We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey, but a fun way to travel between the cities!”
Review of Twin City Liner

Twin City Liner
Ranked #122 of 783 things to do in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Twin City Liner links Vienna and Bratislava, center to center. From Schwedenplatz in Vienna to Bratislava´s Old Town. The Twin City Liner is a high-speed catamaran which speeds up to 70 km/h. It also provides a high level of comfort. The catamaran is fully air-conditioned and equipped with luxurious first-class seating, panoramic windows, an open-air deck, an additional passenger cabin Captais Lounge) and outdoor seats on sun deck. The catering service board offers snacks, drinks and souvenirs. Travelling time: 75-90 minutes. The best way to discover Vienna and Bratislava!
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Travelled from Vienna to Bratislava on the Twin City and it did cost more than a train/ coach would have done, but it was fun. The Danube wasn't particularly scenic but the fishing cottages on the sides of the river was interesting. Also before arriving at Bratislava, we passed Devin castle which was a nice sight. Very windy on the deck, but fun! We were hardly in the seats we booked. Also as we were staying on a boat upon arriving in Bratislava, it made sense to have made the journey by river. We also found our hotel very easily as it was about 15 minutes' walk away on the river. The journey on Twin City took about 1.5 hours - time well spent. Defo recommended!!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank doofvfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"day trip"
in 32 reviews
"boat ride"
in 13 reviews
"devin castle"
in 9 reviews
"reserved seats"
in 6 reviews
"return ticket"
in 6 reviews
"captain's lounge"
in 4 reviews
"pleasant journey"
in 4 reviews
"great trip"
in 8 reviews
"high speed boat"
in 3 reviews
"boat leaves"
in 3 reviews
"national park"
in 2 reviews
"city cruise"
in 2 reviews
"bratislava castle"
in 2 reviews
"danube river"
in 9 reviews
"open deck"
in 2 reviews
"nice ride"
in 3 reviews
"ticket office"
in 8 reviews
Filter

39 - 43 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2017 via mobile

I went with my parents (in their 60's) for a day out to Bratislava. Cruising down the Danube through the Donauauen National Park to Slovakia's capital is something I've been wanting to do for years and we had perfect summer weather for it.

Boarding at Vienna's Schwedenplatz, just by the U Bahn and tram stops was easy, fuss free and suitable for less mobile / wheelchair passengers.
We had reserved the front row of 3 on the main deck, affording us spectacular views without getting wind blown as you'd be on the outside upper deck. Lavatories, a luggage rack and a kiosk selling hot and cold drinks and snacks was provided and the outside decks are accessible (upper deck only via stairs) from the rear of the vessel.
The journey is a tranquil one, through nature and past fishing lodges and hilltop castles. At just under 1.5 hours I found it relaxing, not boring as some reviews have commented.
We had book our Twin City tickets online together with a bus (little oldtimer vehicle) tour through Bratislava and to the castle. The bus tour started right by the mooring point and timed to accommodate passengers from our cruise. It had recorded commentary in several languages and was very informative. A 15 minute stop at the castle allowed for a brief stroll through the courtyard before concluding the 90 minute tour.

With another 3 hours before our return cruise we embarked on a walking tour, following loosely what would have been the old town bus tour (it was highlighted on the map handed out on the ship) and with the help of Google (I hadn't brought a guide book with me) we were our own tour guides.
Bratislava is a compact city with a beautiful old town and the cobbled streets are filled with shops, stalls and sights and sounds.

We found a local restaurant (Sladovňa) for an early dinner which I'll review separately.

Our return cruise departed on time, we enjoyed the sights along the way once more and arrived back in Vienna to a beautiful sunset.
A brilliant day out, two European capital cities in one day.

Taking the ship both ways may not be the cheapest way to go between Vienna and Bratislava, but for us it was "just the ticket".

Date of experience: July 2017
4  Thank SabineBogeCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

I recently travelled on the Twin City Liner from Vienna to Bratislava and I must say it beats all modes of travel between the two cities. It only takes 75 minutes and during that time you speed along at up 70km per hour across the water and down the Danube which is really exhilarating. There are also lovely views along the way and I would highly recommend it.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank JOC834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017 via mobile

Took the cruiser from Vienna to Bratislava. There seems to be an issue with the 9am boat being cancelled at the moment so was pleased to have gone for the 8:30am departure and booked the day before online. Perfectly pleasant trip, got the train back, well worth looking round Bratislava for the day.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank HappyHolidays074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2017

We used Twin City Liner as a fast and fun connection between Bratislava and Vienna (Swe-denplatz). You can book your tickets online and even pre-select your seats on the jetfoil. Several connections per day between Vienna and Bratislava and back. Price (single journey) : depending of your seat selection and hour of the day between 20-40€/pp. Duration 1h30, max speed 70km/h. 3 days later we returned to Bratislava by train for 10,50€/pp, duration 1h00, a cheaper, faster AND reliabel alternative but not so interesting.
BUT : one day before our departure (13/07) there were 2 departures canceled (for whatever reason), and the day of our departure (14/07) again several departures canceled (“technical reason” ???) so, don’t rely on the departure times if you want to connect to your plane in Bratislava or Vienna !

Date of experience: July 2017
3  Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Twin City Liner also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 
Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Twin City Liner? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing