We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 11:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Short but restful activity

After hours of walking round museum and the old city streets, this boat cruise, although short in... read more

Reviewed 10 July 2018
Fyti
,
George Town, Malaysia
An enjoyable way to spend 45 minutes

The Salzburg river cruise, on the Salzach, is a very pleasant way to spend a relaxing ¾ hour doing... read more

Reviewed 19 April 2018
flutefairy
,
Brentwood, Essex
Read all 178 reviews
  
Reviews (178)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveller rating
32
30
26
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
30
26
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city cruise expensive houses strong currents excellent trip different perspective salzburg cards old city waltz captain commentary engine german angle amadeus sights spins aboard
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 110 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

Got this for free with the Salzburg card but it usually costs €15. The river was further away from all sites than the pavements and because the centre is so small it would have just been better to simply walk about. Not really worth it for seeing Salzburg or learning about it, but it did act as a nice change of pace to the day.

7  Thank marktjefferson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

After hours of walking round museum and the old city streets, this boat cruise, although short in duration, provides a pleasant seated activity and gives one a different aspect of Salzburg and the surrounding mountains. The boat is modern, specially designed to combat the strong currents and the shallow nature of the Salzach river. All passengers are seated and no standing is allowed. There is a spoken narrative in German and English and views on both sides of the river. As the cruise is popular it is advisable in summer to book ahead.

1  Thank Fyti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018

The view of snow-capped mountains was awesome from the boat, in contrast with the old buildings along the river.

Thank PueoKupaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We cruised the river at Salzburg on a beautiful warm spring day.
We paid the extra to sit at the back of the boat, outside.
The views from the boat are very very good, it is a pleasant way to see the town from the river.
The commentary is very good.
The views are great particularly the alps still topped with snow.
Thoroughly enjoyed this cruise, staff attentive and helpful.
Would recommend this cruise.

1  Thank robynccl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We were lucky to have lovely weather on 14/4 and were happy to pay the €3 extra for the rear deck seating. One twirl at the end would have been enough.

Thank Tania A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018

The Salzburg river cruise, on the Salzach, is a very pleasant way to spend a relaxing ¾ hour doing a little sightseeing without needing to walk. I particularly recommend doing this later in the day when one might appreciate a little sit down after wandering around the city all day. There is indoor and outdoor seating, we sat inside and although we did not have window seats we still had a reasonable view.There are few boats on the river partly due to it being very shallow and yet having strong currents, however, this particular boat seems to have no difficulty - the river is so empty that the captain makes the boat ‘dance’ at the end of the trip and one whirls around midstream a few times. There is commentary in English and German during the trip. There is a small bar serving drinks and snacks but note there is no toilet on board (this is not really a problem as it’s only a short trip) It costs about £13 per adult but is free for holders of Salzburg cards.
.

1  Thank flutefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Free with the Salzburg card so worth a trip down the river to get a different perspective. Picked up our tickets an hour before the cruise and came back 15 mins prior. There was already a queue formed which meant inside the boat had no window seats left. That was fine as we wanted to sit out the back anyway. No extra charge as others have found. Had blankets on all the chairs so nice and warm. A little harder to hear the commentary because of the noise of the engines. A pleasant 45 mins. If you were pushed for time you could skip it though.

Thank Ozetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2018

SAlzburg must be enjoyed from a river..the cruise was most enjoyabel..smaller boat and nice people!
Salzburg is my favorite austrian city ..so walkable, so old, gemutlich!

Thank bellacharmante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

We visited Salzburg in early July. Unfortunately, it rained non-stop for the 3 days that we spent there, but we were still determined to sight see as much as possible. Since we purchased the Salzburg Card (which is a great deal is you plan on visiting several attractions), we did the 40 min city cruise that was included in the card.

While we were happy to be away from the rain and rest our legs, the view from the boat was just OK. Since most of Salzburg's attractions are not along the river but inside the old town, you don't really get to see that much from the water - just a lot of fancy expensive houses. This is not a must attraction if you have limited time in Salzburg.

Thank pingaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2018

We always like to take a cruise wherever available and the Salzach Cruise was not a disappointment. The guided tour explains the different parts of the small city. It was relaxing, enjoyable ride with a nice little marry-go-round at the end by our awesome captain.

Thank abdfahim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews