We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the Bristol” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bristol Vienna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Bristol Vienna
Ranked #23 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Love the Bristol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

My husband and I and our daughter have stayed here a number of times for business and pleasure. I love it. The old world charm with modern service. We treat ourselves to breakfast in our room whenever we stay. We have been given a complimentary upgrade to a bigger room on occasion which is great, especially when travelling with a small child.

Can't wait to go again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    297
    70
    36
    17
See reviews for
205
570
92
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

The hotel is perfectly located for everything the city has to offer. It is convenient to restaurants, subway,shopping and sightseeing. The staff was gracious and helpful. The rooms are well appointed and charming with a wonderful old world flare. Everything about our week long stay exceeded expectations.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
289 reviews
286 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We enjoyed our three night return visit to the Bristol, which has the best location in Vienna for cultural tourists – opposite the Staatsoper and within walking distance of other major music venues, the Museum Quarter, the Hofburg and the Stephansdom.

The Bristol’s style is classic five star luxury – its elegant traditional decor with art nouveau and art deco overlays is combined with effortless service and well equipped rooms, many looking directly to the Staatsoper. All the staff we met were helpful and attentive.

We thought our prepaid room rate of $340 good in context but the minimum (and minimal) breakfast cost $40 +, which we thought poor value. (There are alternatives nearby). A major irritant was the painfully slow and expensive WiFi service ($25 a day).

We enjoyed dinner in Korso - the hotel's famous restauarant - but thought it did not quite live up to its reputation or our recollection of our previous visit.

The Bristol is not only a good base but a pleasant destination. Recommended as a treat to those not on a low budget.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Madame, Sir, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. I am glad to read that you had a nice stay experience. The feedback of our most valued guests gives us the opportunity to maintain and improve our levels of service. With regards to breakfast I would like to inform you that we have also cheaper alternatives available within the hotel - so could you order also a la carte the items and therefore pay only what you choose. I regret that you did not enjoy our restaurant as much as you did during previous visits. We are going to evaluate our offerings in the restaurant and would like to assure you that we will work on an improvement in this regard. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future to the Hotel Bristol! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The hotel is perfectly located across from the Opera house and at the entrance to the wonderful pedestrian shopping streets. The hotel has a unique and intersting interior and the rooms are spectacular - at least the ones facing the opera house. The staff are the most friendly and helpful hotel employees that I have had the pleasure of meeting in quite a while. It's the staff that moved this rating from very good to excellent.

Room Tip: Face the opera house
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Micki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Madame, Sir, thank you for your review posted on Trip Advisor. It is with great pleasure to learn that you had a great experience at our hotel. I am very proud of my associates who are trained to deliver the best possible service at all times. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
181 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is, on balance, one of the three best hotels I've ever stayed at. We were there for five nights, and it was hard to leave. It's also cheaper, by a good bit, than the Imperial and the Sacher. The Imperial is just a few blocks away, but further from the center of things, so the location, especially being mainly on the Ringstrasse, is not as good. If one puts the point of a compass on the Bristol and draws circles, one will consistently find that it is most convenient to all the most important cultural sites, on the whole. The Sacher is a few steps closer to Stephansplatz, but it sort of sits in the shadow behind the Opera, whereas the Bristol faces the Opera directly, but separated by a large plaza, so the grandeur of the Opera is heightened, as is the graciousness of the hotel's space. It's a truly grand hotel with the grandest location. The decoration inside is opulent (with just a tiny bit of faded elegance here and there -- a somewhat worn tufted leather seat in the elevator, an older grate over the fireplace -- which makes it seem more real and appealing); the quality of bathrooms and furniture, bedding, carpeting, etc., is superior. We weren't environmentally friendly, I'm afraid, and let them replace the fabulous sheets every day; it is, after all, a luxury hotel, and one wants to enjoy every bit of the luxury. The toiletries are outstanding, a brand I didn't know, but wonderfully scented soap, not overpowering, and some of the best shampoo we've had. The double shower -- rainshower and incredibly powerful hand-held -- were, just like everything else in the bathroom, best quality. The long entrance hallway to the room and the entire bathroom are covered in lovely yellow and white marble and some black stone (wasn't entirely sure what it was) -- very luxurious. A walk in closet off that hallway, and then great, big original closets along the wall of the room itself, mirrored (per original design: framed and beveled glass), facing the window/balcony. The twin beds (made up either separately or together as a king) are outstanding: quite firm, so that one is a little concerned at first, but superb quality, so that they are very supportive but also give in the right places. I didn't have a single moment of discomfort in five nights. The buffet breakfast included in our rate was outstanding and augmented by being able to order made to order food from the kitchen: I'm an eggs benedict lover and had them every morning -- not entirely classic because the meat is not Canadian bacon, but the most perfectly poached and delicious eggs (European eggs have a much darker yellow yolk and are much more flavorful than most pale American eggs) and an exceptionally good Hollandaise. Plus there is the full buffet, with great meats, cheeses, huge variety of outstanding breads and rolls, superb marmalades and jams, and on and on. The hotel staff is outstanding: unobtrusive, but always there when you need them, extremely friendly and helpful, making one feel completely welcome. For information: we had a Deluxe room on the 4th floor with a 'standing balcony' with fabulous views of the Opera and in other directions, too. We got a great deal -- Taste of Luxury -- which gave us 5 nights for the price of four and included the breakfast for two every day. While certainly not cheap -- it worked out to 280 Euros per night -- it was a fabulous deal for a hotel like this, for that room, for that view, for that location, and all including a breakfast that meant we could just snack for lunch and make it to dinner just fine, even with hours of walking, and then have a good appetite for dinner at one of the many excellent restaurants in Vienna (you do have to know where to go: everyone will tell you Plachutta for Tafelspitz, which is a big mistake; the best Tafelspitz in Vienna is at the Rote Bar at the Sacher Hotel and at Rudi's Beisl; Café Landtmann's is also very good; I almost hesitate to say where the best Veal Gulasch with Nockerln is, since it's lovely and not touristy, but I'll say so anyway: Oswald und Kalb; probably the best Fiakergulasch is at Hansy at the beginning of Heinestrasse on the Praterstern; the concierge pointed out a great restaurant, with its related Beisl across the street, not very far from the hotel: Huth's; my very favorite restaurant in Vienna, ever since I first went there 17 years ago, and it was fantastic this time again, is Schnattl in the Lange Gasse -- very simple, classical elegance, outstanding, inventive, absolutely freshly prepared, best ingredients, and the chef/owner is a true artist, plus they have great Austrian wines and very knowledgeable waiters). Well, I could go on and on, but will finish simply by saying that, if I can afford it, I'll stay at the Hotel Bristol in Vienna anytime I can.

Room Tip: As stated above: having a deluxe room on a higher floor facing the Opera will make for the best poss...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waehlerisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Madame / Sir, thank you very much for your kind review posted on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you had such a great experience at our hotel. We have read your detailed review with great interest - and of course we are very pleased to learn from it that in so many aspects you appreciated your stay at the Hotel Bristol. All I can say, we will keep up our focus on service and on delivering the best possible experience for every guest staying with us. Again, thank you for your patronage. It will be our greatest pleasure to welcome you back in the not too distant future to the Hotel Bristol. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Imperial Vienna
Hotel Imperial Vienna
#14 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
Inner City
The Ring
The Ring
#28 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Inner City
Grand Hotel Wien
Grand Hotel Wien
#26 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Inner City
The Ritz-Carlton, Vienna
Inner City
Park Hyatt Vienna
Park Hyatt Vienna
#5 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bristol Vienna? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bristol Vienna

Property: Hotel Bristol Vienna
Address: Kaerntner Ring 1, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City , Innere Stadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Business Hotel in Vienna
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#31 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 19,213 - ₹ 30,021
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Bristol Vienna 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Hotel Bristol Vienna is located right next to the Vienna State Opera and has been an inspiring meeting point for Vienna's cultural and business life for around 120 years. Opened in 1892, the hotel still serves as a living example of Viennese charm and is famous for its personalised service and even offers a specialised service for those who wish to bring their pets along. Let the Luxury Collection Concierges be your guides to Vienna. They will gladly give you valued tips of places for inspirational encounters and experiences. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bristol Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bristol Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing