We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“applied and contemporary art”

MAK - Austrian Museum of Applied Arts / Contemporary Art
Book In Advance
More Info
US$ 102.90*
and up
Vienna Secession Art Walking Tour
Ranked #50 of 570 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The MAK – Austrian Museum of Applied Arts / Contemporary Art is one of the most important museums of its kind worldwide. Founded as the Imperial Royal Austrian Museum of Art and Industry in 1863, today’s museum—with its unique collection of applied arts and as a first-class address for contemporary art—can boast an incomparable identity. Originally established as an exemplary source collection, today’s MAK Collection continues to stand for an extraordinary union of applied art, design, contemporary art and architecture. In temporary exhibitions, the MAK presents various artistic stances from the fields of applied arts, design, architecture, contemporary art, and new media, with the mutual relationships between them being a consistently emphasized theme. The institution’s multifaceted mission allows for varied approaches, opening up new perspectives from which to regard historical relationships and offering frequent glimpses at artistically and societally relevant developments that are just beginning to appear on the horizon. The MAK, which defines itself as a laboratory of societal knowledge, is a place of collecting, research, preservation, education, and interactive learning, as well as a site of human encounters, interaction, and intercreativity. Thanks not least to its international branches and cross-border activities, the museum is also a forum of intercultural and artistic exchange as well as of fruitful dialog with designers, artists, and architects.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Lockers / storage, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase
Vienna
Level Contributor
74 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“applied and contemporary art”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

lovely building in central location at stubenring 5, 1010 Vienna
every tuesday evening 6 pm to 10 pm free admission
I especially like their seating furniture exhibition ;-)

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank jaeger_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    101
    34
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Seeing the Viennese impact on design”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Also known as the MAK, this museum is located on the ring and easily accessible on the Tram #2. It focuses on applied arts and design and is open free on Saturdays. Highlights of the permanent exhibition for us were the displays of Wiener Werkstatte (including all the furniture design drawings from this studio), Jugendstil (art deco & nouveau), Renaissance baroque, and Biedermeier. We spent a lot of time studying the salon friezes by Klimt and Margaret McDonald which my wife and I found to be quite fascinating. There's also a very interesting hall where various bentwood style chairs are backlit to allow you to focus on the interaction of their graceful designs.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dennis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
277 reviews
201 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Relaxed design museum”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We have visited this museum several times. On Saturday admission is free so this is good time to stop in. I think children and students are admitted free at any time. We have never found it crowded. There is a very nice restaurant and the shop is fun with lots of interesting contemporary gifts. Among many other things, there are outstanding collections of Biedermeier furniture, very old lace, glassware, textiles and ceramics. A large area is devoted to the Wiener Workstatte and Art Nouveau with exquisite furniture, lamps and other items used in homes. There are even some work drawings by Gustav Klimt for a frieze. Especially interesting is the Frankfurt Kitchen designed by Margarete Schutte-Lihotzky and used in about 10,000 municipal housing apartments at the time. The ideas for a small, workable yet inexpensive kitchen are taken for granted in kitchen design today. The building itself is as impressive architecturally as most Vienna museums. The cavernous central lobby has comfortable sofas where locals seem to hang out, and the restaurant also seems like a place where locals linger.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank tallpinesCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Free admission on Saturdays! Go!!”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I had no plans to go until I had a free Saturday afternoon and found out that admission was free. The exhibits were really neat and some of the furniture on display was simply amazing. The gift shop had really fun stuff as well.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank MarkB18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“go to the 'mak' only if you are in the area on saturday(free)”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We went here on Saturday when it was free and we still didn't care for this museum. My husband did enjoy the 50 cent e coffee vending machine by the couches. He said the coffee was actually better than what we got at our hotel. It did cost 2e to check the backpack @ the entrance. We went a bit out of way to come here, which we regretted. It is probably worth it though if you are already in the area and it is Saturday (free). I definitely would not recommend it at the usual price of 8 euro

Helpful?
Thank plgarlepied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed MAK - Austrian Museum of Applied Arts / Contemporary Art also viewed

 

Been to MAK - Austrian Museum of Applied Arts / Contemporary Art? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing