We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (317)
Filter reviews
317 results
Traveller rating
163
122
20
7
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
122
20
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cable car one night few minutes lake constance breakfast buffet free parking clean hotel family run hotel minute walk lovely hotel bars and restaurants small hotel opera festival other hotels very friendly and helpful staff quiet location walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 317 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good place to stay for a couple of days on a road trip with covered parking under the hotel or on the forecourt. Central quiet location, short walk to the lakeside or Pfanderbahn cable car. Comfortable rooms of “Premier Inn” standard. Large roof top terrace. Good breakfast selection (including fresh berries to add to your cereal). Restaurant/bar closed on Sunday and Monday - No big deal as menu overpriced and there is an alternative better place to eat/drink around the corner (Gasthaus Zeigerle). Abstract figurines of “ladies” with their boobs out litter the hotel foyer – Bizarre.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stutt21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara F, Front Office at Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Tripadvisor-Member!

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback with us! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.
It is really important to us to use regional and fresh products for our breakfast buffet and also in our restaurant. We regret that you did not enjoy our excellent cuisine and would be pleased to spoil you on your next visit to our restaurant to convince you of the opposite to your opinion.

The figurines and pictures of ladies in the hotel foyer are mady by a local artist and this is her way of expressing femininism. A lot of your guests like these pictures and figures and buy them also. The style of our decoration is a matter of taste, of course and not everybody likes it. We respect and accept that. Thank you for your opinion, it helps us to improve ourselves and make sure to serve the highest standards to our guests.

I hope we can welcome you back soon!

With kind regards from beautiful Lake Constance,
Anna Tiefenbrunn
Front Office Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

The Hotel Germania has much going for it: a central yet quiet location, a modern facility and most of all, excellent breakfasts. If only the rooms met the standards of the rest of the hotel.

The furnishings felt rather spartan for a 4-star property - like a high-end hostel. And the lack of air conditioning was a big drawback during a warm (though not unusually hot) stretch in August. There are fans in the rooms but they just barely did the job at night (especially in a single room that faces an interior area).

But again, the breakfasts were a cut above the usual fare, with a generous spread of cheeses, bread, meats, cereals and fresh-squeezed orange juice. Perhaps it's better to stay here in the shoulder season or winter months.
3.7 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid the single rooms in the summer.
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara F, Front Office at Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor-Member Brian W!

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is extremely important to us that the special service of our staff remain in the memory of our guests.

Regarding your issues concerning air conditiong, we want to let you know that air conditioning is going to be installed during autumn so we can provide you next summer with excellent cooled rooms. Also a renovation of the older rooms is in planning.

Once again we want to say thank you for your feedback, which is very important for us, to improve ourselves and make sure to serve the highest standards.

I hope we can welcome you back soon!

With kind regards from beautiful Bregenz,
Anna Tiefenbrunn
Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

looking at tripadvisor i thought this was going to be a great experience turned not. It was 32 dgr C outside and so as well in the hotel. This is no airconditioning. Second the restaurant they have was closed. Never in my life again!!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pieter v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara F, Front Office at Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor-Member Pieter V!

With regret we read your constructive criticism and we insure that this is not our standard. We have certain procedures in a four star hotel in Austria to fulfil and an air conditionig will be installed during autumn. We also want to let you know that it isn't written anywhere that we have air conditioning in our hotel rooms up to now.

Also we are really sorry that you wanted to visit our restaurant on Monday, where it is closed. We provide this information on our homepage and always tell this our guests at arrival and provide them with information about alternative restaurants nearby which they can visit.

We always prove standard procedures and the service of our employee to make sure that all our guest leave happily.
Once again we want to say thank you for your feedback, which is very important for us, to improve ourselves and make sure to serve the highest standards.

We would be glad to welcome you again in our Hotel to convince you of the opposite of your rating.

With kind regards from beautiful Bregenz,
Anna Tiefenbrunn
Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

Went to see Carmen at the Bregenzer Festspiele and booked this hotel for one night based on the good reviews in TA. Our room (Superior Double Room) was nice, clean and big enough to fit an extra bed for our daughter. However, we weren't to impressed with the friendliness of the staff. Not what we're used to in Austria. The breakfast was good. The plus of this hotel ist the free parking and it's closeness to the lake and Bregenzer Festspiele (walking distance).

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Southwest_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara F, Front Office at Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor-Member!

With regret we read your constructive criticism and are really sorry that you didn't feel as welcome as you used to in Austria. We insure that this is not our standard and we already talked this through with the staff and improved our communication.

However we assure that this was an individual case that we do regret honestly!
It would be an honour to welcome you again at the Hotel Germania to ensure you that this is not our standard.

Once again we want to say thank you for your feedback, which is very important for us, to improve ourselves and make sure to serve the highest standards.

With kind regards from beautiful Lake Constance,
Anna Tiefenbrunn
Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Hi, this hotel is located close to the down town and harbour-5 min. Also only 3 min to cableway. Hotel equipment is simple but clean. Parking is located under the hotel or in a yard and it is for free. Breakfast is very rich and tasty.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara F, Front Office at Hotel Germania, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear TripAdvisor-Member!

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay!
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It is extremely important to us that the modern charme of our hotel and the special service of our staff remain in the memory of our guests. Your rating is extremely positive and of course motivates our young team very much. Many thanks for that!

I hope we can welcome you back soon!

With kind regards from beautiful Lake Constance,
Anna Tiefenbrunn
Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews