We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite Good!”
Review of Hotel Riede

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Riede
Ranked #15 of 110 Vienna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saronno, Italy
Level Contributor
239 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Quite Good!”
Reviewed 9 December 2010

My first choice was Altwienerhof Hotel, but there were some bad reviews especially for the family room and so I finally find Gasthof Riede.
I choose to spend 4 days in this gasthof after reading positive feedback on tripadvisor.
The owners were almost always (see below about breakfast) very kind and available. They also gave us a bottle of their wine as a present when we checked out.
The building is quite old but well kept, pleasantly decorated. There is a lift, rooms are spacious with TV and wifi connection.

What I liked most
------------------------
The rooms are huge and clean. Room cleaning is daily. Our room (27) was very quiet especially in the twin room. The quality of the sleep was good.
The shower was very relaxing!
It is well located, just in front of Niederhofstrasse stop of U6 underground. You can reach Schonbrunn in 10 minutes walk or the city centre in 15 minutes by metro.
We were in 2nd floor and the wi-fi connection was quite good.

There is a typical and cheap restaurant named "Quell" (reindrfgasse,18) 10 minutes walking from the Hotel (north direction).


What I dislike most
-----------------------------
We stay in the apartment in which there are 2 bathroom but, one is a small room with only the toilet bowl, while the second has only a shower and a sink.
What I do not understand is why the price for the apartment is 38 € per person per night, while a triple room is 99€ (33€ per person per night), since there is no a kitchen or something like it and there are no two real bathrooms. In my opinion the higher price is not totally justified.
The BREAKFAST does not fulfill all the hygienic conditions: there were big bowls of yogurt with raspberry, blueberry and blackberry (which was indeed very good) but one morning I find an hair inside and we didn't know about the expiry date of the yogurt.
One morning we decided to have a small breakfast and prepare one sandwich for the morning , but the owner advice us that it was not possible to take away anything. Quite unfriendly, since it was only a way to gain some time, not certainly to steal something.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simonspassion4Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    32
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
31
41
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2010

We went there for New Year's ( first time in Vienna) and it was one of the best value hotel we found. The neighborhood is not that great, but the U-bahn is just 50 meters away and that was a great plus. There's a supermarket in front of he hotel and a bakery behind it. The rooms are really clean( cleaned every day) and I loved the pillows....The owners are really nice and we also received champagne on New Year's. What I did not like was the lack of variety at breakfast ( same thing every day) but then the coffee was plenty and great.
I'd go there again but i think i would request an upper room ( just because i would feel safer, not being a fan of the ground floor)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mihaelac23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

In making my arrangements for our 8 weeks in Europe, this was one of my best decisions. Right on the corner, with street parking across the street, it has a lift to all rooms. The room was extremely large and airy and immaculate, as was the ensuite bathroom.

Although we had a little trouble with their internet system, I would highly recommend this as a great place to stay. The location was terrific, one short block from the metro, and a wonderful restaurant, called Das Styria on Mandigasse 20, two blocks from the hotel was fantastic. It was recommended by the owner of the hotel. The breakfast was very good and fresh. There was a little noise the first night from the street, but if you pull down your outside shades, there is complete quiet. Great stay in Vienna. When we go back we will defintely stay there.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2009

Having just returned from our second trip to Vienna, I am very, very happy that, when it came to booking accommodation, I spent no time looking for an alternative to Gasthof Pension Riede.

We occupied again a triple room, this time on the 3rd floor (I requested a room on an upper floor at the time of booking); I found the room outstanding in every way: size -large enough for 3 people sharing not to feel cramped -, ammenities, cleanliness, comfort, attention to detail and the beds really comfy. Both room and bathroom were kept immaculately clean during our stay.
The buffet breakfast was something to wait for every morning (that fruit yogurt really is yummy) and was always served with a smile.
While the pension is situated slightly outside the city centre, with the U-bahn (metro)
stop on the doorstep, getting to the centre couldn't be easier; also, the location is extremely convenient for visiting Schoenbrunn - you can walk in 10 minutes.

All in all, I will stay there again in a heartbeat and would recommend Gasthof Pension Riede to anyone ; the value for money is great and the personal touches are something you just cannot get in a large, chain hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cosmopolitan_Lorelai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#74 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Mariahilf
K&T Boardinghouse
K&T Boardinghouse
#2 of 110 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Fabrik
#10 of 110 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Mariahilf
Pension Kraml
Pension Kraml
#8 of 110 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riede? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riede

Property: Hotel Riede
Address: Niederhofstrasse 18, Vienna 1120, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Vienna
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,841 - ₹ 7,658
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riede 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect location of our Art-Deco hotel makes sightseeing easy. You will be situated in the heart of the City and only minutes away by Underground from Schoenbrunn Castle and our famed opera house and musical- theaters.Our comfortable and well-equipped rooms and apartments all have private baths and come with satellite-TV, mini-bar and direct-line dialing telephone service.A sumptuous, full breakfast is served in our cozy dining room by our friendly and courteous staff. A parking garage is also available to our guests upon request.During your stay you will be looked after by our family, who will do their utmost to make your stay in Vienna as memorably enjoyable as possible.The Riede Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Riede reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing