanMateo_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone D, Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear lynne1956SanMateo_CA,

thank you very much for your recent stay at the Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Vienna and for your kind review.

It is great to hear that you are satisfied with the great location of the hotel itself and the room you stayed in and are sorry to read, we did not meet your expectations in regard to the fact, that smoking is allowed in our bar

Smoking is indeed still a controversial issue here in Austria. The bar is the only place where smoking is permitted throughout the hotel, but our smoke free Bristol Lounge is available for our guests for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as for any kind of drinks at any time of the day.

We truly want to apologize for any invonveniences you may have encountered through this, but do hope, your positive memories will remain and we be able to welcome you back next time you return to Vienna.

Kind regards,
Simone Dulies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

This is a beautiful old hotel from the later 1800s. Marble, chandeliers, and yesteryear Viennese flavor. I could imagine myself in a big ballgown walking down those wide staircases. Our room was very large with a fireplace and lovely bathroom. In fact, I had a cold and on the rainy day I didn't go out with everyone else, and couldn't think of a lovelier place to hole up in my room. The opera house was across from our window/balcony and a couple of the nights we were there they had the live performance out on the big screen. The location is superb, right around the corner from Karntner Strasse, the pedestrian shopping streets and an easy walk to the Naschtmarkt (outdoor market).

The service was good, not great like at the Mandarin Oriental in Prague, but decent. The buffet breakfast was really good - get the eggs florentine/benedict. Amazing. However, part of their breakfast buffet was in a small room (where you order omelets, benedict, etc.) and part of the buffet too. Much too small for the amount of people who need to get in there. Not sure what they were thinking. All in all, I would return to stay in this hotel definitely.

Room Tip: Get a view of the opera house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Motherconfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone D, Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Motherconfessor,

first please let us extend a big "thank you" for your recent stay at the Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Vienna and for your wonderful review.

We are happy to learn, you enjoyed a great overall stay with us and especially liked the typical Viennes Charme of our hotel and the classic historical furnishings and ambience, the great location of the hotel as well as the room you stayed in.

It would be our pleasure, welcoming you back to our lovely property next time you return to Vienna!

Best regards,
Simone Dulies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

from the front door you enter a classic hotel with pure 1880 style of decor from marble floors stairs with mirrors inlaid as well the old style elevator has even same decor AND 2 seats repeat seat in elevator restaurant has super service old style headwaiter coat rooms to blow you away each has 4 wardrobes luggage room bathroom got all in marble but a very pricey place to stay I believe it is near 1500 euro a night but believe me it's worth it p.s. around the corner from the opera

Stayed: August 2017
Thank perlubkca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simone D, Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear perlubkca,

first please let us extend a big "thank you" for your recent stay at the Bristol, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Vienna and for your wonderful review.

We are happy to learn, you enjoyed a great overall stay with us and especially liked the typical Viennes Charme of our Hotel and the classic historical furnishings and ambience.

It would be our pleasure, welcoming you back to our lovely property next time you return to Vienna!

Best regards,
Simone Dulies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

The appearance of this survey is very poor. I wrote a long critique in the title which you have probably not seen. The management of The Bristol where I have stayed over many years is suffering. The main elevator was out of service during a conference for more than 50 intl fund managers who probably command more than $100 billion of investments. I will be back, but I hope the service will her back to the level expected of this grand old 19th century hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hippodrome4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#15 of 359 in Vienna
1,228 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,603 reviews
Inner City
The Ring, Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Palais Hansen Kempinski
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#17 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: ₹ 17,544 - ₹ 32,775 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA and Prestigia so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing