We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,702)
Filter reviews
1,702 results
Traveller rating
1,178
373
84
39
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,178
373
84
39
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews opera house old world luxury collection opera suite starwood points walk in closet luxury hotel concierge staff small balcony perfect location marble bathroom turn down service state opera beautiful hotel deluxe room beautiful room sitting area
Filter
Updating list...
1,167 - 1,172 of 1,702 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Elegant, very old hotel. We loved it. Dominik at the front desk is the best! He checked us in with efficiency and helped us with our rental car return. It was Sunday and we had to return the rental car and did not know where we were going or how we would get back to the hotel. Dominik arranged for a taxi to meet us in one hour. Thank goodness because this was in the middle of nowhere....not a taxi to be found. Our taxi showed up right on time...thank you Dominik. He is clearly proud to work there.
Our room was overlooking the Opera, we even had a tiny balcony that you could stand out on. Make sure you splurge for this view. The Opera now has a live stream of whatever is playing outside of the Opera so anyone can sit and listen without paying....we did this from our hotel balcony. Great hotel, great location, just beautiful. Thank you!

Room Tip: Upgrade to get a room facing the Opera!
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank parisparis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRISTOL_VIE_GM, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2011

Dear Sir / Madame, thank you for your kind review which you posted on Trip Advisor. It makes me very proud to receive such great feedback from you - especially your kind comments about one of my associates. Our associates are our asset and we are very proud to have such great individuals working for us that make the difference! Thanks again for your great comments and please do visit us soon again! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Hotel Bristol good locations. Hotel crews very good. I was stayed deluxe room. . It was very comfortable. I think breakfast very expensive :( But very good service .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azor68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenerHirschGerald, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2011

Dear Sir / Madame, thank you for your kind notes posted on trip advisor. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your stay. With regards to your comments on our breakfast please note that we have also less expensive breakfast options available (such as a la carte order or continental style breakfast). We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

stayed there for 3 nights. Wonderful location right next to the opera house and close to all shopping. Hotel is in an old building with a lot of history but i personally found the rooms small -especially when I was upgraded to the executive suite on the 5th floor. Would have preferred a normal room on the 3rd floor with a full window. Staff were fantastic. Bar was very basic.Great if you don't plan to spend much time in the hotel.

Room Tip: ordinary rooms are better laid out that executive upgraded rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenerHirschGerald, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

We have also spacious rooms in the hotel!
Dear Sir / Madame, thank you for your kind comments on Trip Advisor especially about our location and the character about our building as well as my associates. With regards to the room sizes allow me to add that we do also have spacious Deluxe rooms available that are located throughout the hotel. When placing a reservation kindly request this type. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to Vienna and to our hotel! Kind regards, Gerald R. Krischek / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel's location across from the opera house is perfect for a stay in Vienna. The manager of the hotel, Riccardo Giacometti, did everything possible to make our stay a memorable one. He upgraded our room to an opera view which was beautiful and for a special occasion sent a lovely bottle of champagne to our room with fresh fruit . It was a lovely touch to our visit.. The staff did everything possible to make us comfortable. The concierge was excellent in getting us good seats to the opera and to assist us with our visit for the first time to Vienna. I highly recommend this hotel for its location and lovely accomodations and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wallace s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenerHirschGerald, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Sir / Madame, thank you very much for your kind comments posted on Trip Advisor. It makes me of course very proud to read such complimenting words. It would be a great pleasure for us to welcome you back in the future!
For and on behalf of all my associates - Kind regards
Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This hotel has a great location, although a bit tricky if you arrive by car. there is parking nearby but a bit of a hike upstairs with bags. The hotel staff are welcoming and helpful with plenty of assistance available for your bags. The decor of this hotel is quite grand, lots of brass and dark wood. The hotel bar is cosy (If you don't mind smoke), and there are plenty of comfortable chairs to enjoy a drink in the lounge (no smoking).
The rooms were small (Mine was almost like a sea cabin in style) but very comfortable.
I really liked the atmosphere the old building and decor created and whilst a little worn in places, I think it mostly added to it's charm.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bladerama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoldenerHirschGerald, General Manager at Hotel Bristol Vienna, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2011

Dear Sir / Madame, thank you for your kind review posted on Trip Advisor. Allow me to respond that we do offer valet service for guests arriving by car. Guests just need to drop off their key to the door man once they arrive and we will take care of all the rest. With regards to the room size kindly note it really depends on the floor and category booked. The largest rooms are our Deluxe rooms (most of them facing the opera house). Thank you again for commenting so nicely on the atmosphere of our hotel. We want to have our guests to experience personal service delivered with a touch of Viennese Luxury of a Grand Hotel. Please visit us again in future! For and on behalf of all my associates,
Gerald R. Krischek - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews