We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Austrian cuisine, personable service, reasonable prices” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zu den drei Hacken

Zu den drei Hacken
Ranked #137 of 3,996 Restaurants in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Austrian, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Inner City
Crozet, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Austrian cuisine, personable service, reasonable prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

This restaurant was recommended by our hotel concierge for excellent typical Austrian cuisine in a casual atmosphere and with reasonable prices. We were not disappointed on any count, plus the service was both friendly and efficient. The Wienerschnitzel and potato salad were excellent, as was the wide selection of Austrian wines.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wahoo71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    154
    44
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unfriendly waiters, mediocre food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2011

Because of the very high rating we reserved for 4 persons on our first night in Vienna. The restaurant is with 350 years old the most ancient Gasthaus in Vienna.

We were put in a corner at a table with wooden benches that ache your behind. We ordered soup (tasteless) , Wiener schnitzel and Tablespitz. Maybe the chef had an off-day but we didn't like any of the food.

When we wanted to pay, the bill still hadn't come 10 minutes later. So we went to the chef at the cashregister to pay but he said: you should have stayed at your table.

No, we didn't like this restaurant.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank sdnl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Typical restaurant with Austrian atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

I went to this restaurant several times while i was in Wien, it is close to Stephansplatz , in 10 minutes walk you can reach it. It is mandatory to reserve beacuse there is usually a lot of people. The food is very typical, soups with liver knodel, meat and so on. It is a place where to go if you want to taste "Wiener" atmosphere without spending too much money. The wines are expensive but good , but the waiter was not so friendly an prepered on the wine's kind. The quality vs price is good. I suggest this place to go almost one time if you are in Wien

  • Visited January 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sunsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I should not recommend it.....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2010

No, I really should not do that. Because we like the place so much that any recommandation will make it harder to get a table there. It is simply one of the best places to eat within the inner city of Vienna (if you want traditional vienna food). Try the liver-dumpling soup or the veals brain (yes, no joke). They have a list of excellents wines as well.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Reklamedichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
477 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Had good food and wine while sitting outside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

This restaurant was recommended by Rick Steves as a good typical wine celler. We sat outside and had good, reasonably price food and wine. It was near the cathedral and was very enjoyable.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim_atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zu den drei Hacken also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Zu den drei Hacken? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing