We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (224)
Filter reviews
224 results
Traveller rating
70
103
37
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
103
37
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stiegl brewery minute walk included breakfast was great city centre the bus easily accessible by bus recommend hotel quaint hotel old town the breakfast area convenient location single room stayed here for nights top floor cheese trolleybus hosts
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 224 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This was a great find. Privately owned by a pleasant gentleman. The place is clean, professional. Our room was comfortable but a a bit noisy. We had room on the top floor which faced the street, so with the window open, it was noisy all night. If you get a room at the back it would be better. The location was good...only 15 min walk to town, bus stop across the street,restaurants and markets are walking distance. Great Breakfast!!!!! Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: choose room away from the street
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Not a budget hotel, but you get a big room in a quiet residential area, a good breakfast (eggs cooked as per your request) with some outdoor seating and free parking. Parking in the back is tight, but we also parked in front of the houses a street away and nothing happened. The old town is a 15 min. walk away so not bad. You can take a trolley bus across the street if you don't want to walk. Not cheap, but all in all not bad for Salzburg.

Room Tip: Back corner room on the third floor has windows on two sides for an easy cool down on a hot day.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AVG31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

Nothing flash but everything worked well. It was 36 degrees when we stayed but had corner room with large windows that allowed the to to cool down quickly. Walk to town was easy and the breakfast was a real surprise. If you want to save some money than do not go past this hotel. Only negative was the carpets in room which could do with a good clean.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lavite1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

As others have said, this hotel is about a 15 minute walk from the Old Town (which also involves going through this tunnel that made me think I was walking towards a parkade. Thank goodness for the man with the kiosk shop in the tunnel who directed me the right way.)

The walk is nice, unless it's pouring rain out and cold outside. Then that bus sure does come in handy. (I went at the end of May and I passed by a digital sign in front of a bank that listed the time and temperature. It's not fun to see the current temperature being 8ºC everyday, as you peek out from under your umbrella.)

There was a little grocery store about a block away, I think called Penny Market or something like that. There were also a few restaurants within about a block or 2 from the hotel. It was more of a hotel located in a residential area. My view included someone's backyard, which was kind of fun and beats looking at a road.

I really enjoyed the breakfast. Mainly because it was included in the hotel price and was a decent array of food. WiFi worked most of the time in my room.

Overall, a lovely stay.

Also, if you decide to do the Panorama Sound of Music tour, they will pick up from this hotel. It's not on their website of listed hotel pick-up sites, but if you email them, they do offer pick-ups from the Hotel Astoria.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Location: It’s pretty far away from the city center, so it’s reasonable to use trolleybus. Thanks to the non-center location surroundings are quiet.
Room: We had a deluxe on the ground floor with two separate rooms. Everything was just like it should be and even slightly better.
Breakfast: Not much to choose from. But ok for 3-stars.
Internet: Free, just ask at reception.
Parking: Free, easy to find place.
Check-in/out: Fast and polite.
Overall: Good choice in terms of price/quality. Location is not perfect, but this is ok if you are going to spend the whole day away from the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nikolay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews