We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great hospitality and comfort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haus Ballwein

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Haus Ballwein
Ranked #16 of 70 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nîmes
2 reviews
“Great hospitality and comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We felt very welcome and comfortable at the Haus Ballwein. We were given great suggestions for things to do and see in the area along with how to get there. It's a good location with an easy commute to Salzburg. The breakfast was wonderful as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    43
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
58
57
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Staying for three nights during the coldest period in the winter which could reach -19c. We have booked room with Mrs Ballwein through email confirmation. She also give good instruction on how to reach her house. If you are from Train Station take bus no.1 to Hanuschplatz station then change to bus no.21 to Gsengerweg station which Haus Ballwein is right opposite the station. Beware of the bus schedule which stated clearly on the notice board of bus station. I get Salzburg Card from Mrs Ballwein which I would say it's totally worth it if you travel more than one day in Salzburg. Bath gel and shampoo is not provided. Overall it's a good local experience as you can experience Austrian local lifestyle. Anything you need discuss with Mrs Ballwein and she will try her best o help. No restaurant beside but with bus is quite frequent, no problem at all for meal. One nice local restaurant Reiterhof Moos is just few station away

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan_d_Ho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

I and my sister booked a twin room in Haus Ballwein. We loved the place from the moment we stepped off the bus and saw it. It is a tradiitonal Austrian house, the rooms are extremely spacious (we even had a small kitchen in our room) and the balcony has amazing views of the Alps... Its a 10 minute ride from the city centre but if you have the Salzburg card then its very convenient and you can make as many trips as possible... Also Salzburg tends to become very crowded so we like the quiet and peace of this place after the crowds... The bus stop is right at the gate of the B&B and the bus frequency is also very good....
The hosts are extremely helpful and they also have a very good and tasty breakfast spread.... Extremely Recomended....

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getsetandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

The Ballwein's are friendly, accomodating, and their guesthouse was a wonderful place for us during 3 nights of our honeymoon. The accomodations are adequate, breakfast is delicious, and our views of the pasture and surrounding Alps from our balcony were amazing. Most important for us when booking a pension is the location. Haus Ballwein is perfect--just far enough outside the bustle of central Salzburg, but only 10 minutes by bus to the center. The bus stop is right outside the house on the street. It was the perfect location for exploring Salzburg or the surrounding countryside. When we come back to Salzburg, this is where we'll stay!!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms on the back of the guesthouse that face the pasture...great views from balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CaliCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freeland, Washington
Level Contributor
211 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

We so enjoyed our stay with Frau Ballwein at her B and B surrounded by absolutely beautiful countryside. The hospitality was gracious, and access to downtown Salzburg via bus was literally outside their door! It was great- my husband and I ducked out in the evening to grab a luxurious cup of coffee in town, or took the bus the other direction out to a lovely little country town. A great find!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
2.0 km away
Hotel-Pension Bloberger Hof
3.7 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 137 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 963 reviews
3.6 km away
NH Salzburg City
NH Salzburg City
#29 of 137 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Haus Steiner
Haus Steiner
#7 of 70 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
3.3 km away
Cityhotel Trumer Stube
Cityhotel Trumer Stube
#2 of 70 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
3.0 km away
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
#17 of 70 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haus Ballwein? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haus Ballwein

Property: Haus Ballwein
Address: Moosstrasse 69/A, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 70 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,567 - ₹ 8,452
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing