We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel I have ever stayed at...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Ranked #31 of 132 Hotels in Salzburg
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best hotel I have ever stayed at...”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Awhile back my friends and I spent the weekend in Salzburg and we found an amazing deal on Hotel Wolf-Dietrich. We thought there must be something wrong with the place because of the price but we were very wrong. This place was wunderbar! Everything, from the decor, to the breakfast, to the heavenly beds, was top notch. My favourite part was tea time in the afternoon. It was nice to take a break from sightseeing and sip some tea and eat some cake. The location is also great with a very short walk to the Mirabell Gardens. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonymous482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    350
    133
    45
    16
See reviews for
278
439
65
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Charming little hotel with a beautiful spa ... alot of bang for your buck!!! The room was adequate size albeit the shower was small. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast was good and plentiful. While I didn't see it, apparently it had a pool. The location was great. A 15 minute walk from the train station and admist lots of shopping. The sights are a 10 minute walk. Should I return to Salzburg, I would stay again!!! The hotel isn't well marked on the street.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellover62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Great experience staying at Hotel Wolf-Dietrich. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We stayed in a family room in the Residence across from the main hotel. Although it was on the 4th floor (no elevator) it was worth the climb. It was very spacious with a living room on the main level with skylights and a very comfortable pullout couch and also had a full bath. There were stairs that led to a loft with bedroom & ensuite bathroom. Staff helped us with taking suitcases to our room (for a tip). Location is great...very close to a pedestrian only street lined with shops and restaurants, ending at a bridge which leads you to Old Town. Family of 4 from Canada.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol48_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cupertino, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

This is our second stay at the Wolf-Dietrich. It is a lovely hotel with helpful service. The #4 bus stops at Wolf-Dietrich street, so you would walk 1.5 blocks to catch it to Old Town/Festival Hall and only .5 blocks returning. The front desk person can print you a schedule from that stop on request. It only takes about 6 minutes to Old Town. I would recommend one of the romantic rooms such as the Magic Flute room. It is unlike any room you have ever stayed in with blue sky carpet in the bed room; theater curtains all around, even framing the bedroom from the living area; star lights above the bed in arcs and in the bathroom ceiling; an elongated tub with the bath area separated by a dramatic curtain; a stereo system with sound that went into both rooms; paintings of Egyptian pyramids all around.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank United2millionmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Wien, Austria
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

The Wolf-Dietrich is a fantastic place to stay in Salzburg. There are so many positives; size of the room, location, amenities, staff...it was really a great experience. From the moment we checked in we were treated as special guests, not just another group paying for another room. The front desk staff was very helpful in giving us tips and pointing us in the right direction for things to do in the city.

There is a large selection of movies that can be borrowed if you need a couple of hours of downtime after touring the city.

The location is ideal for exploring the town; close enough to walk to everything, but not so close that you have to fight crowds to get into your room.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnstone22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Salzburg hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
Hotel&Villa Auersperg
#4 of 132 in Salzburg
1,068 reviews
0.3 km away
Stadtkrug Hotel
Stadtkrug Hotel
#9 of 132 in Salzburg
433 reviews
0.6 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Salzburg - The Pitter
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
arthotel Blaue Gans
arthotel Blaue Gans
#8 of 132 in Salzburg
552 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Elefant
Hotel Elefant
#10 of 132 in Salzburg
817 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#12 of 132 in Salzburg
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wolf-Dietrich? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wolf-Dietrich

Property: Hotel Wolf-Dietrich
Address: Wolf-Dietrich-Strasse 7, Salzburg 5020, Austria
Region: Austria > Austrian Alps > Salzburg Region > Salzburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Business Hotel in Salzburg
#15 Family Hotel in Salzburg
#16 Romantic Hotel in Salzburg
#23 Luxury Hotel in Salzburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,388 - ₹ 17,259
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Wolf-Dietrich 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wolf-Dietrich Altstadthotel & Residenz is situated in the city centre of Salzburg and offers absolute comfort in a central location. It consists of two buildings, Altstadthotel and the Residenz, located opposite each other in a quiet side street of the city’s pedestrian area. No matter whether you are enjoying your family holiday in Salzburg, whether you are a loving couple, searching for culture and sightseeing or if you are on a business trip to this World Heritage Sight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Wolf-Dietrich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Dietrich Hotel Salzburg
Hotel Wolf Dietrich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing