We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Salzburg and more wonderful "Doktorwirt" ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt
Ranked #21 of 60 Salzburg B&B and Inns
Westfield, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Salzburg and more wonderful "Doktorwirt" ....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

A lovely setting, a wonderful traditional Austrian hotel, a breath of fresh air in walks through the fields and woods nearby, magnificent food prepared traditionally prepared and served.

The family Schnoell is dedicated to hotel guests. Once there you'll want to return again and again.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gdyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    27
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
35
39
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
CH
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2008

We stayed (4 people) at this hotel only for one night and -as it was very cold and raining - we did not have the chance to enjoy the garden and the beautiful patio. The welcome at the hotel was cold and we didn't feel welcome. The hotel lounge, restaurant and breakfast room were very charming. Our room was nice, but not so beautiful as expected. We had a double bed and a sofa couch, unfortunately both with bad mattresses. Very irritating: the ventilation device in the bathroom was smelling really, really bad and it was not possible to switch it off. The water pressure in the bathroom was not strong enough and taking a shower was a nightmare...
The dinner at night in the hotel restaurant was good and tasty.
The breakfast buffet was nice but it could be better. I didn't like that they put the bowls with cereals, fruit and yoghurt in a kind of hole in the breakfast table, it didn't look fresh....

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CicciCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2008

As with a previous contributor we arrived at lunchtime on Monday to be told that the restaurant,bar etc were closed for the day.No alternatives were offered and no mention made on the two occasions I had e-mailed the hotel.I had requested a room with terrace and again the lack of availability was not mentioned in an e-mail reply a few days before arrival.Instead we were given a room on the second floor with a small window and curtains whose hem was hanging down!

We did not find the family especially friendly-answers to questions were always curt. Dinner on our second night was uninspiring and the restaurant lacked any atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mrslbCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2008

I agree with all the other positive reviews. I have stayed here, in Junior suite with my wife and 13 years old daughter. Unfortunately had no time to have dinner as we were too busy with Salzburg and around.

The room is quite large and comfortable. Only negative point is that there is no balcony of junior suite But this is not the end of world anyhow.

Dortorwirt is very special comparison to the other hotels in world, when you ask a question or when you request someting ( ie a little pillow ) they always answer or help you with a kindly smiling and in a friendly way. You receive always positive energy from staff which I have felt they love their job and Thanks to all of them for their help and efforts.

But as you understand from pictures this not a plaza hotel and do not expect limusines at front.

  • Liked — Smiling and friendly staff
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytrIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2008

I have stayed here a number of times as well as in the inner city Hotels (when on tours). I would definitely choose the Doktorwirt above any other for the good value of the accommodation and the Restaurant meals which are to die for, the Zwiebelrostbraten melted in the mouth and as a previous poster said, the breakfast is substantial and a good variety of foods to choose from - breads, cold meats, cheeses, boiled eggs, juice, coffee etc.
The bus stop is close by and the peacefulness of the location appealed to me. I don,t find the distance from the city a problem at all as it is only 10 mins by bus.

  • Liked — personal attention and room decor
  • Disliked — stairs
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank margsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salzburg
3.8 km away
Romantik Gersberg Alm
Romantik Gersberg Alm
#40 of 132 in Salzburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Friesacher
Hotel Friesacher
#1 of 5 in Anif
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
3.1 km away
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
Gasthaus Hinterbruehl
#16 of 60 in Salzburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
Star Inn Hotel Premium Salzburg Gablerbrau
2.7 km away
Pension Katrin
Pension Katrin
#9 of 60 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
4.2 km away
B&B Villaverde
B&B Villaverde
#6 of 60 in Salzburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt

Property: Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt
Address: Glaserstrasse 9, Salzburg 5026, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Salzburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,896 - ₹ 11,399
Hotel Class:4 star — Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Gasthof Hotel Doktorwirt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing