We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Vienna bus tour” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vienna Sightseeing Tours

Vienna Sightseeing Tours
Book In Advance
US$ 80.76*
and up
Melk Abbey and Danube Valley Day Trip from Vienna
Ranked #24 of 102 Tours in Vienna
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We have been organising city tours and trips in & around Vienna since 1972. Our aim is to show tourists the beauty of Vienna and its surrounding areas. As market leader we stand for excellent organisation, personal service and a vast variety of interesting tours. Experienced TOUR guides & tours in many different languages Our TOUR guides are certified, they speak several languages and have been working for us for many years. Our programme includes numerous TOURS in & around Vienna, as well as to Salzburg, Budapest, Prague and Bratislava. The majority of tours are offered in German, English and Spanish. Some tours can also be booked in French, Italian, Japanese and Russian. HOP ON HOP OFF bus tour Apart from the huge number of TOURS, we offer a HOP ON HOP OFF service with more than 50 stops throughout Vienna. Along the 6 HOP ON HOP OFF lines you will find many popular tourist attractions of Vienna: Schonbrunn Palace, Hofburg (former emperor's palace), Vienna State Opera, Prater (leisure park), Giant Ferris Wheel, Belvedere Palace and many more. Our special bonus: with one ticket you can hop on or hop off as often as you like. In addition to our coach tours, we offer boat cruises on the Danube and the Danube canal in cooperation with the DDSG Blue Danube as well as a ride in a horse-drawn carriage through the city center. Moreover, each HOP ON HOP OFF ticket includes a free guided walking tour. VIP SERVICE for individual city tours Our special VIP SERVICE has been created for guests that are seeking an individual city tour. We plan the tour programme for you, organise a limousine or luxury minibus, book tickets for cultural events and arrange inside visits of tourist attractions in your native language.
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Vienna bus tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We decided to take the Vienna bus tour as opposed to the hop-on-hop-off tour due to the negative reviews of the latter tour. Overall, this tour was good. The tour guide, Ingrid, was excellent, informative, funny and organized. However, we anticipated that we would be getting out of the bus more frequently and this was not the case. You get a good sense of the city via tour bus and there is one stop at the major castle in the city where you have the chance to walk the gardens or have a coffee. Otherwise, expect to stay on the bus for a ride through the city. I would only recommend this tour to those who do not want to be too active yet who would like to see the city in a few hours. We also found it very expensive for what you reap from the tour.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LaPuce11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

627 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    170
    98
    101
    131
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
princeton, nj
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Loved bus tour in London, Vienna bus tour just OK”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

If you go to New York or London, the bus tours are a must. I would not say the same for the Vienna bus tour. Vienna is a really clean city with lovely people, but the fact of the matter is that Vienna is just not that big. You can pretty much walk wherever you need to go. Once you get on the bus, there are headsets at each seat and the headsets stay with the seat, so you are using the headphones of the person that just left that seat - a bit unsanitary. You can set the tour language once you get to your seat, but at times, the prerecorded tour was a bit ahead of or behind schedule and it wasn't entirely clear which building I was supposed to be looking at. The tour is broken down into three sections each having it's own color--red, green and blue, with red being the tour that goes around the city center. The red tour takes about one hour and the bus stops for a long time at each stop, probably to kill some time. The entire red loop is approx. 4K so that is only about 2.5 miles for the whole ride. I would say that if you are traveling with children or older people who cannot get around easily, then take the one hour red option and skip the green and blue tours. If you are mobile, once you get to Vienna, you can easily walk through the city to the destinations that you choose. Vienna has a lot of history, is fun and the people all seem to speak English very well. My advice would be to skip the bus tour and have a cup or tea or coffee or a beer at a local cafe as see Vienna by walking through it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank lovestotravel321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwoelfer, Manager at Vienna Sightseeing Tours, responded to this review, 7 May 2012
To whom it may concern.

We are very sorry that you had such an impression but would like to point out that you would never receive such competent and extensive information on any other tour about Vienna than ours.
We are working on a new ear phone system.

Best regards from Vienna.

Franz Zwölfer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hop on board”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

Perhaps we were lucky but we had a good experience of the Hop on, Hop off bus. We arrived by Twin City Liner about midday and then got on the red route stop over the road 20 euro 24 hour ticket. We did the red route tour and later in the afternoon did the blue route tour. The blue tour was 30 minutes late but it does warn you they can be delayed due to traffic. The following morning we did the green route. The buses were clean and comfortable and it was a good value way of seeing the city. None of the buses we got were particularly busy but like I say maybe we were lucky!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Ch00sewisely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Serbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hop on hop off bus”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

We were in Vienna at the weekend and paid 20 euros Each for a 24 hour pass DO NOT BOTHER WITH THIS TOUR the buses are totally full and you can wait up to 1 hour to board one there is no proper queuing system you are not able to sit next to your friends and are lucky even to get on together basically there are not enough busses running and you will waste your time it is quicker and cheaper to catch a tram and buy a guide book

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Christinerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwoelfer, Manager at Vienna Sightseeing Tours, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Chris,

Your are rigth - we also were not very happy with the celebrations on 1st of May because of delays etc. although we added 2 buses.
When ever you are in Vienna again we would like to invite you to our HOP ON HOP OFF that you can see how smoothly the operation usually (without celebrations) is.

Best regards.

Franz Zwölfer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

While staying in Bratislava, we took a day trip to Vienna. On our arrival at the first stop of the tour (outside the opera house) at around 11.45, there were 3 large queues. An older gentleman served us and seemed more intent on grabbing our money than actually serving us - he was holding conversations with 3 parties at the same time and it was difficult to get our questions answered unless they were relating to how much money we were passing over. We paid €20 for the day ticket then ended up walking to St Stephens as it was approx 30°C and we didn't want to wait in the midday heat - it was very difficult to tell whether we would be able to join the next bus given the large queues.

We then joined a red line bus - having to elbow our way to the front of the 'queue' despite having waiting the longest - and the tour itself was interesting, although we had to use the headphones left in the seats and used by who knows how many others before us. Several of these were also broken, and there did not appear to be any checks by the bus staff to replace faulty headphones.

On return to the opera house, we were aiming to join the next blue line tour and were told this was actually running less frequently than timetabled due to bus shortages. The staff spoke to us and answered our queries as if they were overly busy and it was a huge hassle to them, and no one was particularly helpful or friendly. We ended up only having time to take 2 of the 3 tours available due to the lack of communication about this bus shortage.

The tour itself covers a lot of the beautiful city, and the content is interesting - it was simply the poor customer service, the overcrowding and the lack of communication from the staff which reduce this rating.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank LM82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwoelfer, Manager at Vienna Sightseeing Tours, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
1st May is due to the celebrations on that day not so easy to handle.
We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused to you due to that reason.
May we offer you free tickets when you are planning a trip to Vienna again as a little token of compensation?

Best regards from Vienna.

Franz Zwölfer
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vienna Sightseeing Tours also viewed

Vienna, Vienna Region
Vienna, Vienna Region
 

Been to Vienna Sightseeing Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing